We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value for money”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed at metro hotel for 5 nights during the first week of June. The hotel is located in the heart of Myung Dong, surrounded by shops and restaurants. The subway is only 3 minutes by foot. Even though it is in the midst of a shopping district, I could not hear the noise from the human traffic outside.

For the first three nights, I managed to stay in a single room. The size is right for a solo traveller, with ample walking space. However, for the rest of the stay, I could not get a single room and had to settle for a double room, at an additional cost of 10 000 won.
The room, with a double bed in it, is too cramped for its slightly bigger floor area. I could not watch TV comfortably from the bed as the TV was placed at an odd angle.

Breakfast is provided at the hotel. There is the usual toast and porridge, and it gets kinda of boring after eating 3 straight days in a row.

One good time about the hotel is that they have a laundry room with coin-operated washing machines, an ironing board, hot and cold water dispenser. Very convenient for budget travellers who wish to do their own laundry.

The hotel, on the whole, is very well-maintained. The room and the corridor looked clean,
with no unpleasant odour.

The staff at the reception are very helpful. They never failed to greet the guests with a smile.

The only drawback about the hotel is its lack of TV channels for international tourists.
There were no Chinese channels for Asian travellers, even though they had CNN and NHK channels.

If I were to visit Seoul again, I will definitely choose Metro Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AsiaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skysong, Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Dear guest.
Thank you very much for sharing your review. We are very happy to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We are so sorry to learn that you didn't notice that there is CCTV9 channel on our TV. After I read your review, we just installed another Chinese channel "Channel Ching" today. We wish you and other our Chinese guest enjoy the channel.
Thank you again for staying with us, We look forward to seeing you at Metro Hotel again.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Sales & Marketing Team Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is the best hotel to be in Myeongong. My favourite infact! We've stayed here a couple of times. The only problem is that, it's always fully booked!! It's location is central. I have no complain on this hotel.I've recommended to all my friends visiting seoul; they all loved it! The price is affordable as compared to the others, and it's clean. Perhaps, the breakfast could be improved, other than that, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skysong, Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Mr/Ms Zetster

Hello from Metro Hotel.
Thank you for your comments about Metro Hotel.
We're always looking for ways to make our service better, and it is very gratifying to hear from our guests when they are pleased with our efforts. I will pass your review to all the staffs in every department so that all of us remind how important to do our job right. I am sorry if you had difficulties when booking, it would be easier when make a reservation as soon as possible since many of our guests make their bookings about 5~7weeks before.
Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again at Metro Hotel.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Sales&Marketing Team manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in a double room C with one semi-double bed and without a bath tub. The room was a bit dark but cozy and in a good size. We stayed in two different rooms and the first one was a corner room which seemed to be smaller but with more windows.

I had to admit that the bed was not really comfy and the walls are thin enough to hear some noise outside or in the room next door clearly. That was the problem to us on our first check-in in the cornor room, but nothing annoying at all with the second room we stayed after coming back from Busan. The hotel kindly stored our luggages during our trip to Busan and Gyeongju which made our excursion easier.

Breakfast was mediocre. We had breakfast 2 times out of our 4 nights stay and we didn't regret not having breakfast there every morning.

The best thing about the hotel is its location!!!! It is right in the heart of Myeongdong so you can get back to freshen up yourself any time after a long, tiring walk. It is very close to the Airport Limousine(line no. 6015) stop which come into handy when we had to leave very early for our flight leaving at 8:15AM. No need to worry about restaurants when you are in Myeongdong though.

The hotel looks very modern with its refurbishment. The staff were friendly and ready to help. Two computers at the lobby are available and the internet is free of charge.

I had already booked the hotel again for my next trip in Sep!! Can't wait to return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kumaneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skysong, Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Dear Ms.Kumaneko

Greetings from Metro Hotel! Thanks for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and coming back in September again. Your comments about noises from next door is taken seriously to us and we will try to fix the problem. Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to seeing in September!

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Sales & Marketing Team manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Reception: English-speaking staff, friendly and helpful doorman. Left luggage at reception due to early arrival and luggages were properly tagged and kept in a locked room.
Single room: Clean toilet. Small but comfortable room. Only setback was the rather dim lighting. Free wifi.
Breakfast: Simple spread with porridge, breads, homemade yogurt etc in a nice dining hall.
Location: Excellent. Less than 5 minutes walk from the airport bus stop in front of Ibis Hotel and less than 10 minutes away from the airport limousine bus stop in front of Lotte Hotel. Located in the middle of Myeongdong, the best place to shop for korean skincare products and clothes as well as home to numerous affordable korean restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank phik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skysong, Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

Dear Mr.Phik

Hello from Metro Hotel.
Thanks for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and the location.
As you and few more guests commented, we are now installing an extra light in every rooms. This operation will be done by next week. When you come back next time, your room will be lighter than before. Thanks for sharing your review, as it is the most important to us,we will keep listening to your voices.
Thank you very much.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Sales & Marketing Team manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We had booked a non smoking room and when we arrived we asked again at reception during the check-in process whether we would have a non smoking room. The staff member helping us assured us that it was.

When we got to the room we could smell the smoke as soon as we opened the door. It completely reeked. We went back downstairs and complained but were told that there were no more non smoking rooms available. Which means they had planned incorrectly and then just given us a smoking room, told us it was a non smoking room, and hoped that we didn't notice.

They refused to cancel the booking and refund us or give us the first night out of the five we stayed in total free. After a protracted negotiation we managed to get a small discount for the first night. The next day they moved us to a proper non smoking room but the first night in that smoky room was dreadful.

Otherwise, the hotel is in a great location and has decent facilities. The breakfast was just ok and there is free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizard0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skysong, 매니저 at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

Dear Ms/Mr Lizard0330, our precious guest.

Hello. this is Sky Song from Metro Hotel.
We are extremely sorry for what you had to go thru during your check in process. All of the staffs of reservations and front desk are to be re-trained so that samething wouldn't happen again.
I apologise for the inconvenience again and hope you to see you again.

Thank you.

Warmest regards
Sky song
Sales & Marketing Team
Team manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed 4 nights in this wonderful hotel. Ok, it gets top marks for location and isn't location everything when in Seoul? Right in the heart of Myeondong, the shopping haven of the city. Walk out of the hotel and shops are everywhere including great restaurants. The shopping around here is a mixture of middle range shops and street stalls (only come out in full force in the evenings!) If you are the less adventurous, just walking around this area would keep you happy for a day or two! Other plus points, turn right fm the hotel and yes, Lotte Dept Store is just within a 3 mins walk. It is a large dept store and if you want more upmarket shopping, this is it! Must mention that the subways are also nearby, Eljiro (il) ga and Myeondong stations. However, as there were 4 of us, tip of the day, take a taxi! It is quite cheap (start at KRW2,400) compared to taking the trains (minimum KRW1,000 per pax per single trip). However, do remember to have the location's name written in Korean to instruct the taxi driver. Avoid the hassle of miscommunication. We also walked to Namdaemun market and Shinsegae dept store. Need to feedback to hotel receptionist that they should give more accurate information to guests. Namdaemun is definitely walkable! Luckily we didn't take the advice of the receptionist/concierge. Also, they need to upgrade their knowledge abt taking taxis i.e. the rates and distances. Although can speak English and they do attempt to help guests (by checking the internet) they seemed a bit cold and not so personable. Maybe, its the language barrier again. Rooms- we took the deluxe twin and was quite surprise at the size. We expected larger but it was adequate. Plain and no frills but all the amenities intact. Hairdryer, safe, fridge, coffee making facilities, bath robes, slippers, comfy beds, 1 double 1 single (why this hotel don't provide twin beds i.e. 2 single beds??), LCD tv, free internet access, land line and wifi. What was great is that the hotel provides full set of toiletries, bath towels to shampoo. It is well known that Korean hotels may not necessary provide these. Feedback on room, change the tea cups to coffee cups please! And where is the stirer? And why only 1 bottle of mineral water provided when the room is for 3 pax? Even if there were 2 of us, at least 2 bottles? Lastly, breakfast in hotel - quite decent given our low expectation! Have good quality bread, croissants, danish pastries, salad, yogurt, canned fruits and cornflakes. For savoury stuff, there were eggs, sausages and porridge. Although the hotel attempted to give a variety, it is only the style of cooking! Fried eggs vs boiled eggs, steamed sausage vs fried sausage in tomato sauce. No attempt to change the porridge at all! Although delicious, after 4 days, hmmm.....however, the coffee was excellent!! Fruit juice is also available but in tetrapacks. Besides these improvements required, we have no complaints abt the hotel. They managed to book a jumbo taxi to take us to the airport which was a relief. Overall, great hotel and will definitely stay there again if in town!

Room Tip: Just write to the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skysong, Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Dear Mr/Ms Taipei10, our precious guest.

Thanks for your time to share a review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and will come back again when in town, however, I am very sorry to hear that our receptionist was not very helpful to you. As you commented and suggested about all the services and amenities, we will train ourselves harder and seek for a betterment. Thank you very much. We hope to see you soon at Metro Hotel.

Thank you.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Sales & Marketing Team Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This hotel was opened in 1960, so rooms are small and cramped and there’s only one lift. (I guess size didn’t matter that much back then!)

However, it does have some good features to recommend it.

It’s in a quiet side street, it’s clean, efficiently run and despite its age, has been well looked after. No tatty carpets or torn fittings here. It’s conveniently located and represents good value for money.

The good points

- Convenient location in bustling Myeong-dong, about 5 mins walk from the landmark Ibis Ambassador Myeong-dong Hotel. If taking the 6015 bus from the airport (10,000 won per trip as at 8/3/11) get off at the Ibis and just ask for directions to the Metro Hotel. You’ll find it opposite the Standard Chartered Bank. Myeong-dong is the closest train station.

- Rooms are quiet.

- Very clean.

- Free internet downstairs in the lobby (for those without own laptops).

- Staff are polite and efficient and most have at least basic English-speaking skills.

- Reasonable cost – for four nights in a double room inc breakfast, we paid the equivalent of $440 (Australian) in March 2011.

- TV works well with about 94 channels to choose from (mostly Korean, of course) but including all the major news ones like BBC, CNN, Sky etc.

- Very satisfactory breakfast, served on the 9th floor. Lovely bread, rolls and pastries. The dining room can get a bit cramped tho when the hotel is full.


The bad points

- Very small room; truly tiny; hardly big enough to swing a cat in.

- Limited storage in room: One small cupboard with four hangars and a single shelf, two desk drawers and a stool to put a case on.

- Tiny bathroom with minimal storage; everything bound to get wet.

(In this place you’ll need to be very economical with space!)

- VERY poor lighting. Virtually imposs to read in bed and generally room is dim.

- Only one lift so you may need to wait.

- At least in our room, one side of the bed was flush against the wall, so too bad for the one sleeping on the wall side as they’d need to “slide” out of bed!

- We had probs finding the toilet flusher and had to phone downstairs for help.

Room Tip: Higher up would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Artfornodriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skysong, Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Dear
Thank you very much for your review.
As you mentioned, we are opened in 1960 as the 1st registered tourist hotel in Korea history and in 2005, we have re-opened after a 6months of renovation.
We are sorry that you were not comfortable expecially with the room size. I can see that you stayed in #14 the Standard C type which is the smallest among Standard types. I recommend our Standard B or Deluxe room that are more spacious for your next visit.
Thanks the time for reviewing. We apologise for the inconvenience and hope to see you again at Metro Hotel.
Thank you.

Warmest regards
Sales and Marketing Team Manager
Sky Song

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#4 of 504 in Seoul
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
G2 Hotel
G2 Hotel
#8 of 504 in Seoul
170 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#9 of 504 in Seoul
613 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, stylish and centrally located, the newly renovated Metro hotel has everything you want for your Seoul trip. With a convenient downtown setting located in Myeongdong, the heart of Seoul, expect most of your destinations within few minutes. This well-kept secret in the center of the city, Metro hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korean history. Since 1960, our hardcore mission always has been the "Guest Satisfaction". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing