We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, free wireless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Ranked #12 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super location, free wireless”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Make this your main HQ for your Seoul mission. Great location, steps away from the train station. Exit 10 from Myeong-Dong station. From this station, going to anywhere is close by. Since this hotel is at Myeong-Dong, you'll be able to find late night snacks when you return from anywhere. Going back to airport is convenient as airport limo stop is at Exit 10 of Myeong-dong station. As The Grand Hotel is located away from the main street, it's much peaceful then Sejong.

As it's my wife birthday and I've inform them before hand. They're prepared Wine for us to celebrate her birthday.

The wireless is free and fast. Connects easily without any problem.

For ladies, the toiletries are Innisfree, a brand of Korean skincare product that's natural and pretty good. Made from Jeju green tea.

Only 2 issue when I was here, as it's still cold, the aircon is default to heat. There's no way to change this, we'll have to open the window to cool down the stuffy room.
This bring to problem 2, as I'm staying at room 702, it was facing the construction site. Therefore during morning when they're working the window is left close.

These are all minor issue since we're usually out till late night.

Room Tip: Face away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maqius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear maqius,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the wine we prepared for your wife. Happy birthday! Regarding the issues, we promise we will make every effort to make necessary improvements. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    156
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
154
130
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed there for 3nights.

For sure, the location is fantastic enough to go to anywhere you want.
Narrow corridor, annoyinh noise filtered into my room from another and
construction spot view were very weird to me.
I'm confident that it's not a four star hotel.
I regret that I was fooled by the rate of on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virtualtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear virtualtalk,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. I would like to assure that we take your feedback seriously and will make every effort to make necessary improvements. We hope you reconsider The Grand Hotel Myeongdong in the future. We will do our best to make up for the inconvenience caused.

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. It is right next to myeongdong shopping area, you don't really expect to see it where it is as it's amongst small shops and stores. Myeongdong metro station is right around the corner which is very convenient.The airport bus drops you off close to the hotel but I would recommend getting a map of the Myeongdong area before arrival as its a big block of narrow streets that all seem the same to a firstcomer. The staff were very helpful, welcoming, polite and always had a smile on. The room was smaller than I expected but had a walk-in cupboard so luggage did not get in the way and that frees up lots of space. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geotravel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Geotravel F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad that you enjoyed our service and accommodation. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had a fantastic time during my stay in The Grand Hotel
Location was good and it was near to the metro station Myeongdong.
The airport bus station is also very near to the hotel location.
I will definitely return to stay with The Grand again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Sharon L,

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a wonderful review on tripadvisor.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

hotel with the perfect location! walking distance 2 metro stations serving to different lines.. NANTAS Theatre... cable car station leading to N Seoul Tower.. Namdaemun Market.. with night market, countless shops, restaurants & money changers at the door steps, there's no need to travel far at all! Ideal for tourists with walking problems as travelling around Seoul means plenty of steps & stairs, here basically solve that problem! Staff were friendly & always ready to help...rooms were clean & its probably the best scented hotel I've ever stayed! Yes, the soothing fragrance awaits you right from the hotel entrance!! Will definitely stay again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Cannie G,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and leaving us a wonderful review! We are very glad that you enjoyed our service and accommodation. We are also over the moon to hear that you described us as the best scented hotel since we devoted so much effort to selecting the aroma used in our hotel. Your review is so cheerful and inspiring! Please let us know the next time you visit Seoul as we would like to make your stay as memorable as first!

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

First time to try this newly opened hotel - Grand Hotel Myeongdong - their service is so good and hotel staff are all so friendly and helpful.
Hotel location is very good, right at the main shopping street at Myeongdong.
I enjoyed the breakfast time there, food quality is good.

If you have done too many shopping, hotel can help you to arrange EMS courier to your home. Wonderful. ^o^

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear aomori,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and it is wonderful to hear that your experience was a positive one! Since we know that a lot of our guests love shopping, we are always more than happy to help you with EMS. We hope to see you again in the near future!

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location, very clean rooms almost brand new. Toilets are just like in Japan with automatic everything. Lovely and courteous staffs. I asked for an adapter plug and they asked me how many do I need, no other hotel have ever asks me this,I said 2 n prompt came the smiling house keeping staff. I had just spend a night in savoy, book the room thru an unfriendly staff at the incheon airport hotel reservation counter. Airport hotel reservation counter have very limited number of hotels that they do the bookings. There's no compararison.. Savoy is just too old , horrible a/c, bad bathroom. Staffs were good though pretty we'll English,but more expensive than this Grand hotel. I just love it here. Have extended a night too.
Thank you beautiful people at the Grand . Pls keep up the good work.
Don't worry they all speak good English here
Cons?! Yes,the two single beds in my delux twin room are comfortable but could be wider.
Jan 5th-7th 2014.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank freebird_369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear freebird_369,

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a wonderful review on trip advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff is truly our greatest asset and we are so happy that they were able to make you happy. Please visit us again as we would like to make your second stay as memorable as first!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#11 of 472 in Seoul
1,251 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#7 of 472 in Seoul
561 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#17 of 472 in Seoul
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#1 of 472 in Seoul
219 reviews
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#3 of 472 in Seoul
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Property: The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Address: 38, Myeongdong 8ga-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04537, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel Myeongdong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in February 2013, we, The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, are ideally situated in the shopping district of Myeongdong; we are just steps from Myeongdong Subway Station (100m, 1minute walking). Including our 50 guest rooms with aesthetic designs, we have prepared a rooftop garden, business center and restaurant that are guest-friendly to satisfy our guests. We promise to do our best to ensure our guests enjoy a memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing