We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“there was definitely a reason why it's cheap” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #175 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“there was definitely a reason why it's cheap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my parents in June, and didn't have a good experience at all.
This trip was not planned, it's one of those "why don't we just hop on the plan and go" kind of a thing, so didn't spend any time to research at all.

Anyhow, all lights in a were not working, AC was broken, a room was dirty.
I was looking for an outlet for my laptop, and moved a desk.
I found TONS of garbage behind the desk, YUCK!

We will NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ochappi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    69
    58
    11
    8
See reviews for
27
22
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located just across Namdaemun Market & Shinsege Departmental Store. Hoehyeon Station of Seoul Subway Line 4 is just 2 mins walking distance and getting a taxi is also very easy. Shopping in Myeongdong is only 10 mins walk. Dongdaemon (Doota, Migliore, Helloapm, Maxstyle) is also a very short drive by taxi and it doesn't cost much for 3 or 4 people.
As for sightseeing, Namsan park is just right behind and the hotel is not too far away from Namsangal Korean Village (free entrance).
As for the hotel, there is nothing really great about it except for the location. We were given a room on the 8th floor, there room is filled with strong cigarette smell. It's high time the hotel management replace the beds, it sinks! The bath towels are also old & worn. There is a small kettle provided but no complimentary coffee or tea bags. What I didn't like is wifi is only available in the lobby.
There is also a convenient store just across the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the hotel main entrance can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

the staffs are so nice, they speak English very well. I stayed in room 911. The room is wide enough and has great view and the room is wide enough with a nice coffee table by the window, personal fridge, electric kettle, TV, drawers, cabinet to hang clothes and the duvet blanket is cool.

The only thing is that the bathroom smells like smokes, the towels smells Clorox bleaches, and no shampoo.

Room Tip: Generally the room is livable and the great is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not a bad location as within 10 minutes walk away from the bustling Myeongdong area. Room and bathroom was clean.

Seems to cater more for Japanese guests as they greeted me in Japanese when I approached the reception. They also only provide adapters suited for Japanese plugs. Oh.... of which they said they'd run out of. My friend actually had an adapter with her but coz of the silly design of the power sockets in the room, it wasn't easy to use her own adapter hence why we asked for an adaptor from the hotel, to no avail.... *sigh*.

The receptionists don't speak much English either and won't spring to ur attention when u approach them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Old room furniture and carpet. Seems like early 70s style. Wooden console in headboard must have been out of order for years. It was a relic. Some of the furniture seemed so old that it did not seem cleanable although the bed and sheets were clean. No iron available in the hotel ( not just the room). No internet available in the hotel ( not just in the room). The English level of the staff was close to zero. When I said "train station" the three of them huddled around me but did not know what I was saying even when I wrote it. The older guy seemed to be the best one to help. The location was great. Near a great shopping area and very close to the subway and close to the center of town. Nice privately run coffee shop out the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. As other reviewer mentioned, location is convenient with many restaurants, convenient stores and coffee shops nearby.

About the hotel room:
- Air condition didn't work at all. Tried fixing it but the room remained to be humid and hot.
- Poor lighting. It's old, dark and smelly (cigarette smoke).
- Extremely outdated.
- Did not provide free internet connection.

Although the location is great, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hleeluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Rex Hotel is central to many of Seoul's highlights including N Seoul Tower (10 minute walk to lift), Namdaemun Markets (across road, 5 minute walk), Seoul P.O. (10 min walk) and Myeungdong shopping area (15 minute walk). There is also a subway station 5 minutes fom the front door. Service was excellent with the manager approachable on any issue we had. While we only had breakfast at the hotel during our 6 day stay service and choice was excellent. During our two part stay our first room was on the sixth floor overlooking the side-street. The room was a nice size and all basic facilities were at hand. The one issue was no internet which was an issue as this was a working holiday. There was, however, a computer in the lobby, providing you were prepared to wait (on occasions).
Our second room was on the fourth floor and was smaller than the first. While it was adequate it felt rather cramped - we missed the larger room!
The hotel also has its own souvenir shop which was quite well priced and had some unique stock at reasonable prices.
Ovrall we enjoyed our stay at the 'Rexy' and would stay there again. Main issue - limited internet facilities.....

Room Tip: Higher floors with larger rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OzzieT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mido
Hotel Mido
#145 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Seoul Hotel
0.1 mi away
New Korea Hotel
New Korea Hotel
#228 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hill House Hotel
Hill House Hotel
#128 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lumia Hotel
Lumia Hotel
#170 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Kukje Hotel
New Kukje Hotel
#129 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 23, Toegye-ro 10-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04632, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing