We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Soo Guest House is a perfect place to stay for life”
Review of Soo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soo Guesthouse
Ranked #46 of 592 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very cozy, comfortable, clean, warm, the interior is like in a fairy tale; the breakfast is very delicious and the owner is very kind and always wants to help you. The location of the guest house is very convenient – in the middle of the town and close to the most famous tourist sites.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DobrotoSilve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great location worth for all money..
like stay at home
very clean room and comfort
Close to subway station myeongdong and shopping district.easy to go everywhere.
Owner are superb welcome and servicd

only negative thing I can thought is too small towel ^_^

I sure to stay here again if I go to seoul

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We traveled for 4 months, and this is the best place we've stayd in, clean, comfey, warm, delicious breakfast, the owner is very kind and made our stay fantastic! The location is just perfect, 5 min walk to airport bus drop off/pick up,shopping street, market, subway.
We landed at 6am and check in time is 2pm. We were supposed to bring our bag to store there until check in. When we arrived about 8:30am. The owner greeted us and took our bags straight to the room, and offered us breakfast, that was the best because we were tired and cold, and the hot tea and the warm floor hit the spot! He also gave us a map.

We recommend this place! Made our time in amazing South Korea even better!

Gal from Israel

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galtravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

spent 6 nights in Soo guesthouse.Location is splendid as it's right in myeongdong,less than 5 mins to the station & main shopping area..the hospitality given from the owner was great.He was a friendly,helpful guy who even made a cup of citron tea when i was down with a cold.The guesthouse,though was compact and small but the facilities were more than adequate.Fast wifi,daily breakfast,basic amenities ....it all got it.I had been travelling to korea every year & for sure,i will be staying in Soo guesthouse without hesitation..Thanks so much for the kindness given :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank edgychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The place is convenient and accessible as it is near the subway, Myeong dong shopping district and Namsan park, N Seoul Tower. The decoration and setting of the guest house is cute and homely. Mr Ryu is really helpful and kind. He helped us with our luggages and gave us tips on getting around Seoul. Overall satisfaction. With the great service and location, Soo Guesthouse is definitely value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurul_Farahdila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

when one usually looks for accommodation on the internet, some places actually look better in pictures than the real thing. however, with soo guesthouse, the pictures are exactly how they look in real life! i took a lot of pictures of this cute guesthouse (though i may only be able to share a few) as i really loved this place!

situated right across the myeongdong shopping district, you will never go wrong with its location. as with the pictures though, you will see that one will need to climb a few flight of stairs to reach it. also, the second floor rooms can only be climbed thru stairs so as an advice, you may want to bring only small luggage/bags that may be carried up easily.

from incheon international airport, you may take the airport train (AREX) until seoul station (about 50 mins.) then transfer to line 4 (light blue line) from seoul station to myeongdong station (3 mins.) then go out exit 3 then turn left towards pacific hotel. follow the road left of pacific hotel (when facing it) until you reach dubu restaurant on your right. on your left is the alley going up soo guesthouse.

mr. ryu, the proprietor, is very accommodating as i arrived at around 11 PM already. just advise him ahead thru email if you're going to arrive after 10 PM and he'd be happy to wait for your arrival.

my room was small as i travelled alone but it was really clean and organized. i was also very satisfied and happy with the toilet's cleanliness as it's one of the things i look for in any room. given that soo guesthouse is a transient-type of a guesthouse, i couldn't be more happier with the complimentary body wash, shampoo, rinse and toothpaste. there's also facial tissues aside from the bathroom tissues (which one usually overlooks to buy before checking-in) and it was really a big thing for me. plus they also provided a hair dryer in each room.

each room also has its own flat screen TV and small refrigerator. the rooms are also painted with happy colors and decorated with small, cute knickknacks that make the room feel warmer! and speaking of warmth, the heated floor is especially awesome during winter time.

breakfast is from 8-10 AM. during my first day of stay, breakfast consisted of milk, juice, breads, jam, cream cheese spread, cup noodles and some orange and apple slices. second day breakfast even had kimbap! :)

for dinner, since the location is right across myeongdong, there are myriads of restaurants and eateries you can choose from. right along the street going to soo guesthouse, there's a restaurant which says all of their food orders may be packed and taken out. i always wanted though, to buy some good ddeokbokki from an ahjumma's stall inside the myeongdong underground shopping center just before you go out from exit 3.

soo guesthouse is probably one of the best, if not, the best guesthouse in seoul! your stay is definitely worth the affordable price. the owners are very warm, kind and helpful and they won't hesitate to help you in any way they can. seoul will stay with you when you stay in soo guesthouse especially when you are able to see N seoul tower right from their terrace!

i'll be going back to seoul soon and i'm definitely staying in soo guesthouse again!

Room Tip: you may opt to bring small luggage/bags as you need to climb a few flight of stairs on the way to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arashiwantsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Soo Guesthouse is the perfect place to be chosen during the trip in Seoul. First of all - the great location! It's in 2 minutes from the underground station and the central commercial street 명동. In the second place - it's clean, friendly, comfortable and nice decorated. A lot of good words for its manager - he is the best! During my next trip to Seoul I'll choose this guest-house for sure)))

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lampochka914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Studio 41st Hostel
Studio 41st Hostel
#31 of 592 in Seoul
216 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
Time Travelers Party Hostel
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hostel HARU
Hostel HARU
#10 of 592 in Seoul
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Blueboat Hostel Myeongdong
B My Guesthouse
#39 of 592 in Seoul
66 reviews
Hongdae
Easytrip Guesthouse
Easytrip Guesthouse
#13 of 592 in Seoul
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soo Guesthouse

Address: 25-28, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04629, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 592 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $46 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Soo Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soo guest house is located in the heart of Seoul.Many tourist attractions are near by, a walking distance to Myeongdong, Namdaemoon market and N Seoul tower. The subway station is 2-3 minutes away from our guest house which allows you to easily travel to other famous attractions such as Insa-dong, Old palaces and Dongdaemoon market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Soo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing