We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Evening Ghost Walking Tour in Seoul
241

Book in advance
from
$35.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Seoul City Hall
from $35.00
More Info
from $88.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
144
186
86
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
144
186
86
4
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 424 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2019

Seoul has two City Halls, one old and the other new. The Old City hall which was supposed to be built in 1900s has been now converted into a Library. The new one was open in in 2012 and houses most of the government offices along with other Multipurpose halls and cultural centers including Cafes. The new City hall is a multi storied building with glass façade impressing one and all. Visit to this place can be clubbed along with Deoksgung Palace.
This place is in a walkable distance from the City Hall Subway Station.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank RAGHAVENDRA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 24, 2018

A new ultra-modern city hall has been built and opened in just the past 5-6 years, and is located behind the older original (and Japanese-designed) City Hall. The older City Hall has now been converted into a library.

The new City Hall is located behind, and slightly to the right of, the earlier building, and its sweeping facade appears to curve upwards and almost leaning over the much smaller and earlier building. This IS an impressive building, both from the outside, as well as its interiors, which include a gigantic main wall of glass right across the front of the building, and an internal greenery wall of plants that seems to soar ever so high up above you. In front of the two City Halls (the old and the new...) is the huge City Hall Plaza. This open space seems to be used for a variety of public events, outdoor exhibitions, food expos etc. There was a seafoods suppliers exhibition being held at one edge of the large plaza on the day we visited, which gave us an opportunity to sample a couple of seafood plates.

Well worth a visit, and do ENSURE that you don't just view the new City Hall from the outside, but DO go inside and take in the impressive architecture of this building.
You could probably spend upwards of an hour checking out the plaza and new City Hall, but if there is an interesting event being held on the plaza then you might find you can spend much longer there.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ozgwm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

The City Hall, just a short walk from the City Hall metro station, is a beautiful building. However, I would like to mention that in autumn, please do not miss the stone wall adjacent to Exit 1 of the station. It is a scenic spot for portrait photography.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank yipjcs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

As an architecture buff, I found Seoul's City Hall to be a most worthwhile stop. The modern 13-story glass-and-steel building opened in 2012 behind the old, stone city hall, now a library. Designed by You Kerl, the new building resembles a huge wave but borrows from elements of traditional Korean houses, such as the roof structure. Eco friendly, its features include a geothermal plant and rainwater for the cooling system.

Home for city government offices, the building also welcomes the general public for free in many areas. I started on the first floor and marveled at the vertical garden that climbs the inner wall to the seventh floor. Consisting of tens of thousands of plants, the garden was the largest in the world when the building opened. Its lower part, which I could see clearly, however, needs to have brown leaves removed. An art installation, "Metaseosa Seobeol," appears just inside the entrance by the garden. Its myriad white balloons represent Seoul's turbulent history, but the creation reminded me of giant grapes.

I took the glass elevator to the ninth-floor cafe, where artwork was displayed. Many people sat at small tables, drinking coffee or looking at phones. Two locals invited me to join them and shared many interesting stories about their city and its history.

Later, I descended to the basement level's
multipurpose space, which includes art exhibitions and design shops. I especially liked the glassed-in archaeology hall that exhibits items from the Joseon dynasty found during excavation of the site. A visitor information desk at this level had an English-speaking woman, who gave me details about the area in general.

Seoul City Hall offers a convenient stop for those visiting nearby Deoksugung Palace. The building is at the City Hall metro stop.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

The original Seoul City Hall, built in 1925 is an example of Imperial Crown Style architecture and served as city hall until 2008. It is now the Seoul Metropolitan Library. It is completely overshadowed by the imposing new City Hall which is often described as looking like a tsunami made of glass and steel.

I was staying at the Plaza hotel just across the square so I saw it both by day and by night in all its glory. And at night it was very colourful indeed, changing colours what appeared to be every few minutes. And by day it seemed to attract all sorts of protesters making noisy demonstrations about a range of mainly local issues. In fact in the week I stayed in this city one gets a very strong impression that Koreans like to shout, wave banners and generally make a lot of noise. Thank goodness that my hotel room had good sound protection.

By the way, in the basement of the City Hall are a number of nice exhibitions, some of which I could vaguely understand...

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews