We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
9
33
28
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
33
28
7
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 81 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

i like the room. it's clean and modern. it's nearby olympic park and olympic stadium in seoul. And nearby the Lotte World too. But it's far from tourist area like myeongdong and cityhall (palace). i visited during winter 2008

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misshwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Seoul. We had a wonderful experience, alot to get used to travelling from the USA! We had 2 rooms for our family of 4--we also travelled with a group of approximately 80 people from the American Taekwondo Association. The accomodations were average. Our room consisted of 2 twin beds, a small desk (no dressers), a small closet, mini fridge, and bathroom. Climate control was a problem during our 8 day stay---they still had the heat turned on in the hotel, even though the daily outside temperature averaged 70degrees. The rooms were stifling hot, with no ability to turn on a fan or open a window. The beds were ROCK hard.....but the rooms were clean, housekeeping was adequate! Meals were a little short of average---we had a mixture/choice of American or Korean based breakfast. We were never at the hotel for lunch/midday or evening/dinner meals.
Internet access was TERRIBLE. The hotel does have a SMALL business center with, I believe, 1 computer with internet---a must for a business traveller. The hotel does have wifi, that was $9 per day, supposedly, but we were never able to get it to work. There wasn't even free wifi in the hotel lobby, which was a major disappointment. We had to walk several blocks to a coffee shop to use free wifi.
The staff was friendly, very little English speaking, but still friendly.
The hotel is a short walk to the subway, which was convenient.
It was also largely populated by school-age groups...there were teenagers everywhere all week. Elevators were slow at certain times of the day, when everyone was going to meals. The hotel also had a very small gift shop--would have liked to have a larger shop to pick up snacks, magazines or other items.
One nice perk for the hotel was the optional American electrical plugs. Our rooms had both American and Asian plugs, even though it was only one, but it helped because we forgot our converters. Flat screen TV in the room. Rooms were very small and cramped.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElishaC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This Hotel in the center of the Olympic venue of the 1988 Seoul Olympics. The staff are wonderful, the food buffet exquisite for all 3 meals. The park offers a step back in time with the Museums, playgrounds, hiking trails and an opportunity to communicate with nature.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steiff1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Seoul Olympic Parktel is a hotel that was built very near Olympic Park in honor of Olympic Games in Seoul in 1988. At some point in its history, it converted a few floors of the hotel to a youth hostel. (This probably explains the younger-aged tour group that a previous reviewer mentioned.) As both a hotel and hostel, it comes across a bit sterile -- perhaps because it caters first and foremost to business travelers. If the hostel room I stayed in used to be a hotel room, I can see how other reviewers would find the hotel rooms here to be cramped. If you're looking to stay in the hostel, as I did, know that the hotel has put two bunk beds into the room, plus a trundle under one of them that can roll out between the two to sleep a fifth person. It's quite a tight squeeze for even three (I had two roommates), and I really can't imagine how tight it'd have been with four roommates, unless everyone packed sparingly. Still, the room was tidy and featured a large flat-screen TV, a luxury item for a hostel room, in my experience, but perhaps a nod to the hotel surrounding it. The shower is a room separate from the sink/toilet room, which is handy for preventing bathroom lines. There's a small fridge in the room, too. As others have mentioned, the hotel/hostel is a bit out of the way from the center of the city, but its proximity to the subway (lines 2 & 8) makes that an easy fix. City bus #6006 from Incheon Airport (buy tickets from the window near the bus stops right outside the airport) used to stop right in front of the hotel, but the route has changed so that it stops a long half-block away. Plan accordingly if you have unwieldy luggage.

Nearby Olympic Park is lovely, and there are a lot of nearby trails for walking and jogging. Lotte World is not too far, if mega-shopping/amusement park-ing is something you're interested in.

At 22,000KRW per bed at the hostel, staying at Oympic Parktel is worth most of the inconveniences. But the much higher rate for hotel rooms themselves is probably not worth it.

Finally, note that the staff doesn't speak the greatest English, but it's serviceable for your basic communication needs.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImperfectlyThirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Seoul Olympic Parktel is nicely situated in the former Olympic Park. It can be easily reached from the airport, because bus No. 6006 from Incheon Int'l Airport stops right in front of the Olympic Parktel (the ride from the airport takes 90 minutes, but the bus runs every 15 - 20 minutes and costs only 11000 Won !!). The rooms are spacious and the view especially from the upper floors is very nice! Breakfast is unfortunately not included, and WLAN costs extra. A safe is also missing in the room (safe deposit boxes available freely at the reception).
To get to the city center by subway (a station is not very far from the hotel) takes quite long (45 Minutes), because you have to change subways at least once or twice. On the other hand, there is a very nice restaurant area very close to the hotel, so that for a good dinner you do not need to go to the city center. Taxis are also quite cheap but also take some time especially when traffic is slow.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fritz_3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews