We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wet bathroom floor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160, Sapyeong-daero, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06578, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wet bathroom floor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This could be a good business hotel. The bathtub design ruins the hotel. It's those ones you say "how on earth would anyone designs the bathtub like this". The bathtub does not have shower curtain, it has a glass panel shielding half length of the bathtub. The other half of the tub simply is open! Each time I finished a shower, there was a soaking wet foot towel on the wet floor waiting for my feet. It was awful. The hotel was lucky that I did not slipped and fall. Otherwise, I would sue the hell out of them.

Besides the bathtub, everything was fine. It was 10 minutes walking to the metro. The airport shuttle stops right in front of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was ok. Room was quite small.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank beleebala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    180
    57
    12
    7
See reviews for
67
46
32
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Being a korean living in Australia, I was sceptical about the Seoul Palace when I booked online through a good deal. Fortunately, I'm glad to say that I was suitably impressed!
We booked 2 business twin rooms, and the twins were actually 1 x Double, 1 x single. Very spacious, modern, clean rooms. Great white bathrooms, clean sheets and bedding.
The aircon is also very quiet and fuss-free which is a huge plus for me being a sensitive sleeper and I had a great 2 nights stay at the Seoul Palace! will definately be back next time.
For breakfast, if you don't want to spend up big at the restuarant, simply walk around the block to 'seo rae village' for cute cafes, bakeries and restaurants- so charming and great shopping!
Cons are that there is no wi-fi in rooms (without payment) and business centre is also charged.

Room Tip: Ask for a Non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalBlueReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was my 2nd stay at the property. This time it was on the executive floor. One would have expected better service here but it was not to be. We arrived early in the morning (9+) and was told no rooms was ready until 2pm. And yes, they can't try as all the rooms were full. We opted to go for breakfast to kill some time. But less than an hour later, decided to head back to the hotel to pay for the early check-in as the wait was simply too long and some work could be done instead.

When we told the front office (at the lobby) of our intention to pay for the extra charge, they helped us call the executive floor staff to check. Immediately, we were told to go up. Now this was interesting, just an hour ago, we were told that all rooms were full till 2pm and now all of a sudden, when we told them we would be paying, rooms were immediately available. If it was so, that we had to pay for the extra charge we would have been okayed to do so, but such an option was not made to us till we asked when we first approached the staff at the executive floor.

The breakfast at the executive floor was monotonous. It was the same offerings throughout the several days we stayed there. The chef might want to consider changing some of the items to add variety, though the taste was pleasant.

Interestingly, we felt that the concierge and the common front reception offered better service than the staff at the executive floor recep. One wonders why when the executive floor charged more and yet lacked the service level. The hotel management might want to review this area to up their service. This makes us wonder should we be back at the hotel the next time, we ought to stay at the normal floors instead. In fact, the breakfast at the cafe offered greater variety. It was also surprising to learn that one can't dine at the cafe for breakfast but if like to, would need to pay a difference.

But I must compliment the service rendered at the concierge. Not only do they speak rather good English, they are also friendlier, always with a smile. That makes me wonder why a difference in service standard despite being the same hotel but in different department. One could tell that the concierge is always busy, with so many requests from all the guests and yet they have never failed to delight us, whatever our requests.

And yes about the room. The chambermaids are wonderful, despite their lack of English, they never fail to smile and accede to our requests. But the layout of the bathroom is much to be desired. Water simply flows to the floor no matter how careful you bathe. Hence, it has made bathing not a very pleasant experience and I pity he chambermaids who have to continuously clean up the water. Not an easy task with so many rooms in the hotel. I wonder if the management can look into this area and do something about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frangi313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Rooms were clean but not spacious; just enough space to walk around the bed right beside the lavatory. May ask for larger and more brighter rooms though.
Small free lobby; may use other more spacious lobbies only if order beverages!!!
The dark brown color of the hotel lobby is too boring and heavy.

Might be good for business trips but definitely not suited to families on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a large and bright room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I really like the modern decorated room with slack finishing. The small room which was clean and comfortable but with adequate space for two person. However, this is not a room for family trip. I was staying with my brother and the moment i stepped into the room, I was very disappointed to see that the bathroom was all cladded with glass walls. There was a blind to cover the windows but a portion of it was still left opened. This has caused much inconvenience between my brother and I as we had to take turns to chill out at the lobby just so the other party can bathe. The room was also dimly lit. Having said that, this is still a very nicely designed boutique hotel for couples.

Room Tip: They might have family rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_victory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed 2 days at the hotel. Room is small but is enough for a small family stay. I suppose all rooms are with a double & single bed if you request for twin bed room. Breakfast buffet selection can be improve. Overall a pleasant stay. Location is not accessible to subway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed for 5 days in seoul palace, is quite impressive, although, using a very dense schedule trip. The rooms are very clean, and modern design. Only a few tiles in the bathroom there is a crack. And overall everything is ok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaya_Wisesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#25 of 449 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
The Ritz-Carlton, Seoul
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Novotel Seoul Ambassador Gangnam
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel

Property: Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel
Address: 160, Sapyeong-daero, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06578, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exquisite and world-class service only fit for Sheraton's reputation at Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam (previously The Palace Hotel Seoul) at the heart of cultural trends and business districts. Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam is located near government offices such as courts and prosecutor's offices, international convention centers including COEX and SETEC, Seoul Arts Center, Central City, Seoul St. Mary's Hospital, and more. It offers guests a quality, cultural experience and safe retreat. With subway lines 3, 7, and 9 nearby, which connect to key tourist sites throughout Seoul, and a nationwide bus terminal just five minutes away, guests have easy access to business, shopping, touring, and leisure. With its convenient location, Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam is ideal for holding small business meetings, seminars, weddings and conferences with nine different banquet halls including two grand ballrooms. Visitors can recharge in the hotel's 341 rooms including 22 suites, Club Lounge, fitness center with advanced equipment, indoor swimming pool with an expansive view, world-class spa, and other renovated facilities. The hotel offers the finest cuisine with four restaurants including famous Japanese restaurant "TA BONG" and Chinese restaurant "SUH GOONG" in addition to nearby restaurants and trendy tourist spots such as Seorae Village, Itaewon, and Garosugil. As Gangnam's first luxury hotel, Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam provides a special experience that you will remember through its innovative and detailed service with a systematic expertise that belongs to Sheraton's brand and long history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Seoul Palace Gangnam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing