We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hostel! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Tommy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Tommy
Ranked #25 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Fantastic hostel with the nicest staff ever!! I had a great time staying here and chatting with the staff!! Made my trip to Seoul much more memorable!

~ K

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
20
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in yellow brick2 for four nights. We love it so much. The staffs here are so kind and friendly. They are always trying their best to solve our problems. And the room is very clean and comfortable. Yellow brick2 is very convenient. It takes only five minutes to neatest Subway station(Jongno 3 ga) which is easy way to get to the tourist place such as gyeongbokgong palace and myeongdong. There are two stores around yellow brick2. And we love the kitchen so much. Because you can make breakfast by yourself and whatever you want. And the hostel also provides free wifi and free international call... It must my first choice if I come to Korea next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racheljiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

YB2 was our home for 16 days. We were welcomed by the various super friendly staff there, Eric, Kim, Avril and DJ. Got to meet Connie, who handled our email booking, but she shipped out to YB1 not too long after that.

What I love about YB2:
- Super friendly staff. Eric actually printed a map, called the nearest pharmacy and then proceeded to write my flu symptoms in Hangul. He even thought ahead and wrote a message for the Pharmacist to contact him for the dosage instructions. Gomapsumnida Eric! Kim is also super duper friendly and she helped us order food when we were not well. Kim, the next trip, you really need to bring us to the Odeng place that is listed as the 7 best in Seoul! Avril, we had quite a nice long chat with her and we're still amazed that she actually has command of 5 different languages!! Thanks also for the sweet message and parting gift. We love it!
- Clean environment with a nice Eomoni cleaning up after us
- Free self service laundry room!!!! This is such a lifesaver for us long term visitors. Less baggage from our country means more shopping done there!! We ended up being about 11Kgs overloaded anyway :S
- Cooking facility - sometimes nothing beats going local like a hot bowl of Ramyun and kimchi. Yummmmmm!
- Open and friendly environment - we made friends with a couple of other visitors. Kim and Thomas, we thank you for the advice and also medication. It was fun chatting during breakfast over a cup of coffee, scrambled eggs and toast.

How much do we love YB2???? We already started planning an Autumn trip, hopefully in August. Virtual cookies to anyone who can guess where we're staying our 2nd trip ;)

Jaljineh seyo YB2! See you soon!

Room Tip: Just drop them an email and they will be able to provide advice and the pricing as well! A quick not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NawruzOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Annyeong haseyo Eric, Avril, Kim, DJ, Connie & Jason,

next Tuesday with our heavy hearts, we will be leaving this lovely Yellow Brick 2 after 16 days of stays. The hospitality is excellent. the location of YB2 is strategic where there is a convenient store just next to it. the facilities in terms of WIFI (free!), laundry (free!), breakfast (free!) are really sufficient for us. You can even buy foods from the store and cook in YB2 as there is a pantry! You can even store your food in the refrigerator provided that you need to label it with your name.

Our trip was a free and easy one. You can simply ask YB2 staffs for suggestion, guidance. They can assist you very well. At times, I need to find a shop that is selling Korean Baseball jersey, and Eric managed to find it and print out the info with direction. Then, one of our members is not feeling well, Eric managed to write it down a necessary note in Hangul for us to bring to the nearest pharmacy (since most of the pharmacians speak Korean) and it went smoothly

We took 4 bed dorm and it is equipped with dedicated bathroom not a typical dormitory that has shared bathroom. Every 2 days our room will be cleaned up by respectful Ahjumma (Kamsahamnida!)

We will miss you guys and this shall not be the end of our adventure. We will come back!

Kamsahamnida *bows down to YB2 staffs*

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nazly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a great time at this hostel because of its excellent location and friendly staff. The hostel was easy to find and was minutes away from a large subway station. Their food and sightseeing recommendations were spot on every time. The room was clean and a fair size for its price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shah alam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 7 days and 6 nights in 2 family rooms . Its my 2nd time in seoul and my first time staying at the guesthouse. I've make reservation since July or August 2013.

The front desk staffs , Connie , Jack and DJ were very helpful during our stay. Even thought we are a big family with 2 small children but it is so comfort as our own home. The room condition also very good and comfortable. Same goes with other services offer such as dobi room , kitchen , wifi , phonecalls ... and its all free.

The location is very strategic and near the subway station ( jongno 3 ga ) and easy to reach to tourist attraction such as gyeongbokgong palace , myeongdong , itaewon and many other places.

Below thw guesthouse there are many restaurants and cafe so food is not a problem. There also 2 mart near the guesthouse that offer varities of fresh foods and snacks. ATM for foreign bank card holder and money exchange also available only 100 meters from the guesthouse.

Overall , I highly recommend the guesthouse for all . I also definately coming back to this guesthouse.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank noraisyahsukimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've come with my friends. We stayed about 5 days and 4 nights. We really enjoy stayed in this place. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room and the bathroom is clean and comfortable for 4 persons to stay, not to small like usually you've got from the budget hostel's room. The location is near from many attractions place and from Jongno 3 subway station. You can make breakfast free and whatever you've want. But there's no elevator, so it's a little make us more tired after sight seeing all day and when you've carrying big luggage. And sometimes the heater is not worked. Overall, me and my friends satisfied staying at Yellow Brick 2.

Room Tip: Room with bathroom is more comfortable than the sharing bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sariwanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Yellow Brick Hostel
Yellow Brick Hostel
#45 of 534 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hostel Korea 11th - Changdeokgung
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Apple Backpackers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel HARU
#18 of 534 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Fortune Downtown Hostel
Fortune Downtown Hostel
#63 of 534 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Insadong
Insadong Hostel
Insadong Hostel
#49 of 534 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Tommy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Tommy

Property: Hostel Tommy
Address: 66, Donhwamun-ro, Jongno-gu | Seoul, Seoul 03134, South Korea (Formerly Yellowbrick 2 Hostel)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Tommy 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located from middle of the Seoul. only 2 min from Jongno3ga subway station, just 5 min from Limousin bus stop. All room have restroom,shower,hair dryer,shampoo,bodywash,TV,refrigerator, air-conditioner,New soft towel. You can enjoy breakfast- coffee, 2 juice, cereal,bread,jam,butter,egg,milk. also You can use all kitchen supply. We have free laundry machine, Pray room for 24hours. You can play pingpong, pocket ball, electric dart. Please come and enjoy Hostel Tommy. Thank you. ^^ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Tommy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing