We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean, Comfortable”
Review of Hotel ShinShin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel ShinShin
Ranked #16 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern, Clean, Comfortable”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is a great deal! Although our room was very small, it was really comfortable for the 8 nights we stayed there. The bathroom and other fixtures in the room were new, and everything was very clean. We stayed on the top floor and had a great view of the surrounding area. It is very convenient to several different subway lines and stations (City Hall, Myeong-dong, Hoe-hyeon), and we were able to walk to many areas we wanted to visit. I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for something on an upper floor to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkg224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.
We would like to look forward to your next visit with us to give you better serive.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    226
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
234
97
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for one week and enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. The rooms are very clean and thoughtfully planned. The staff is wonderful and was able to answer any questions i had. At first, the hotel is a little hard to find, but it is a great location once you spend a few hours familiarizing yourself with the area. I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Seoul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anderthaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests. Since we opened last year, it was hard for taxi drivers to find our hotel, but I am sure that it is getting better now. Even our singboard helps drivers find us easier than before.

We would like to look forward to your next visit with us to give you better serive.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Walking distance from the shopping area of Myeong-dong.
Great service, friendly staff.

The room is an open bathroom bedroom. The end of privacy! :) But it didn't bother us..
The room was quite small but it had a huge window with nice view.

Have a wonderful trip !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

We would like to look forward to your next visit with us to give you better serive.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a hidden gem from all the rest of Seoul, even locals don't know it exists, therefore finding it could be challenging. It is conveniently located right across from Namdaemun market and just walking distance away from Myeongdong. Metro stations are close by and Airport Transfers are right at the front of the road where the hotel is situated. The room is a bit to the small side but I knew it when I booked it so it didn't come as a surprise. I chose this hotel because it has heated floors and I personally think it's a plus over all the other hotels. If you are travelling in the winter, the floors are heated strong enough that you don't even need air-con/heater.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cangon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

It is glad to hear that you have satisfied with our floor heating system and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Me and my hubby just came back from Seoul trip.it was a pleasant stay at hotel Shin Shin.we have requested to get a king sized bed and late check out.because we travel with one infant. hotel Shin Shin fufil our request which gave us a big bed and late check out.the location was good.can easily walk to myendong and namdaemun area. Their room is clean and bed is comfortable.my baby sleep through the night. the hotel Staff even help us to carry our luggage to airport bus waiting area as we have quite a number of luggage to carry. I Thk it is vy worth to stay at this hotel,will definitely recommend others to stay !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

We are glad that you have satisified with our service and location and do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel restaurant provides decent western food (I ordered risotto) with live band show during lunch time (Jazz). Modern interior design, warm lighting and aveda cleaning product. 5 minutes to myeongdong. In 300 meters, you can find coffee shop, bakery, convenience shop, korean restaurant, airport bus and subway.

One mistake, TV and TV remote is in korean lauguage... can't watch any english channel or subtitle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

We are glad that you have satisfied with food at dinehall with Jazz music. However with regards to your comment on language on TV remote controller, we are sorry but now it is on changing to english for all guest rooms. Sorry that if it has given you any inconvience while your staying. We would like to look forward to your next visit with us to give you better serive.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here with my wife for five nights in May 2014.

Extremely convenient location - 5 minutes walk from City Hall metro station, and 10 minutes from Seoul station. It is also only 10 minutes walk from the lively Myeongdong Street, so restaurants, bars and entertainment are all within easy reach.

The hotel itself was nice and modern. We arrived really early, about 10am. All the reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. They stored our bags for us and said that if we came back at noon we could check in then, which we did.

The room was nice, including the usual amenities, and an ultra-modern toilet with lots of buttons (my favourite!). My only gripe would be that the wi-fi wasn't very reliable and it was hard to get a signal.

Other reviewers have remarked on noise from the building site next door. We were on the second floor, and this didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

After your staying we have upgraded our bath amenities to AVEDA for all guests and new wifi boosters have been in place to provide stable wifi network.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#7 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ShinShin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ShinShin

Property: Hotel ShinShin
Address: 17-5, Namdaemun-ro 5-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04526, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ShinShin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHINSHIN is an original Korean brand faithful to the basics needs of customers, since its establishment in 1964, the hotel has been making relentless efforts to provide its guests with a new experience and ultimate convenience.In April 2013, Hotel Shinshin is opening up a new chapter of its history, living up to its name Shinshin (新新-meaning ‘brand new’). Based on the concept of contemporary modern design, the hotel provides its guests with ultimate convenience and visual interests as well as comfort and coziness during their stay.Hotel Shinshin is located near the City Hall, Myung-dong, Jongro and Doksu Palace-the heart of downtown Seoul, perfect place for business, shopping and tourism. Moreover, being located next to Bank of Korea and Bank of Korea Money Museum, the hotel provided its guests with an ideal setting to relax and wind down after a busy day or a night out in the city. The hotel’s 75 basic, but trendy comfortable guest rooms will fulfill the needs of tourist and business travels and offer impeccable personalized service as well. The hotel will also provide its guest with excellent cuisine at reasonable prices. Hotel Shinshin will bring a breath of fresh air into the city of Seoul with its unique, elaborated service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel ShinShin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing