We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for business or solitary travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Boolim Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Boolim Tourist Hotel
Ranked #202 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value for business or solitary travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel meets my expectations from reading other travellers' reviews. It was a bit difficult to locate it first after embarking from the airport bus as the sign was not in English (photo showed the hotel from the station). The hotel exterior and facility is typical of 2 star hotel. The hotel is located very near to Cheongyangni Station, so it makes a good base for travelling around Seoul. There is a traditional market nearby but catered more to local rather than tourist - a lot of fresh garlic, roots and meats (dog's meat too) are sold here. There is a pharmacy, grocery shop and coffee shop right in front of the hotel and Starbuck is just around the corner. Wifi is complimentary in lobby only.
The room was just nice for single or couple. There is no cloth iron, or kettle and there is only one power socket that is located near the bathroom - I brought my own travelling iron and bought power extension from Yongsan to work in the room. Hot water is available from public station in each floor. Like other Korean hotel that I previously stayed, this one also does not have any wardrobe, only hooks and hangers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    46
    55
    18
    7
See reviews for
16
19
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stay twice at New Boolim Tourist Hotel in recent years. Hote is locted near the Cheongyangni station and Lotte Department store for shopping. This is the last stop of the airport buses to the city. The nearnest to the subway makes it a very convenient hotel to travel to other parts in Seoul. Average beds and room has hooks on walls but no cabinets. Flat TV, ref. Slippers and toiletries were provided. There is a restaurant on the 2nd floor and 2 PC at the small lobby for hotel guest to use. At the back of the hotel is Seoul's red light district with ladies on display. Not advisable for families with young kids. The hotel has seen better days. Convenience store is just across the hotel with a bakery nearby. Lots of restaurants on the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Conveniently located hotel. Eateries and bakery as well as a convenience just store across the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abundance16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel is hardly 5 mins walk from the subway station, next to Lotte Departmental store. It has a few hawker spots during the night which makes it very convenient.

As to the hotel itself - it does look like a 2 star hotel, old and not well maintained. Check in was ok, rooms are ok. we had the triple room - it has 1 double bed and 2 single bed. Room itself was decent but could be much better. Bathroom was huge but our jacuzzi didnt work. Overall, if you would have spent most of your time out of the hotel, then this could be a perfect hotel for you.

This hotel is also a good base for those who are visiting Nami Island - as the metro connection to namiseon is just out of the hotel.

***Just beware that the hotel is located in the red light district are, and there are some elderly woman who will approached you if you are back in the middle of the night/early morning***

However, since the hotel is only located on the edge of the red light district, we feel it is ok, safe and very convenient. Would recommend this hotel for those going to Nami Island via the metro connection.

Room Tip: Please get higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

From airport, take Bus #6002 to Cheongnyangni Station, about a one and a half hour ride. You will see this hotel on a small side street beside Lotte Plaza. Simple lobby with two computers with internet (but in Korean, so you have to figure out how to make it English). Staff is friendly, helpful and good enough in English.

We got a triple room, just a small room with one double bed and two singles. Does not look like the pictures on the net at all, but we eventually liked it though after a few nights. TV had only one station with English movies called OCN, the rest are Korean channels. Those with young kids have to watch out for Playboy Spice Channel 19 which is on the whole day. A Family Mart is right across street. Nearby Lotte Mart has supermarket and food court.

As far as the "aunties" on the street mentioned in a previous review, I only encountered them once on our first night when I was looking for the hotel. You simply need to pay them no heed.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank DMHYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

we had a pleasant 1 week stay in this hotel. Like most of the review mentioned in this forum, it is indeed best chosen for budget travellers and affordable enough to pay for some privacy. It's confortable if you are expecting just the basic necessity. the money we have saved here instead of staying at higher class hotel allowed us to splurge on food and other outdoor activities. The transport which is so convenient also helped to save some cash for us to take a trip out of Seoul. The Airport Limo stops just across the hotel and the subway is just round the corner. a few family restaurants can be found beside the hotel and the food is pretty good too. A 24h family mart is just directly opposite the hotel...infact just 10 steps away. Seoul Plaza is also nearby which we can shop till you drop at their supermarket. Thou it is near the red light district but we have not encountered anything unpleasant. we often returned to the hotel in the wee hour around 2 am with our kids and very often we saw police car patrolling the area. maybe it was winter so no "aunties" willing to bare it out.
i will definitely go for it again for my 3rd trip to south korea next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

we had a very nice stay at boolim hotel. location is very strategic, very close to the subway and the receptionists are extremely helpful. Recommended for budget tourists

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zara72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Benikea Hotel Flower
#198 of 449 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Crown Insadong
Hotel Crown Insadong
#180 of 449 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Benikea Hotel KP
#153 of 449 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rainbow
#382 of 449 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Irene City
Hotel Irene City
#323 of 449 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Korstay Hotel
#141 of 449 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Boolim Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Boolim Tourist Hotel

Property: New Boolim Tourist Hotel
Address: 39-5, Dapsimni-ro 1-gil, Dongdaemun-gu, Seoul 130-020, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Boolim Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your New Boolim Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Boolim Tourist Seoul
Hotel New Boolim Tourist

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing