We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunbee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sunbee
Ranked #40 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was my first visit to South Korea and I was lucky to choose a Seoul hotel in such a great location. Hotel Sunbee is just off the main Insadong walking street and close to the 6011 Airport bus stop at Angguk station. My room was very roomy, quiet and comfortable.and I loved the big bathroom. While the hotel staff didnt go out of their way to make me feel welcome, they were efficient and helpful when asked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmmf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    164
    31
    3
    3
See reviews for
78
157
44
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed three nights and enjoyed this hotel very much. The location is fantastic. Room was very comfortable (the bed was perhaps too firm), AC worked great as did the wifi. Staff were very professional. It was a nice splurge after weeks of hostels.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Algotomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here three nights in a deluxe room and enjoyed our stay. Reception staff were friendly and spoke fairly good English. Our room was on the 7th floor and was quiet and clean. I couldn't figure out the aircon or TV or lighting remote controls (all the buttons had Chinese characters) and within five minutes of placing a call to reception someone came up and showed me how to operate them. Bed was firm but not as hard as a lot of Asian hotel beds. Breakfast was spartan with bread, cereal, yoghurt. Wifi worked well. The location was great just off the main tourist walking/shopping street in Insadong. Excellent coffee shop around the corner. Close to a subway stop. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our 7th floor room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripateti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Sunbee hotel is ideally located just off Insadong Street. If you arrive in Seoul from the airport, take bus 6011 to Insadong subway station and turn down Insadong street near Exit 6. Turn left. Walk down Insadong street and turn right on Gil 7. The hotel website says Gil 6 but it is actually Gil 7. There is a hotel sign at Gil 7 indicating the direction to the hotel but the sign is not very big and difficult to spot. The narrow street it is on turns sharply to the right and the hotel is right there. So many sights within walking distance...... As well as good restaurants and small shops. A bit touristy but still very interesting.
The hotel rooms are quite modern, very clean and staff very helpful. Several speak English and can make arrangements for you. Free and fast Wifi available in the room and there are two computers to use in the small lobby.
The breakfast is very limited however. Coffee, cereal, juice, toast or bread and yogurt.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Some are larger. You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank molens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great value, great location. Near two major subway stations. Tons of restaurants and shopping. Walking distance to two palaces (among many other things) for sightseeing, as well as historic district and beautiful park. I never tired of walking the neighborhood. I don't speak any Korean but the staff understood my questions. My room was very large. The bathroom was huge with all sorts of toiletries. The bed was hard for me, but I believe that is the preference in Korea. There were so many pillows I was able to cushion. I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinFlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I won't waste much time as I think everyone else on here has already said that this hotel is going downhill.

The location is great and it's really cheap (less than £60) and the rooms are HUGE.

However it's not like it used to be and:

Computers have been taken from rooms
Rooms are horribly hot and air-con has been deactivated in rooms. Reception can't do anything about it.
Breakfast is awful and really they should just scrap it (and the room service option has gone)
Rooms are tired and lots of things don't work anymore
The cleaner didn't make our bed and didn't seem to care about doing her job well

It's not great but it's so cheap that I'm not sure you can expect that much for the price. I wouldn't stay here again tho.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antspants04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I'll say first that yes, the location is perfect: a block away from the charming Insadong area. I have stayed here 4 times over the past six years and just this last time I felt that things had gone downhill. While they have enlarged and remodeled the lobby, I found the following to be unsatisfactory:

1. Computers have been removed from all rooms, leaving just 2 in the lobby. If you bring your own however the rooms do have wireless.

2. The jacuzzis DO NOT work in any of the rooms.

3. After a night of fighting with the thermostat and sweating through the night I was told at reception that the heat is now controlled centrally by them, ie. you cannot do anything about the temperature of your room. Ours was set at 25 degrees celsius for our whole trip, which is pretty darn hot! The only option is to leave the window open all night...which also has its problems... I told reception about it (after hearing other guests complaining over 'breakfast' how hot they were) and he just said, "Sorry" and changed nothing.

4. The new outdoor lounging area is built directly under the room windows which means that all smoke and noise wafts directly into your window. In order not to melt during the night we had to keep our windows open which meant cigarette smoke and loud conversation until about 1am each night.

5. Our room no longer had the wooden sliding blinds over them which were great for keeping the room dark and we were left with only regular, thin curtains. Add to this that they now have two large spotlights installed in the garden below the windows that shine directly onto the side of the building (ie. into the rooms) and it made for some pretty bright nights.

I used to love this hotel but looking at it now I have to say that it's pretty 'average'. It's not even really that cheap anymore either (over $100US a night). The breakfast is very meager (bread, yogurt, milk, juice) but at least it's something I guess. Coffees have to be paid for in the adjoining cafe. We were also surprised that upon checking in (there were two of us) they did not want to give us two key cards at first. I just don't get it....what's happened to my beloved Sunbee?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drsOsaka_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Insadong
CenterMark Hotel
CenterMark Hotel
#50 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Somerset Palace Seoul
Somerset Palace Seoul
#43 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#16 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#72 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Insadong
Aventree Hotel Jongno
Aventree Hotel Jongno
#93 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunbee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunbee

Property: Hotel Sunbee
Address: 26, Insadong 7-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03149, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Insadong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#30 Family Hotel in Seoul
#37 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#52 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunbee 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sunbee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbee Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing