We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a great location”
Review of Hotel Sunbee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sunbee
Ranked #41 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value in a great location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Sunbee for three nights. The hotel is a great value in a very good location.

Positives:
1) Close to shopping and restaurants
2) Clean rooms
3) Friendly staff that tried hard, including opening breakfast early for us one morning.
4) Close to two subway stops, including one that is on the purple line that goes directly to Gimpo airport.


Negatives:
1) No night life...the area pretty much shuts down at about 9pm...but that made it quite for sleeping.
2) For one of our nights the room was extremely hot and we could not figure out how to cool the room down. It was winter and even with an open window it was still very hot. We were not able to sleep well that night.
3) Limited breakfast options, but it was within my expectations given the price point.


I would highly recommend this hotel for leisure travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_UpperWestSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    169
    31
    3
    3
See reviews for
85
166
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hotel Sunbee makes for a highly functional (if somewhat charmless) tourist base for exploring Seoul.

The biggest advantage of Hotel Sunbee is its great location. The hotel is situated right off Insadong which is a pedestrian-only street lined with shops and restaurants. It's also close to an MTR and the bus to the airport is only three blocks away.

The hotel itself is modern and comfortable. It feels like a Western business hotel with generously sized rooms and nice heated floors. The WiFi connection was fast and the beds were comfortable.

As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast wasn't anything write home about. But there's a Starbucks and a Dunkin' Donuts within 3 blocks + lots of Korean coffee / tea shops nearby, so you have plenty of other morning options.

All in all, Hotel Sunbee is a solid choice that offers a good value in a great area for tourists.

Room Tip: The heaters were on full blast when we were there during the winter, so worth asking for a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been to Seoul twice and every time I have opted to stay in Hotel Sunbee when North of the Han river. The location is unbeatable for tourists in general and first time visitors to Seoul in particular. Right in the middle of tourist hotspot Insadong the hotel provides access to major tourists sides within walking distance: Gwanghwamun Plaza, Gyeonbokung, Deoksugung and Changdeokgung Palace and Bukcheon Hanok Village are all within 10-15 minutes walking distance away. Walking in Seoul can be a real pain because of the vast expanse of the city but getting to these tourist sites from the Hotel is a lovely way to discover some beautiful little spots, coffee and artisan shops. The hotel itself is flawless. Since the renovation have been completed in 2012 it boasts a modern, earthy wood design with a pleasant breakfast on offer. The rooms are comfortable, spacious for the price and offer big and clean bathrooms with a front desk that is always at hand to help, provide information on local sights and sounds to explore and fluent in English for those who require it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maharaj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 2 weeks touring around S. Korea, and stayed a total of 7 nights at the Sunbee, checking in and out 3 different times. The location is so nice-on a quiet street minutes from walking to numerous restaurants, shops and attractions. The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. A few spoke excellent English, and others not so much. However, it was not a problem. They have a washer/dryer for guests and it is free. We stored bags for 6 days and 1 day, and there were no problems.

Each of our 3 rooms was clean, quiet and large. Only issue was that the bathroom has no shower door, glass to keep the water from getting onto the floor. We figured out how to minimize that but the floor still got wet. Breakfast was fine-cereal, yogurt, soup, toast, fruit and of course, hot dogs!

Should we return to Seoul (what an amazing country-Korea) we would absolutely return to Sunbee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fencejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After living in Seoul for 5 years in the 90's I took an 8 day nostalgic vacation with my girlfriend.
I wanted to stay in Insadong for its central location.

Hotel Sunbee had everything we needed. Great location close to all the palaces and the downtown bustle of Jongro..walking distance to everywhere central (not that you need to walk as the T Money travel card system for taxis subway and busses is just great)

Hotel a bit difficult to find. Get the 6011 bus from the airport (6000 Won) and get off at Anguk station. Walk back about 150 yards to the top of Insadong Gil on your left (Tourist info booth and calligraphy brush sculpture) and the hotel is about 300 yards on yr right down Insadong Gil. Look for a shop on yr left selling curly ice cream cones, turn right and the hotel is about 100yds on yr right.

Hotel was quiet, air conditioned, free wifi, great room, comfortable bed, helpful staff and access to a computor & printer to print off boarding passes. We loved it.

Some reviewers have complained about breakfast. Its not bad at all.

We took breakfast outside every day..they dont try to do a western breakfast and dont serve a korean breakfast..its cafe style with endless hot coffee and tea, cereals, toast bread rolls cheese and sausages. We were eating Korean food all day so we found it fine.

I would recommend this hotel to any westerner visiting central Soul. We paid only about £45 per night ( I guess thats about $63) and were satisfied with everything about it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2013 and found the location amazing, Walkable to several palaces nearby, lots of good restaurants in the Insadong area. Clean, good wifi and large comfortable rooms at around $100/night. Large bathroom, and the room itself was quite large.
Nice enough breakfast, a little heavy on breads but can keep you going for a while. Staff can speak some English and seem helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidStanley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

- Decent hotel with ok service. Their system and Agoda had messed up some details about our booking but a short chat cleared everything up and we got our room. Language is a problem, so don’t expect to settle anything too complicated in English.
- The breakfast is really nothing. Instead step out and turn left. After a block you’ll be on the culture street which has plenty of local restaurants. Those looking for western food, both ends have a couple of cafes for you morning fix of coffee and croissants

Room Tip: If you're ok to sleep on a hard surface, try one of the old style korean rooms
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MikkoOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#28 of 493 in Seoul
171 reviews
Insadong
CenterMark Hotel
CenterMark Hotel
#68 of 493 in Seoul
472 reviews
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
#40 of 493 in Seoul
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#13 of 493 in Seoul
1,258 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#19 of 493 in Seoul
620 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#67 of 493 in Seoul
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunbee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunbee

Property: Hotel Sunbee
Address: 26, Insadong 7-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03149, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Insadong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#30 Family Hotel in Seoul
#41 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#52 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunbee 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunbee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbee Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing