We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aropa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaza(Seoul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
60
114
50
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
114
50
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallnamdaemun marketfrosted glassmen's saunaonsen stylebathroom wallhour minutesroom was clean and comfortablesafe deposit boxunderground shoppingseoul stationwalking distancedunkin donutskorean fooddeluxe twin roomstay at this hotel againstayed days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 246 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Walking distance to Myeongdong area and one of the Palace. The only problem I had with the room was the use of blinds above the bed. Light could come in through the blinds in the morning which woke us.

Another problem was that the staff couldn't speak much English. I called the reception desk to enquire about the breakfast timing and they couldn't answer at all except to keep speaking in Korean. In the end, we had to miss the breakfast that morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_addict0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Commendable areas:
1. Near Plaza hotel which is a road away from hotel aropa. Hence easy to travel from airport. I took a 7 seater cab with 3 other family members and cost krw 95k.
2. There's many restaurants ard the vicinity.
3. 5 min walk to city hall station.
4. 5 min walk to underground shopping which is linked to myeong dong.
5. Nice comfortable bed and beautiful toilet.. Love it!
6. Cheap considering its location. Although not within myeong dong area.. It is close to the main shopping areas.
7. Very clean hotel

Suggestions for improvement:
1. Receptions were polite but lack the sense of warmth.
2. Breakfast has limited selection and limited quantity!
3. Only 1 free bottle of water in the room.. Very unusual.
4. No free comb.. Toothbrushes etc.
5. The hotel namecard has the hotel location printed but in English. Hence it is not useful at all when tourists took a normal cab. Once I took a cab and the cab went to the wrong place despite having the hotel card with him!
6. The air conditioning does not seem too effective. Very warm at night which makes resting uneasy.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is a good business standard hotel in a very good location tucked away down an alley behind Hotel Plaza and less than 5 mins walk to Westin Chosun. Main shopping area of Myeondong is also a short walk away and Namdaemung market less than 10 mins by taxi. Room size, quality of fittings etc are all good and reliable.
Downside is they overcharge for early check in so don't book if you wish to freshen up before heading out. Next door "mens sauna" looked ominous! Staff do their jobs well but lack any enthusiasm but very little need for communication aside from check in and check out.
One concern might be the construction about to commence next door and completion of another building - both within 50 metres.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleMomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Aropa on February 8, 2014. The location was good though three taxi drivers had difficulty finding it. The service was good. I needed ice for an injury and they brought it up. What keeps me from giving it 4 stars is that it was a non-smoking room that had obviously been "deodorized" resulting in my nose being stuffy all night. When we checked out and I told the staff she didn't seem apologetic at all and acted like it was a regular occurrence. While I know they cannot necessarily control what happens in the room, perhaps they could air it out and act that they cared that it happened.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERDocsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hotel Aropa is one small block away from City Hall metro stop. The area is well located for the metro, it's easy to get taxis. Walk south one block and you are at Namdaemun market and walk east one block you get to an underground shopping plaza that leads to the shopping area of Myeong-Dong. There's a cafe on the ground floor of the hotel, but there are so many great eating places by the hotel you'll be spoilt for choice from local chains and bakeries to international brands and Korean barbecues. The whole hotel was clean, and my room was reasonably sized for an East Asian inner city hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews