We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seoul Olympic Parktel
Ranked #342 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

i like the room. it's clean and modern. it's nearby olympic park and olympic stadium in seoul. And nearby the Lotte World too. But it's far from tourist area like myeongdong and cityhall (palace). i visited during winter 2008

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
6
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Seoul. We had a wonderful experience, alot to get used to travelling from the USA! We had 2 rooms for our family of 4--we also travelled with a group of approximately 80 people from the American Taekwondo Association. The accomodations were average. Our room consisted of 2 twin beds, a small desk (no dressers), a small closet, mini fridge, and bathroom. Climate control was a problem during our 8 day stay---they still had the heat turned on in the hotel, even though the daily outside temperature averaged 70degrees. The rooms were stifling hot, with no ability to turn on a fan or open a window. The beds were ROCK hard.....but the rooms were clean, housekeeping was adequate! Meals were a little short of average---we had a mixture/choice of American or Korean based breakfast. We were never at the hotel for lunch/midday or evening/dinner meals.
Internet access was TERRIBLE. The hotel does have a SMALL business center with, I believe, 1 computer with internet---a must for a business traveller. The hotel does have wifi, that was $9 per day, supposedly, but we were never able to get it to work. There wasn't even free wifi in the hotel lobby, which was a major disappointment. We had to walk several blocks to a coffee shop to use free wifi.
The staff was friendly, very little English speaking, but still friendly.
The hotel is a short walk to the subway, which was convenient.
It was also largely populated by school-age groups...there were teenagers everywhere all week. Elevators were slow at certain times of the day, when everyone was going to meals. The hotel also had a very small gift shop--would have liked to have a larger shop to pick up snacks, magazines or other items.
One nice perk for the hotel was the optional American electrical plugs. Our rooms had both American and Asian plugs, even though it was only one, but it helped because we forgot our converters. Flat screen TV in the room. Rooms were very small and cramped.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This Hotel in the center of the Olympic venue of the 1988 Seoul Olympics. The staff are wonderful, the food buffet exquisite for all 3 meals. The park offers a step back in time with the Museums, playgrounds, hiking trails and an opportunity to communicate with nature.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steiff1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Seoul Olympic Parktel is a hotel that was built very near Olympic Park in honor of Olympic Games in Seoul in 1988. At some point in its history, it converted a few floors of the hotel to a youth hostel. (This probably explains the younger-aged tour group that a previous reviewer mentioned.) As both a hotel and hostel, it comes across a bit sterile -- perhaps because it caters first and foremost to business travelers. If the hostel room I stayed in used to be a hotel room, I can see how other reviewers would find the hotel rooms here to be cramped. If you're looking to stay in the hostel, as I did, know that the hotel has put two bunk beds into the room, plus a trundle under one of them that can roll out between the two to sleep a fifth person. It's quite a tight squeeze for even three (I had two roommates), and I really can't imagine how tight it'd have been with four roommates, unless everyone packed sparingly. Still, the room was tidy and featured a large flat-screen TV, a luxury item for a hostel room, in my experience, but perhaps a nod to the hotel surrounding it. The shower is a room separate from the sink/toilet room, which is handy for preventing bathroom lines. There's a small fridge in the room, too. As others have mentioned, the hotel/hostel is a bit out of the way from the center of the city, but its proximity to the subway (lines 2 & 8) makes that an easy fix. City bus #6006 from Incheon Airport (buy tickets from the window near the bus stops right outside the airport) used to stop right in front of the hotel, but the route has changed so that it stops a long half-block away. Plan accordingly if you have unwieldy luggage.

Nearby Olympic Park is lovely, and there are a lot of nearby trails for walking and jogging. Lotte World is not too far, if mega-shopping/amusement park-ing is something you're interested in.

At 22,000KRW per bed at the hostel, staying at Oympic Parktel is worth most of the inconveniences. But the much higher rate for hotel rooms themselves is probably not worth it.

Finally, note that the staff doesn't speak the greatest English, but it's serviceable for your basic communication needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImperfectlyThirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Polten, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Seoul Olympic Parktel is nicely situated in the former Olympic Park. It can be easily reached from the airport, because bus No. 6006 from Incheon Int'l Airport stops right in front of the Olympic Parktel (the ride from the airport takes 90 minutes, but the bus runs every 15 - 20 minutes and costs only 11000 Won !!). The rooms are spacious and the view especially from the upper floors is very nice! Breakfast is unfortunately not included, and WLAN costs extra. A safe is also missing in the room (safe deposit boxes available freely at the reception).
To get to the city center by subway (a station is not very far from the hotel) takes quite long (45 Minutes), because you have to change subways at least once or twice. On the other hand, there is a very nice restaurant area very close to the hotel, so that for a good dinner you do not need to go to the city center. Taxis are also quite cheap but also take some time especially when traffic is slow.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritz_3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I am not sure it was a hostel or a hotel. The room was so small and the breakfast was so bad! For the price, I have no complaint as everything in South Korea was so expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed at the Olympic Parktel on a recent business trip because I needed to be close to the Jamsil/Chonho-dong area and it received OK reviews on here and the price was reasonable. I would NOT recommend the hotel for business travelers. There seem to be many high school student tour groups that use the hotel, the staff is indifferent sometimes instead of helpful, and basic things are lacking. For example, there is no iron or ironing board in the room and none available to request -- if you need to iron, you must go with your things to the 5th floor laundry room and do it there. ??? Is this a dormitory? How can a hotel not have irons available?

Also, if you want to use internet, there is a KRW 10,000 charge per day and you must take your laptop to the business center and have a technician set up special connectivity -- not simply get a username and password to use at check in. Not a huge deal, but like everything else, was just disappointing, aggravating, and took more time and effort to get what you need.

There is nothing in the neighborhood -- the closest restaurants are a 10 minute walk away in a neighborhood full of "no tell motels" and massage parlors near the subway station.

If you want cheap, clean, and basic it is a good choice for travelers, but not a convenient location for tourists at all. If you are on business, I would avoid the hotel because of all of the little annoyances and inconveniences.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seoulmanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Film 37.2 Hotel
#227 of 493 in Seoul
12 reviews
The View Hotel
#301 of 493 in Seoul
3 reviews
Hotel Argo
#260 of 493 in Seoul
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harmony Hotel
#203 of 493 in Seoul
8 reviews
Hotel Lake
#231 of 493 in Seoul
53 reviews
Jamsil
Lotte Hotel World
Lotte Hotel World
#8 of 493 in Seoul
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seoul Olympic Parktel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seoul Olympic Parktel

Property: Seoul Olympic Parktel
Address: 448, Olympic-ro, Songpa-gu, Seoul 138-749, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seoul Olympic Parktel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seoul Olympic Parktel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Olympic Parktel Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing