We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and convenience accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Ranked #12 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenience accommodation”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

There are very friendly staff and delicious breakfast served at restaurant.
Especially,I can not forget Mr.Lim's hospitality.
Very nice room and comfortable beds were always waiting for me.
I love this hotel.
Because the metro station is near, it is convenient for sightseeing in Seoul.
And it is also convenient to visit Namdaemun market and Myeongdong cathedral because it is the distance that can walk.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank S1000R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear S1000R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad that you enjoyed our service and accommodation. We are also happy that you were well taken care of our staffs. Mr. Lim was very happy reading your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    156
    28
    8
    0
See reviews for
153
130
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good location, good price, large room, nice staff and handsome boss. what do you expect for more.... very recommended....

Room Tip: Sky bar and gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NivlaC321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear NivlaC321,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and it is wonderful to hear that your experience was a positive one! We are glad that you enjoyed our accommodation and service. We wish every success and happiness in your family. Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Service is awesome!!!
Location is very convenient!! Airport bus stop only 3minute walk from here,subway stop also!!
7-11 just around the corner!!

Price is good!!

Next time it will still be my first choice!!! Can't waitttttt

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nell0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Nell0210,

Thank you for sharing your kind words on tripadvisor! We are very glad that you enjoyed our service and location. We wish every success and happiness in you and your family. Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is ideally located within Myungdong famous stetch of shoppings malls, shops, restaurants, cafes - the works!. Though situated in a very very bustling part of Seoul, it is surprisingly tranquil, serene, well managed, totally new & well located(Blue line)!.

The room/s are well furnished & stock. Coffee(Kanu), jasmine & green tea, small refrigerator, LED telly & well blend of toiletries that are replenish daily. The beds are comfy though the pillows are slightly 'soft' to my liking but everything is clean & new condition. Stayed at room 606 - 2xsuper single beds. Ample room for luggage storage. Before this trip/stay, my preferred choice wud hv been Metro hotel(another hotel within Myeongdong but located nearer to the Green line) but after my experience, I wud top marks to The Grand. The room/s may be smaller as compared to Metro & of course pricier but it's worth it for the amenities provided for in the rooms & within the hotel compound. There's also a launderette located at the basement for use by its guest - (though not free, it's still useful). Top floor(8th) has a small but pleasantly open space where it seems one can get 'peace' & be at ease. It's a lovely place to relax & hv a cuppa to enjoy the cool Dec weather. The reception & staff were efficient, friendly & go abt their job professionally well & thoroughly helpful!. There's free wifi(works extremely well) & on ground floor, 3-4 sets of terminals for u to surf & catch up on everything.

Getting to this hotel fm Incheon int'l airport is a breeze. Airport bus 6015 fm Airport to Sejong hotel(journey takes approx. 1hr 20-30mins). It's the last stop within Myungdong vicinity. Once u alight, turn left & walk for 5metres & turn right into a small lane. Walk to the end till u reach a 7-11 convenient store & turn left for another 10 metres & The Grand is on yr left!. The Blue line is behind The Grand(just further down the road fm where u alight the airport bus at Sejong hotel). When ur out fm the hotel, turn left & walk down past the row of shops(maybe 7-8metres) & hit left towards the main road. Once u reached, turn left & walk another 5-6metres, u'll arrive at the entrance down to the subway(Blue Line). Tour les Jous is just infront of this entrance on yr left.

Tip: Get a map fm the reception counter - map of Myungdong is very comprehensive & most importantly, it wl hv The Grand Myungdong indicated in it. Most tourist maps do not indicate the location for this hotel.

To conclude, though the price is a little more than say, Metro or Ibis or Savoy, this little gem within the very bustling & crazy madness that's associated with Myungdong is truly worth a try!. It gives one a feel of tranquil once u stepped into it!. It was our oasis for 7 nites & I wish the same for everyone who choose The Grand Myungdong - past & new ... Cheers!

Room Tip: get a map fm the reception counter. It gives a very comprehensive detailed map of Myungdong & it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank virgopq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear virgopq,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are over the moon to read your positive comments. A review like yours is so inspiring. We are very thrilled to hear that you loved our amenities as well since we made every effort to choose our amenities thinking of our guests. We are continuously trying our best to better update our amenities. We wish every success and happiness in your family. See you again and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The fresh smell of pinewood greets you as you open the door to your room. The decor is clean though the amount of space in the room can be an issue. While it is sufficient, a family of 3 or 4 might find moving around the room a little difficult. My family of three stayed in a 'family room' with 2 queen-sized beds. The spread at breakfast is limited though it is more than made up for in terms of quality.

The best things about this hotel are:

1) It's location in Myeong Dong, just minutes away on foot from shopping, great food and the subway station.

2) The free laundromat service at the basement (washing machine and dryer). You can bring your own detergent or buy it from the dispenser on site at a reasonable price of KRW1000.

3) The great bathroom products from Innisfree.

4) Friendly staff who never fail to greet guests with a smile.

We stayed here for 6 nights and would put this establishment at the top of our list for our next trip to Seoul.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brnrdlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear brnrdlw,

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed our service. Also, we are over the moon to hear that we are at the top of your list for your next trip to Seoul! Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Location is great, right next to the bustling myeongdong district where there is loads of shopping and street food.

Underground train is just round the corner for easy access to the rest of the city. Within walking distance of attractions like the palace and Seoul tower.

Hotel facilities are basic, but very clean and user friendly. Wifi coverage is great (signal per room!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Phil L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our location and service. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I had a great time at the Grand hotel. We picked it because it was new and it met our expectations. The rooms were ok in size and the location was convenient, near the subway, food and shopping. The basement laundromat was really helpful after days of traveling and the lovely lady who cleans that floor would help even help to take stuff out of the dryer etc if you don't come back on time.

The counter staff was always helpful too. The only issue I had was with booking. I emailed the hotel directly because I had a problem accessing the website but it was tough communicating via email. My email trail was amazing to secure two rooms. My greatest fear was that someone would misunderstand and thus mess up my bookings! Fortunately all was well and we had a great stay.

They have good bathroom products from Innisfree and bathroom was spacious. I thought the rooms were ok too having moved to a smaller and older hotel later.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank wans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear wans123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share details of your stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed our accommodation and service! Please note that once a reservation is confirmed, we always send out a confirmation e-mail. As long as you get one, you don’t need to worry about whether your reservation is confirmed. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#11 of 472 in Seoul
1,251 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#7 of 472 in Seoul
559 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#17 of 472 in Seoul
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#1 of 472 in Seoul
216 reviews
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#3 of 472 in Seoul
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Property: The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Address: 38, Myeongdong 8ga-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04537, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel Myeongdong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in February 2013, we, The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, are ideally situated in the shopping district of Myeongdong; we are just steps from Myeongdong Subway Station (100m, 1minute walking). Including our 50 guest rooms with aesthetic designs, we have prepared a rooftop garden, business center and restaurant that are guest-friendly to satisfy our guests. We promise to do our best to ensure our guests enjoy a memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing