We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIRD CLASS CATEGORY HOTEL IN NEW TOWN SEOUL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yeongdong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Yeongdong Hotel to your Saves list
Yeongdong Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144, Dosan-Daero, Gangnam-Gu, Seoul 135-010, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 440 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THIRD CLASS CATEGORY HOTEL IN NEW TOWN SEOUL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is well located on the main street of Nonhyun-Dong. Near restaurants, cafes and acros the street there are nice boutiques and cafes.
The hotel itself is basic, good for business people, tourists and shoppers.
Room is quiet big for 2 people.

Room Tip: Upper floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My family recently stayed at the Young Dong Hotel in Shinsa-dong for one night. The location was the main draw, as we were attending a wedding in the area.

We had 3 rooms for our party (2 Western style rooms and 1 Korean style) and overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. It was clean, well located (close to the subway) and very reasonably priced.

This hotel is by no means a 5-star, but for the price we paid, it was well worth the value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PUCCA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The room is tiny by asian standard. More like the one you find in Europe. Breakfast is very limited in choice. Staff is not very helpful and lousy in English. Can't even communicate efficiently. Wired internet is complimentary but the wifi is intermittent.

Only plus point is location which is very close to metro station and with lots of eateries around.

Will not recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hl56beh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Höhenkirchen-Siegertsbrunn, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I arrived late, no help with the luggage. Check-in efficient.

The room I had on the 11th floor was clean and relatively large and clean. Beds are to my taste too hard. Breakfast is nothing exciting, but you will find something to eat. Coffee is not good, too watery.

Pros
Location, with subway and lots of bars and restaurants close by
High speed internet for free

Negative
Lobby bar, very expensive
Noise from the main street

If you only sleep there, then it is OK. If you want more then go somewhere else

Room Tip: Try not to get one facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

OK, if you like staying in the Hilton in Sydney, Australia - maybe this isn't the place for you. I was on business and the hotel is fine! Great rates, food to be expected in Asia. I love Korean food, I don't know why the restaurant serves bad Italian instead??

The rooms are like any standard hotel in Asia, similar to Japan. Small, a little cosy, with funny wallpaper. I like it though, it's easy and cheap.

Location is perfect for me, the office is just across the road. Great shopping in Apguijong, and amazing food. My faviourite place is down the street that is across the road. It is called "Grande' - amazing food, amazing wine, amazing staff. The street I am talking about is called 'carosu' - it has really great food all over it.

I like Young Dong, the staff are very friendly and the hotel serves its purpose. Free internet is always a +, which it has. Subway stop at the end of the street.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydney_lodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

A weird and gloomy place. For $130 per night you get settings of a dormitory, a tiny room, poor breakfast, and shockingly unfriedly staff! The good points are location - 3 min walk to Sinsa metro station, free cable internet in the rooms and a street full of restaraunts of all cuisins of the world nearby

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Never will I ever go near this hell hole again. There was nothing good about anything and the breakfast was scary looking.

The room was extremely small and since other traveller's skin remains were stuck in my throat I was up all night.

Never go there.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungdongKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinsa / Garosugil
Dormy Inn Premium Seoul Garosugil
LEX Tourist Hotel
#184 of 440 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Sunshine
Hotel Sunshine
#182 of 440 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#2 of 440 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#50 of 440 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#5 of 440 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeongdong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeongdong Hotel

Address: 144, Dosan-Daero, Gangnam-Gu, Seoul 135-010, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 440 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeongdong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yeongdong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Young Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#