We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shopaholic's resting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Seoul
Ranked #108 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A shopaholic's resting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

The biggest attraction about Savoy is its' location. It is right inside Myeong-don and is located very close to both train and bus stops. If you don't mind walking you can get to many other attractions in about 20 minutes but trains also get there too so don't worry. The hotel itself is adequate, it's not lavishly designed but it is a cheap but very cheerful place. The staff are nice and if you want to do some shopping Myeong-dong's streets are right by your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    226
    99
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
49
59
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

I travelled with my husband and one-year old son from Shanghai to Seoul for 4 days. Since we used to live in Korea, we are very familiar with Seoul and wanted to stay in Central Seoul, particularly near Myeong Dong. Luckily for us, we found accommodation at the Savoy Hotel which was situated in the heart of Myeong Dong. We couldn't ask for a better location and although we only intended to stay around the Myeong Dong area, it would also be perfect for touring the sites such as Kyungbok Palace, Insadong and Namsan. The interior of the hotel was clearly remodelled recently and very modern. Our room was spacious and clean and the staff (particularly the bell desk staff) were very friendly. Myeong Dong is a very busy and noisy area, but we found the hotel to be fairly quiet at night.

Negative points:
-There was no crib for our infant son, so we had to ask for extra blankets to make a "nest" on the floor.
-Drinking water in the room is NOT free, which we found out after drinking 2 bottles and having to pay 7,000 won. We were surprised since most Hotels offer drinking water these days on the house.
-Breakfast was not included. We received a 30% off coupon to have breakfast one morning, which we used, but the restaurant didn't have a high chair for our son, nor was the food very good. It was a buffet and all the food was cold.

These negatives are rather nit-picky, but they may be useful for anyone interested in staying there.

On the whole it was a great experience to be in Myeong Dong where we ate well and shopped well. I would recommend the Savoy Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kang_a_ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

Stayed 6 nights at Savoy Hotel. We took the airport limo bus from Incheon airport costing 9,000 won per head. The trip took almost 1.5 hrs due to the heavy morning traffic getting into the city. The airport bus has a number of designated pick-up/drop-off points along the route. To get to Savoy Hotel, we had to get off at the Sejong Hotel stop which is along the main road. Savoy is one block back and about a 10 mins walk away. If we had taken a taxi directly to the hotel, it might have cost us around 80,000 won, depending on the traffic conditions.

As there were 3 of us, we booked a Grand Deluxe Rm through the internet at 170,000 won per night. The price is without breakfast. I thought the price was a bit steep for a 3+ star hotel. The room comes with a queen size bed and a single bed. The room and sheets were clean. There is a kettle and mini fridge in the room. Part of the hotel is under going renovations, and there were knocking sounds during the day, but should not be too much of a bother if you are out much of the day. There is a large LCD TV in the room with a few channels showing English movies, although no CNN nor BBC. I believe there was free wireless internet in the room. They also have an internet PC for use in the lobby for 500 won per 10 mins. The staff were polite and could converse well enough in English.

I would recommend this hotel for first time visitors to Seoul. The best feature of the hotel is its location, right smack in the thick of action and all the buzz in the Myeong-dong shopping area. The area also has many choices of restaurants including stalls selling street food. Myeong-dong station is only about a 5 min walk away. We were on the 3rd level and so some of the street noise did filter into the room. The buzz starts to taper off after 10.30 pm.

The hotel also provides a schedule for the airport limo bus leaving Sedong Hotel for the airport. The trip back to the airport took about 50 mins as we left early at around 6 am.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TAN57Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

Ideal location, big rooms, comfortable beds for a great price. The hotel was literally in the middle of Myeong Deong, shopping haven especially for beauty products- Etude House, Face Shop, Nature Republic, you name it, Myeong Deong has it! We did not opt for the breakfast option, so I can't comment on the bfast, but there're tons of great cafes and eateries in Myeong Deong, they even have a Krispy Kremes cafe where they make their donuts fresh before your eyes!

Our room (1 double bed and a single bed) had a corner with a coffee table, which was spacious enough to accommodate 2 mega luggages. The staff of the Hotel were exceedingly nice and lovely and spoke good English. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank whataboutkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Days Hotel Myeongdong
Days Hotel Myeongdong
#95 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Myeongdong III
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Hotel Seoul
#38 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Jhill
Hotel Jhill
#122 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Loisir Hotel Seoul Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Seoul

Property: Savoy Hotel Seoul
Address: 10, Myeongdong 8na-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04536, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Hotel Seoul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing