We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is ok but location is great”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #11 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We book this hotel due to the location, its location in Myeondong, the shopping heaven in Seoul. As for the room, room size is small, and we have to book way in advance as this hotel is very popular, if you book late you might not get a room. Room comes with basic amenities and. We spend most of our time out of the room, so the size of the room is not a problem, all we need is a comfy bed at night after all day out shopping and exploring the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
There are newer reviews for Metro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

This small hotel right in the heart Myeongdong (most expensive real estate in Seoul) is perfect fro those who enjoy shopping and dining. You are minutes away from Lotte Mall on one side, and the bustling nightlife of Myeongdong on the other. 10 minutes' walk brings you to Shinsegae Mall and Nandaemun Market. A large variety of restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets can be found nearby.

The rooms are a little dark but well shielded from street noise, and the beds are very comfortable. There is laundry room on level 7 for a small fee. Free wireless internet available, decent breakfast spread, and staff are friendly and helpful. Good value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was very satisfied of my stay at the Metro Hotel Seoul.

Very smooth and professinal check-in, I was lucky enough to get a very good price for my single room. The room itself was very nice, clean, no noise, good bedding and a convenient bathroom.

The only downsides being: rather slow and erratic internet connection from the room (no problem from the reception though), no small light beside the bed for reading...

I was also pleased by the breakfast, it offered all I needed. To sum it up: Metro Hotel is very very conveniently located and well priced. A good value for money if you can obtain a good rate.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank perks787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

location -- it's a block away from the lotte stores and myeongdong's main shopping street, so you're very close to all the action but can also enjoy some peace. very convenient if you want to drop off a load of purchases before another round of shopping. lot's of restaurants and cafes nearby. it's a quick 2-minute walk from airport bus 6015's dropoff point, which is the ibis hotel across lotte department store.

staff -- probably the nicest and most helpful i've ever encountered. they were so polite and pleasant. they helped us with some items we ordered from korean suppliers, even making the phone calls during office hours while we were out on tour. *tip: if you're touring independently, it's advisable to have them write your destination in korean -- very handy when asking for directions or taking a taxi.

room -- on the small side, but not cramped. clean carpet, comfy bed, nice t&b.

breakfast -- in my opinion, the only thing that needs improvement. yogurt, fruit, bread + butter/jam, coffee & juices daily. they also had items that changed from day to day -- sausages, eggs, rice balls. but over all, not much choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If they can allow to have eerily check on that will be perfect . A lot nice restaurant a round you .travel by cab is cheap every where u go is near u. Breakfast is alright . They have a laundry at 7 lever wash n dry e clothes is 4000 won so is cheap. I chose this hotel back for my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audreyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

i chose metro hotel purely from reading all the good reviews, and at the same time called up emily several times after i book the hotel to make inquiries and make sure that when my family arrives, we are in good hands, and will not be at a loss because our trip is self navigating and not on a packaged deal. it was fortunate that the staffs can speak english, mostly emily and sky song. our family stayed in a premium room 701 which i booked 6 months ahead of our trip which was scheduled on oct 22 to oct 26, staying for 4 nights. i knew that this popular hotel is always fully booked because of the accessibility due to its good location, and so i had to book very early. the hotel staffs were very courteous and accommodating from the doorman to the front desk and up to the breakfast dining area at the 9th floor. the premium room is spacious and clean. its just that the garbage can is too small because premium room is for 4 people, and it was always overflowing daily. i requested for an extension of another night because we hadn't had enough of seoul, however, due to its full bookings, our request was denied. anyway, we plan to go back to seoul next year, and will definitely stay at metro again.
thank you, sky song, for making the call to manila to personally ask about the condition there when we were hit with a super typhoon and floods.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOSIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had read positive reviews of the place and it indeed did not disappoint me. Who knew there is a hotel with Myeongdong shopping area literally outside of hotel's doorstep? Booking is very simple. I booked a room through Metro Hotel facebook page! We had selected a deluxe twin room and is spacious. it has 2 sofa beds and and a centre table. It is huge by its price and is bigger compared with its counterparts.

We actually requested to leave our things after check out and they arrange it for us. They also print our on-line check in boarding passes. Very nice English speaking staff. They have free wifi as well.

An good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: They only accept credit card as form of payment. Rates include breakfast.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kitkat_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#4 of 500 in Seoul
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $76 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, stylish and centrally located, the newly renovated Metro hotel has everything you want for your Seoul trip. With a convenient downtown setting located in Myeongdong, the heart of Seoul, expect most of your destinations within few minutes. This well-kept secret in the center of the city, Metro hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korean history. Since 1960, our hardcore mission always has been the "Guest Satisfaction". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing