We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and clean basic room.”
Review of Hotel ShinShin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel ShinShin
Ranked #16 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and clean basic room.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed there with 2 young kids. The room was comfy although small but clean and the bathroom has a separate toilet & small bathtub. The service there was excellent and we loved Ms Jessie Park. She was very helpful, attentive and very kind to the kids. Food wise, we didn't go to their adjacent restaurant as there were many other restaurants nearby.
Once you reach the airport, take the airport bus 6015 (pay the bus driver directly - about Korean won10,000 for an adult) and stop at Naedaemun Market. then take an underground passage to the opposite street where you will see EDIYA COFFEE at the corner. Take the little steep hill up ( which is the road next to the cafe) and you will see Shin SHin hotel on your left after the construction site. Turn to your left, past the restaurant on your right and enter into another entrance where you will find a lift on your left or take the stairs down to B1 - which is where the reception is.
For breakfast if you are not eating at the hotel restaurant, you can go to the bakery opposite the main road - Tous Les Jours.
To get back to the airport, just go down the hill again and there is a small bus Stop sign on your left. Adjacent to Ediya coffee. The bus will come every 10-15 mins. Bus no. 6015.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor and away from the construction. The single bed size is super single size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are extremely grateful to hear your compliment that you enjoyed your time with us.

I would be very happy to make the arrangements for your next stay at Hotel ShinShin.

So please do let me know when you next plan your trip, I will happily assist with you anytime.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    228
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
238
97
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed for a week, taking the airport express train to Seoul Station and walking from there (I only ever travel with hand luggage) in 15 minutes. The location is great but the rooms are quiet, well furnished and comforting; the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful in Korean, Japanese and English, and when the wireless wouldn't work in my room they brought a wifi router that solved the problem. I will stay here every time I come to Seoul from now on.

Room Tip: There is only one lift: I was on the 3rd floor and used the stairs, but you probably wouldn't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pk104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for your compliment that you enjoyed your time with us.

For the matter of WIFI, now we are working on it to improve its quality. Once again, thanks for your kind understanding.

I would be very happy to make the arrangements for your next stay at Hotel ShinShin.

So please do let me know when you next plan your trip, I will happily assist with you anytime.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was stay here for 6 nights. Excellent service and comfortable stay! Ms.Michelle has help me a lot for the booking KTX ticket to busan. She has help me a lot on this. Also, she even send me the map how to use the airport shuttle bus to reach the hotel. It is very convenience, it only cost won10,000 from icheon airport to hotel. If you take cab, it might be cost you not less then won120,000. There is no problem with the wifi services. The room is very clean, new and with a simple modern design. I was book for the deluxe room, the bed is really big! very comfortable sleep. There is a construction site on going, but no worry... that is not a big issues. the sound proof of the room is good enough.
Walk distance to reach myeongdong, and also to the metro station. Hotel will provide a location map. It is very useful and easy to understand. Please ask clearly before you walk to metro station because there is few way for you to reach metro station. If you get the wrong way, it might be a long distance for you to reach. All the staff is very helpful you can ask for their assis.

Room Tip: you can request for the high floor. And it is better if you could request for the double bed. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen_Yong82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jen

It is truly wonderful to read your compliment that you enjoyed your time with us.

I would be very happy to make the arrangements for your next stay at Hotel ShinShin.

So please do let me know when you next plan your trip, I will happily assist with you anytime.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

With all good wishes,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
184 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I arrived to this hotel after more than a fortnight around Korea and this hotel is really what I need: professional staff ( especially Mr Tai Kim was so helpful, kind and professional). Rooms are small but to be Korea, they are wonderful. Location is excellent. Quiet, clean, good design. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are fully grateful to hear that you have satisfied with us.

Your comment is always welcomed to us, let us listen what you liked and how we can improve for future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

loved their service!!! The room we stayed was at the end of the hallway that the central wifi wasn't strong enough to reach. I called the staff and they ran to the room with the wifi router that provided us decent wifi signal in the room. The hotel is located just 200m walk to the airport shuttle. You can reach Myeongdong and Namdaemun within 5-10 min. The hotel restaurant served divine foods and great coffee. The room was very clean and neat. the room service was careful and very tidy. I had no complaints and will definitely go back again!!!.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank greenyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate for your staying with us.

Regarding WIFI issue, now it is planned to be reinforced soon.

Once again thanks again for your opinion, we look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Positives

Very good location.
Clean and neat. Design simple.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Reasonably priced.

Negatives

Entry level room too small, even if reasonably priced. I would think 20 sqm, maybe less. My room was twin bedded, making it appear even more cramped. The washbasin is next to the entrance door because the bathroom is too small to accommodate it.

Couldn't get wifi to work.
No coffee/tea in the room.

Cute little hotel in great location I would return to (booking a significantly larger room). If you book economy this room only works for 1-2 night single occupancies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate for your staying with us.

Regarding WIFI issue, now it is planned to be reinforced soon.

Once again thanks again for your opinion, we look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last May and we had a pleasant stay. The rooms are new and modern and its located near to the subway station. There is a also airport bus that stops less than 500m away. We experienced some problems with the bathroom and the staff rectified the problem and provided one complimentary breakfast to make up for our inconvenience.

Room Tip: Choose the room that is not facing the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We appreciate for your staying with us. Our commitment is to make all of our guests to feel us a home away from home. Thanks also for noticing all of our little details.

We are eager to listen what you liked and how we can improve for future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#11 of 472 in Seoul
1,248 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 472 in Seoul
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#7 of 472 in Seoul
523 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ShinShin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ShinShin

Property: Hotel ShinShin
Address: 17-5, Namdaemun-ro 5-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04526, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ShinShin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHINSHIN is an original Korean brand faithful to the basics needs of customers, since its establishment in 1964, the hotel has been making relentless efforts to provide its guests with a new experience and ultimate convenience.In April 2013, Hotel Shinshin is opening up a new chapter of its history, living up to its name Shinshin (新新-meaning ‘brand new’). Based on the concept of contemporary modern design, the hotel provides its guests with ultimate convenience and visual interests as well as comfort and coziness during their stay.Hotel Shinshin is located near the City Hall, Myung-dong, Jongro and Doksu Palace-the heart of downtown Seoul, perfect place for business, shopping and tourism. Moreover, being located next to Bank of Korea and Bank of Korea Money Museum, the hotel provided its guests with an ideal setting to relax and wind down after a busy day or a night out in the city. The hotel’s 75 basic, but trendy comfortable guest rooms will fulfill the needs of tourist and business travels and offer impeccable personalized service as well. The hotel will also provide its guest with excellent cuisine at reasonable prices. Hotel Shinshin will bring a breath of fresh air into the city of Seoul with its unique, elaborated service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel ShinShin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing