We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Good Location :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul
Ranked #53 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was recommended by my friend. I stayed for 3 nights. Very near namdaemun shopping area in Seoul and within walking distance to City Hall station exit 6. The hotel is very new, so taxi driver had a hard time finding the hotel. As it was a Sunday and most of the pharmacies were closed and so happen that we needed medication badly. The front desk service staff were very helpful that they offered to check for the nearby drug store. Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear. Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the taxi. We will continue to strive to provide our guest with excellent service.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 633 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

First, I am a fan of Fraser group as I liked its modern deco and "service apartment cum hotel" set up. For FP Namdaemun, the first thing I realised was that there is no self-service washing machine available. I was expecting this and was hugely disappointed.
The good:
- location, with walking distance to almost everywhere...if you are up to it.
- there are small cafes, bakery, convenience shops just around the corner
- the Premium room size was good for the family with 2 TV set as the rooms can be separated
- only the Premium room comes with cooking facilities, big fridge and freezer, rice cooker etc.
- The bed was the most comfortable in the 3 hotels we stayed in Korea
- Floor uses laminated wood which is heated...so it feels clean
- The AC/heater can be controlled and this is a plus, it will be good if there is translation (or the system may be spoilt with guest having to press and check out every button and function)
- great team of frontline staff who speaks good English. Especially Ted, who impressed us as being really helpful, personable and always smilling.

The bad:
- No washing machine
- Horrible smelling shampoo (says lavender but smells like old haircream)...they have to do something about this.
- I could only use the soap, but for the 3 nights stay, the house keeping only provided 1 set
- The shower door could not be closed properly and the water just seeps out and wet the floor... this irritates me to no end...especially when the weather is cold.

Note:
We are a family with 2 kids and booked Premium Queen with extra bed. We changed to a Premium Twin, as we were told its 2 double beds... and realised that Twin was 2 single sized beds. The frontdesk staff did not advise that the extra bed is actually using the sofa bed, which was able to sleep 2. In anycase, the sofa bed was hard and uneven. There was no room for additional beds if you do not want to use the sofa bed.
- Seoul's traffic jam is really quite terrible (comparable to Bangkok). The hotel distance may be near to attractions but the taxi fare can be high if you are stuck in the jam around this area, especially high in a Premium cab...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOTRing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear. Guest

Thank you for your detailed review. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We will definitely look into improving the “bad” that you have mentioned. Then, our valuable guest will have a more comfortable stay with us. We will work towards providing our guest with a comfortable and memorable stay with.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

5 minutes walk to subway city hall station, 10 minutes walk to Myeoung dong and 15 minutes cab to all the tourists attractions. I booked the deluxe suite for 2 person which was pretty decent. Superb service, was really impressed by Joy, who works at the front desk. Before arriving, I emailed them and ask if they have an DVD player in the room and they said yes but they didn't have it when i arrived. So, I showed joy the email and he actually asked someone from fraser central to bring over a dvd player so that we could have it the next day and we did. It was very impressive and we had a great stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: 5 minutes walk to subway city hall station, 10 minutes walk to myeoung dong and 15 minutes cab to al...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear. Guest

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with our team members, as our guests good comments are the greatest encouragement and motivation. Also, including myself. We will continue to strive to provide our guest with excellent service.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fraser place for a weekend getaway. So my review is focussing on tourist use. The hotel is very well positioned to all major sights. We never spend more than 10USD for a cab to any place. Very well equipped rooms. We got a spectacular view on the Namdemun gate without asking. Ask for a room facing the gate. Very friendly and helpful front desk. Our deal was about 130$ + tax. Downside: Avoid the breakfast. Not worth 16$. Soggy scrambled eggs, some cereal, some toast, etc. Coffee shops are in walking distance.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HuskyMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 프론트 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear. Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. Regarding the breakfast we will surely pass on your feedback to our Food & Beverage team to seek ways of further improvement. We will continually work towards providing better service to our guest.

We hope to welcome you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall my stay in this apartment is Good and will coming back again!

Location: The hotel is located at the historical Namdaemun area with working distance (10mins) to Myeong-dong, City Hall and Namdaemun Market. The subway station ( City Hall stn) less than 5 mins aways from the hotel entrance. Many eateries are around the hotel so finding food is not an issue at all. Departmental stores are nearby.
It will be good if the airport limousine bus can stop in front of the hotel. Currently you have to walk on the uneven pavement with heavy luggage to reach the hotel.
Many taxi drivers not very sure where is this hotel located even I showed the driver the hotel card.

Room: We stayed 6 nights at Premier room, the room is fully furnished separated living room, kitchen and bedroom. Very spacious and tastefully decorated, clean and well maintained.

Staff and Service: The concierge is very helpful with getting the taxi and show us the directions.
The housekeeping service is perfect, our room is well kept and clean during our stay!
For front desk staff, I would suggest the management should send them for some customer service course to provide better customer service for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene_Thia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 프론트 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear. Ms. Irene

Thank you for staying at the Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind feedback. We will definitely look into improving our front desk service. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have just checked in this hotel in Seoul. I have booked a superior double at about 120 US. Having read so many good reviews, I had high expectation.

BUT the room is so small that there is only narrow walking space at the end of the bed. AND there is only ONE chair beside the desk, one of us has to sit on the bed. There is a dark window, half of it facing the backside of a building with air conditioners hanging, and half facing a parking lot. From the hotel's website photographs of this type of room have not been depicted.

Moreover, the bathroom looks like it is for a handicapped person. Nowhere to put toiletries at all.

I requested a non smoking room, but this room (203) is on smoking floor (2nd to 6th floor are smoking floor). I suppose this has to be the worst possible room.

I asked to change the room, or pay to upgrade, but the reception said I have to wait till the next morning for the manager to come back to work. There was nothing he could do! What service !

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 프론트 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear. Guest

Thank you for your valuable and important comments. The important information that you mentioned we will definitely follow up and educate our staffs for better service. With this opportunity to hear your voice, we will have better services that our guest deserves.

Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The rooms were spacious, well maintained, clean. Not to mention it has excellent location. Less than 10 mins away from most tourist spots, such as myeong dong, city hall etc.

The front desk staff left me with the deepest impression. Not a good one infact. You often get most of them rolling their eyeballs at you, show impatience or frustration when you approach them to ask for simple things like directions or request for their assistance to own down certain address in korean so we can show the cab driver.

There was even an occasion that one of them yelled (yes, yelling) a couple of times at one of their guest "which floor, sir?!!!!!", at the top of her voice from the reception table and let out a noticeable loud sigh of frustration as walks over to the activate the lift for them. And when she returns to the recept, she went "YES?" in my face and gave a look that she really hates her job.

Quite a sight and quite an experience.

If course, not everyone at fraser place was rude and impatient. Some of them were pleasantly polite, just not at the front desk.

Overall, I love the place but I am not too sure if we would want to put ourselves at risk of being yelled at and humiliated in public.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firequake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
남대문, 프론트 매니저 at Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear. Guest

Thank you for sincere comments on us. We respect your expectations at Fraser Place Namdaemun, however the fact that we could not satisfy you, we are sorry for this trouble. As we grow up to be a better hotel, with your comments we will make our standards to a higher level as well.
Sincerely,

Joy Cho
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Insadong
Orakai Insadong Suites
Orakai Insadong Suites
#82 of 500 in Seoul
550 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#3 of 500 in Seoul
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Somerset Palace Seoul
Somerset Palace Seoul
#51 of 500 in Seoul
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul

Address: 58 Sejong-daero, Jung-gu, Seoul 04526, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $97 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing