We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service (Nissa) at fortune hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Hongdae Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortune Hongdae Hostel
Ranked #280 of 530 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent customer service (Nissa) at fortune hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was suppose to stay at the hostel for 2 days but end up staying for almost 3 weeks before flying over to Beijing. Nissa, the manager of the hostel was amazing from the begining, she was extremely helpful on providing me information on where to go and what to do in Seoul. I feel that Nissa know Seoul in and out, She also introduce me to her friends during my stay at the hostels to hang out. Her customer service skills over and beyond wonderful. I had a really good time. I like to thanks her so much for making my trip in Seoul pleasant. Fortune hostel is clean, spacious and excellent location in the heart of Hongdae (good party destination). The older sometimes give away free bibimbap. Overall, i believe the hostl is very good value for money and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and spacious, can't go wrong..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
3
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Perfect location to travel around the city during the day and experience the nightlife. Place is affordable and comfy, friendly staff and very helpful with things to do in Seoul. A great place to meet other travelers and make new friends throughout the world. Also, there's lots of restaurants nearby to choose from.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ldinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very nice and clean hostel in a great location Hongdae.Friendly staff and the owner.The free bibimbap was also very nice ,) The most pleasant accomodation I've met for the year traveling !
Recommend to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VladaSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've been travelling a lot, and as a backpacker, I always looking for a cheap place in a good area and I have to except the fact that I can't expect more from it but Fortune Hostel blew me away. I realized the cheap pricing is because they are newly open and on on-going opening promotion. The place is so clean and organize, the bed is comfortable and wide. The best part of this hostel is their staff and the owner which were so friendly and awfully helpful, they even help me arranged my day to day travel itinerary and how to easily get there. Variety of travel guide pamphlet are provided by the hostel. The hostel located in the middle of Hongdae, lots of restaurants, clubs and bars around, shopping area just 5 minutes away and there are not 1 but 3 nearby subway station from the hostel. It gets a lil bit noisy during weekend down the street but still acceptable. The wi-fi connection wasn't good enough on the 6th floor but you can go to the open common area and the speed is excellent there and you can meet other guests there too.

This place is simple but homey, the staff gave me a very good time here, if ever I comeback, I'll definitely come here again.

Room Tip: The 6th floor wi-fi isn't so good and room by the balcony is a lil bit noisy from the street, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eisya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A Very nice guest house, clean and with good beds. Thanks to the staff who is kind, very helpfull and speak a good english. Lot of restaurants, bars, shops ans convenience stores around the guest house. We had a really good time and I strongly recommand that place for all people who want to enjoy nightlife in Seoul.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jérémy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Fisst of all, be aware there there are 2 forune hostels in seoul, the other being the fortune downtown. i was nearly fooled by this. we booked a family room which was described as having it's own bathroom in bookings.com site and it didn't. I was a bit peeved and gave out a little. however, the place was only open a week or so and we seemed to have the place to ourselves. it did not have the facilities of some hostels such as abr and food etc. but the staff could not have been more helpful. the beds were lovely. the bunks seemed wider that the normal. the place is in a really vibrant area and the streets are jammed at the weekend with young people. great atmosphere and loads of restaurants and Bars. Be careful as well of directions on booking.com site. they are too vague. good map on Agoda site. my son is now living in daegu and says that he will return with his mates to this hostel so he was impressed. again, the staff were the big plus in this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Banana Backpackers
#25 of 530 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Fortune Downtown Hostel
Fortune Downtown Hostel
#57 of 530 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Apple Backpackers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sinchon / Ewha
YaKorea Hostel Hongdae
YaKorea Hostel Hongdae
#222 of 530 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Bong Backpackers
#257 of 530 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hongdae Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hongdae Hostel

Property: Fortune Hongdae Hostel
Address: 49, Eoulmadang-ro, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04048, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 530 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortune Hongdae Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s time to stay at “FORTUNE HOSTEL”Everyone is welcome to “FORTUNE HOSTEL”We are offering an affordable and high quality accommodation, with varieties of free services to our guest, as well as necessary information on Korean history and cultureWe are located near Hongik University(Hongdae). One of the hottest location in Seoul.FORTUNE HOSTEL is convenient for transportation. It’s only take you 9 minutes walking from Hongik University Station, Exit No.9 (Subway Line No.2 or Airport Railroad Train Line) and approximately 45 minutes from Incheon and Gimpo Airport by Airport Railroad Train(AREX).Located in the heart of Hongdae, give you great access to enjoy the colorful latest fashion, savoring famous Korean delicacies and to absorb the vibrant and energetic nightlife. Furthermore, you can go to famous places such as City hall, Myeong-dong, Dongdaemun Market, Namdaemum Market, Cheonggyecheon, Insadong etc. easily by taking Subway Line No.2 (to City hall – 10 minutes).We will do our best for our guests by supporting all needed travel information.Now !! Just click on RESERVATION, come and experience “FORTUNE HOSTEL’Get a fortune at Fortune~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fortune Hongdae Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing