We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rex hotel in Seoul”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #181 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed May 21, 2013

the staffs are so nice, they speak English very well. I stayed in room 911. The room is wide enough and has great view and the room is wide enough with a nice coffee table by the window, personal fridge, electric kettle, TV, drawers, cabinet to hang clothes and the duvet blanket is cool.

The only thing is that the bathroom smells like smokes, the towels smells Clorox bleaches, and no shampoo.

Room Tip: Generally the room is livable and the great is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 162 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not a bad location as within 10 minutes walk away from the bustling Myeongdong area. Room and bathroom was clean.

Seems to cater more for Japanese guests as they greeted me in Japanese when I approached the reception. They also only provide adapters suited for Japanese plugs. Oh.... of which they said they'd run out of. My friend actually had an adapter with her but coz of the silly design of the power sockets in the room, it wasn't easy to use her own adapter hence why we asked for an adaptor from the hotel, to no avail.... *sigh*.

The receptionists don't speak much English either and won't spring to ur attention when u approach them.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Old room furniture and carpet. Seems like early 70s style. Wooden console in headboard must have been out of order for years. It was a relic. Some of the furniture seemed so old that it did not seem cleanable although the bed and sheets were clean. No iron available in the hotel ( not just the room). No internet available in the hotel ( not just in the room). The English level of the staff was close to zero. When I said "train station" the three of them huddled around me but did not know what I was saying even when I wrote it. The older guy seemed to be the best one to help. The location was great. Near a great shopping area and very close to the subway and close to the center of town. Nice privately run coffee shop out the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. As other reviewer mentioned, location is convenient with many restaurants, convenient stores and coffee shops nearby.

About the hotel room:
- Air condition didn't work at all. Tried fixing it but the room remained to be humid and hot.
- Poor lighting. It's old, dark and smelly (cigarette smoke).
- Extremely outdated.
- Did not provide free internet connection.

Although the location is great, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hleeluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Rex Hotel is central to many of Seoul's highlights including N Seoul Tower (10 minute walk to lift), Namdaemun Markets (across road, 5 minute walk), Seoul P.O. (10 min walk) and Myeungdong shopping area (15 minute walk). There is also a subway station 5 minutes fom the front door. Service was excellent with the manager approachable on any issue we had. While we only had breakfast at the hotel during our 6 day stay service and choice was excellent. During our two part stay our first room was on the sixth floor overlooking the side-street. The room was a nice size and all basic facilities were at hand. The one issue was no internet which was an issue as this was a working holiday. There was, however, a computer in the lobby, providing you were prepared to wait (on occasions).
Our second room was on the fourth floor and was smaller than the first. While it was adequate it felt rather cramped - we missed the larger room!
The hotel also has its own souvenir shop which was quite well priced and had some unique stock at reasonable prices.
Ovrall we enjoyed our stay at the 'Rexy' and would stay there again. Main issue - limited internet facilities.....

Room Tip: Higher floors with larger rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pro:
Location: is awesome as u are just 1 stop away from seoul station and walking distance to namedum and taxi stand nearby.
Rate: v. affordable for the gd location.
Any food nearby: Plenty
Room: V. normal. Nothing unpleasant but nothing to rant about. THe other reviewers did mention that the toilet has strong detergent smell. It is TRUE.
Check in timing: we managed to check in at 11am which is really good
Honesty: Awesome. My hubby left his battery charger at the hotel and the staff managed to retrieve it. Thumbs up
Cons:
I travel during Dec and the heater in the room does not seem to work. So we ended up freezing in the cold.
Room: no free wifi
Location: somehow or rather the taxi drivers dun know the place at all. It is good to have the address in korean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatloveparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

this was my second trip to Seoul
the first time i stayed in Gangnam gu
this time in Jung gu (where Rex hotel is located)

Rex hotel is not a luxury hotel but it offers a lot

GREAT LOCATION!
- just a few meters from a taxi stand and subway
- just a few meters from (just across!) Shinsegae Department Store (main) for luxury shopping (and there are restaurants in the top floor too)
( http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SH/SH_EN_7_2.jsp?cid=273750 )
- just a few minutes walk from the very famous myeongdong tourist and shopping district for shopping, restaurants, cafes, theater, etc.
( http://visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3_1_1_1.jsp?cid=264312 )
- there is a family mart convenience store just outside rex hotel
- there are small restaurants and cafes around the hotel
- near taxi ride to other tourist sites and shopping:
1. Namsan Tower, 2. Cheonggyecheon stream/plaza 3. Dongdaemun, 4. Korean Traditional Village, 5. Hongdae, 6. Coex, etc.

ROOM
(i stayed in a deluxe double room)
- the room is spacious and the bed is large enough
- large window for a good view
- large flatscreen tv
- very spacious closet with hangers
- spacious bathroom with toiletries and blow drier provided
- there's a mini bar/ fridge



SERVICE
- good housekeeping. they change towels, sheets, etc. everyday.
- staffs were nice and helpful.
i arrived at past 8am. it was too early to check in yet but i asked if i could check in early because i was exhausted.
the reception staff did his best to have my deluxe double room prepared as soon as possible. i had my breakfast in hotel's restaurant then i was able to rest in my room at around 10am.

FOOD
- i only ate in the hotel twice, once in the restaurant and once had room service. food is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Cozy Myeongdong
Hotel Cozy Myeongdong
#327 of 504 in Seoul
102 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Tong Seoul Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
#50 of 504 in Seoul
471 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Aropa
Hotel Aropa
#146 of 504 in Seoul
237 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Days Hotel Myeongdong
Days Hotel Myeongdong
#105 of 504 in Seoul
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 23, Toegye-ro 10-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04632, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $55 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing