We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay. Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
Ranked #153 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed January 27, 2013

As already mentioned in the other reviews, the biggest plus of this hotel is its location. Airport Bus 6001 stops right in front of the hotel which is situated within minutes of walking distance to Dongdaemun, where shops are open into the wee hours. Our room was small and compact, but comfortable and quiet, and very clean. The heated floor was a nice touch during the cold winter when we were there. I particularly enjoyed the multi-head showers with good water pressure. Also on every level there was a hot/cold water cooler so it saved us the trouble (and money) of buying bottled water. The front staff spoke good English and was very helpful. All in all it was a very good stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lppst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 295 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I really had a pleasant stay at Uljiro Co-op Residence Hotel.

From Incheon International Airport you can take Airport bus 6001 Dongdaemoon Fashion Town to the Hotel. It cost 14.000 won (10 euro/ 13 USD) to take the bus. The bus stops in front of the hotel. It wasn't crowded and it takes 1,5- 2 hours to the hotel. Check in went fast.

The staff of the reception are really nice and helpfull. They have a restaurant for breakfast and lunch, but you have to pay extra. It was not included in our booking. We didnt use the restaurant, because there are supermarkets closes to the hotel.

The hotelroom
The rooms are clean and big enough for two. We had a kitchen with refrigerator, a watercooker with coffee and tea. A big desk and tv. The tv has a lot of different channels. Also a big closet to put your clothes in. A lot of people find the room small.. but we only use it to sleep... not to hang in the hotel. The bathroom contains a washtable, shower and a toilet. For some its inconvenient that these three are open.. but we didnt mind. Towels and bed get changed every day.
We got a nice view from our hotelwindow.. we saw the Seoul Tower, but also a huge billboard.. which i find kind of funny instead of annoying. Also acces to free internet through WIFI was really good in the hotelroom. You don't need a password.

Transport
There are two subway entrances near the hotel..
One across the street in front of Lotteria and the other right on the left when you walk out of the hotel. Here you can take subwayline 1 (blue line) and subwayline 2 (Green line) Its easy to the subway which can take you anywhere. You can buy tickets at the ticketmachine, but we used a t-money card (transportation card) .. Its handy because you can use it for buses and the subway.

Surrounding of the hotel
The hotel is close to a lot of shoppingmalls: Doota Mall, Hello Apm, Migliore and dongdaemun market. There are also lots of restaurants.. the Dongdaemun Design Plaza& Park is 5 minutes away from the hotel and you can see the famous Cheonggyecheon Stream if you walk less than 10 minutes.

We really liked staying in this hotel.. its clean, not lot of noises, close to shopping malls and restaurant. Airport bus and close to the subway. This is not a luxe hotel.. just a good place to sleep and rest.

And yes we would stay again in this hotel... we actually plan to book this hotel again for our trip to Seoul this year...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LiliaChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Airport bus drop off right at its doorstep!
Its a 5 mins walk to the subway and about 10 mins to miligore and dongdaemun.
Hotel is very well maintained. A water dispenser on each floor. Sink, microwave, cups, utensils.
Downside however is, to wash the dishes ourselves..

Will definitely return!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hipsquare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

First of all, the tripadvisor map is displaying a wrong location for the Uljiro Co-op.
(Check agoda or hotels.com or booking.com map for the correct location)

If you try to search the address using google map, it will show a pin of Western Co-op. This is another residence on the same straight road but about 250m away (Uljiro is 250m nearer to Dongdaemum History subway).

The location is almost perfect. It is a short walk (less than 200m) from Dongdaemum History subway station. Just across the main road are plenty of restaurants (including Lotteria burger - 24hr) so you will be quite spoiled for choices. Also a short distance across the road are a number of shopping complexes, all packed full of shops / stores. (typically operates from 1030am to 4am).

Rooms are small but very clean. Lots of space saving features that in a way compensates for lack of space (i.e shoe cabinet, doors that open outwards). Showers are right next to toilet so might be a challenge to keep the toilet seats dry.

There are water dispenser on each floor (dispenses hot and cold water). Bottled water supposedly only provided on first day.

Washing machines, dryers and iron / ironing board are provided in basement.
(Cost 500 won for washing powder, 1000 won for wash, 1000 won for drying.)

Airport bus 6001 stops right at the hotel entrance. Frequency is about 35 minutes. (There is a full schedule at front desk). Took us about 1 hr 40 mins journey to reach the airport on a Saturday mid-afternoon.

At the nearest subway entrance we can see ongoing renovation works for escalators but for now, to reach the subway, need to climb around 55 -60 steps.

Definitely will stay here again if I come back and do not wish to spend too much on hotel accommodation.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank jtan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

There is lot of info about this place,read it,
you will know nearly all important info about this hotel.
these are a few more.

1. Airport bus no.6001 cost 14000 won stop directly at front door of the hotel.It,s take us 1 hr 30 min from airport at 21.55 bus.Friday night.

if you want to save money AREX with subway connect is about 5000 won ,but BEWARE connecting in Seoul station require about 20 min walk with lots of stairs,most without elevator or escalator.

Subway station at Dongdaemun history and culture station
you must walk 500 metres to go to gate 12 (closest to hotel ),
you need 30-40 stairs climb to street level and another 5 mins walk to hotel.

@@@ weight about money and comfort by yourself @@@

2.On way back there is schedule for bus at reception,
but it's not reliable due to seoul traffic jam.The bus stop is in front,same stop as you come from airport.

You prepare to wait 25-35 mins if your previous bus just leaved.
However you even can sit in lobby to look out the front door to see the bus stop.
It spends 1 hour 40 mins on way back to airport in Sunday's evening

3. Now there is free WIFI in room,no password needed.

4.You see the printed big map at the front door ,
study it and you will understand the surroundings easily.

5.There is a bus stop of Seoul city bus,downtown route near Dongdaemun market,
it's Dongdaemun market stop on circuit,so you don't have to go to Gwanhwamun to start tour ,see map in 4 ,you will see it ,there is even tourist information opposite to this bus stop too.

6.I see flea market at the road opposite Lotteria shop about 4 o clock of Sunday,but I don!t see when I leave at 9 am.,So I think there is flea market there about 10 am.- 4 pm.on Sunday.Most of them sell clothings.

That's all,I want to share,Enjoy Seoul

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Narong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Landing at Incheon Aiport it was simplicity itself to get to the Co-op Residence. Buy your ticket at the counter, walk to bus stop 12b and wait for the 6001 bus. It costs KRW 14 000/person (~$ 14) and the journey takes around 90 minutes plus, depending on traffic. It’s about 48 miles to the hotel and the bus stops directly in front on the doorstep. You catch the bus back to the airport from the same stop.

We stayed 6 nights and had room 418, on a non-smoking floor.

As has been pointed out, the rooms are compact but it’s not a problem if you’re small and have little luggage- as we do. We chose a twin bed room as they tend to be slightly larger than a double bed.

The beds are soft (too soft for my tastes, I prefer the harder Asian style) and have first class linen with a proper duvet and a good pillow. Obtaining a spare pillow took just a quick request at Reception, where all staff spoke good enough English.

The room has air-con but only during the summer season and it has under floor heating in the winter which keeps the temperature around 25 C.

In addition, the room boasts a large flat screen TV (44”?) with perhaps half a dozen English speaking channels, two chairs with a coffee table (the only place for a laptop), enough cupboard space to store clothes and luggage and a floor standing standard lamp which we sued next to the bed as there are no bedside lights. That worked fine.
The bathroom is a “wet room” with a good shower and plenty of hot water, a small sink and a flushing WC. More cupboard space where you’ll also find your bath towels- again, good quality.

We were led to believe internet was only available via the supplied cable and it hooked up instantly without fault. Until the 3rd day when it stopped. Two engineers arrived at the door to solve the problem which comprised of taking out the cable and using their wi-fi signal. No one told us! Again, a good reception and all was well.

The room also offers a kitchenette by the door with a large fridge, kettle, sink and microwave; ideal for reheating any takeaways. There is also a hairdryer attached to the wall.

In addition to a gym in the basement there are also three washing machines and driers plus a vending machine for powder and softener. Wash is KRW 1 000 and drying is KRW 1 500 and you’ll need 500 KRW coins.

The only thing missing is an in-room safe but it’s a minor concern as it all looks very secure.

Located directly opposite the national medical centre (we used it to get our yellow fever inoculations as we’re heading on to South America) and a short walk away is the underground which allows access to all parts of Seoul.

Very enjoyable stay, good value for money, fine facilities and nice and peaceful hotel, I would happily come back here again without hesitation.

As usual feel free to drop us a line or checkout our Blog site (see profile for details) or Google “ktelontour” for more info, tips and pictures.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was more crowded compared to my last visit. It gained more popularity and it was all true that below reviewers wrote. It was a clean, lovely location and reasonable price (gone up from last visit).

Airport limousine bus no 6001 stop infront of this hotel. Breakfast price has gone up as well the hotel rate but still acceptable. It was a simple breakfast but it was okay with me.

Will stay here again untill found another one better and cheaper than this.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#235 of 504 in Seoul
46 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Dongdaemun I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Kingstown Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Benikea Hotel Acacia
Benikea Hotel Acacia
#312 of 504 in Seoul
86 reviews
Hyundai Residence
#172 of 504 in Seoul
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uljiro CO-OP Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uljiro CO-OP Residence

Address: 246, Eulji-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04561, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $55 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uljiro CO-OP Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Uljiro CO-OP Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uljiro Co-Op Residence Hotel Seoul
Uljiro Co Op Residence Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing