We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Mayfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfield Hotel
Ranked #121 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

good: lobby seems welcoming. staff are mostly accommodating enough.
room is relatively good with complete amenities. loved the mirror by the tub.
good stay for family and friends. breakfast was great, loved the coffee. ^^
you may take shuttle bus (by schedule) to go to gimpo airport and lotte mall.
landscape and structure design looks elegantly vintage.

bad: quite far from downtown seoul. 30-40 mins drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara_sujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Mayfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Room is big with comfortable bedding. Breadfast is also good for a wide choice of western and korean, japanese and Chinese style food. The hotel is located nearby the domestic airport at Seoul. It is surrounded with nature and resort-feel decoration. The bad thing is driving distance almost more than 30 mins to down town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggytsang2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A bit expensive but the surrounding is excellent. Their wedding banquet place was amazing. Korean TV station shoot the TV series here. However, it's not very convenient to access to the hotel. And no restaurant or markets nearby. It's near the Gimpo Airport but with no buses or metro. You can use the free shuttle runs by the hotel to the airport and markets. It runs every 30 minutes, so you'd better ask for the timetable from the reception. It's quiet at night.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the garden.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agnes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently took a vacation to Korea to see family and stayed in 5 different hotels through the trip. The facility, (building, dinning rooms, grounds, etc.) were very nice, clean and beautifully kept, BUT the price I paid for the plain and unimpressive rooms was out of balance. We used two rooms and both were less than expected. The people were very friendly and desired to help but when we asked for simple things like, where can I get something to eat late at night, they were no help. As well, we looked into the hotels book of services and restaurant and each time we wanted something, it was unavailable i.e. we went to eat and the restaurant had closed 40 minutes before the book said it was going to close. That happened 3 times. The price was more expensive than what I paid for a downtown Seoul hotel and the rooms were far less appealing. As stated in another review, the beds were firm, as you would expect in an Asian hotel, but is not to my American thoughts of comfort. The location was very far away from everything we wanted to do, but at the time it was one of the only hotels we could find so necessity shot us in the foot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyrizialcah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This hotel is quite Ok, I've stayed a number of times in my visits to Korea. The rooms are good, but the decoration and atmosphere is rather plain.

The beds are firm and nice as you would expect in Asia. The WiFi only works in the lobby, but my wired connection didn't work so a WiFi router was setup for me in my room, good service.

The gym is located in the annex, which is rather inconvienient, but the gym itself is top class. The gym is closed two Mondays a month, so if you're unlucky, like me, you can't always work out as planned which was annoying.

The breakfast is of rather poor quality.

The hotel is very silent, which is good.

A solid, but not perfect choice for Gimpo

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sören
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I went there three time for different meetings in town and had every time a good welcoming experience.
The hotel is clean, big and well organized.
The staff is always supporting and willing, without having the impression they are chasing after tips like in other places. a genuine sense of hospitality!
The suites are OK and reasonably big, despite the fact they are a bit dating.
While in the hotel, i tried the various restaurants and bars proposed and between the breakfast buffet that is huge and nice, one could almost only criticize the late 80's, early 90's look to the place.
The bar in the basement is borderline austere whilst delivering a quality service in a very trendy environment (probably redone recently).
The Italian restaurant is really well set up, nice and presenting really well. the food is well served with style and effort. With the soft ambiance, i recommend a dinner there...
The sport center/facility is brilliant and the driving range next to it is really nice.
TV wise, there are heaps of channels in the rooms, but 95% of them are in Korean and the only foreign channels were Discovery and food travel channels. No news network, English, German, French of any other languages.
Therefor, my reproach is for that type of pricing, you find as good and as nice in other places in time square (Seoul), in spanking new and more trendy establishments.
So unless you are meeting in that part of town, i would privilege a more recently open place.
Otherwise, go there without worries, it is going to be nice.
A bit dated, that's the feeling. (when you travel heaps like me and become a pointillist)

Room Tip: ask for the renovated rooms. smoking or not, makes almost no difference (it smells of smoke)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed here one night while on a layover. The hotel is massive and the overall initial impression is good as you arrive. The room, however, was small, humid and dingy. The bathtub had mould around it and the carpet was so stained you did not dare walk barefoot on it. The provided slippers were not disposible, plastic and certainly preused.
The bed linen was sparkling, that is about the only positive thing I can say about it. Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
3.3 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#357 of 500 in Seoul
54 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stanford Hotel Seoul
Stanford Hotel Seoul
#126 of 500 in Seoul
173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Golden Seoul Hotel
Golden Seoul Hotel
#157 of 500 in Seoul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luce Bridge
Hotel Luce Bridge
#188 of 500 in Seoul
7 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Guro Hotel
1.0 mi away
Royal Square Hotel
Royal Square Hotel
#217 of 500 in Seoul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Hotel

Address: 94, Banghwa-daero, Gangseo-gu, Seoul 07506, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Seoul
#54 Business Hotel in Seoul
#71 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $125 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayfield Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfield Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing