We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, location and value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Soo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soo Guesthouse
Ranked #47 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, location and value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The place is convenient and accessible as it is near the subway, Myeong dong shopping district and Namsan park, N Seoul Tower. The decoration and setting of the guest house is cute and homely. Mr Ryu is really helpful and kind. He helped us with our luggages and gave us tips on getting around Seoul. Overall satisfaction. With the great service and location, Soo Guesthouse is definitely value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurul_Farahdila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

when one usually looks for accommodation on the internet, some places actually look better in pictures than the real thing. however, with soo guesthouse, the pictures are exactly how they look in real life! i took a lot of pictures of this cute guesthouse (though i may only be able to share a few) as i really loved this place!

situated right across the myeongdong shopping district, you will never go wrong with its location. as with the pictures though, you will see that one will need to climb a few flight of stairs to reach it. also, the second floor rooms can only be climbed thru stairs so as an advice, you may want to bring only small luggage/bags that may be carried up easily.

from incheon international airport, you may take the airport train (AREX) until seoul station (about 50 mins.) then transfer to line 4 (light blue line) from seoul station to myeongdong station (3 mins.) then go out exit 3 then turn left towards pacific hotel. follow the road left of pacific hotel (when facing it) until you reach dubu restaurant on your right. on your left is the alley going up soo guesthouse.

mr. ryu, the proprietor, is very accommodating as i arrived at around 11 PM already. just advise him ahead thru email if you're going to arrive after 10 PM and he'd be happy to wait for your arrival.

my room was small as i travelled alone but it was really clean and organized. i was also very satisfied and happy with the toilet's cleanliness as it's one of the things i look for in any room. given that soo guesthouse is a transient-type of a guesthouse, i couldn't be more happier with the complimentary body wash, shampoo, rinse and toothpaste. there's also facial tissues aside from the bathroom tissues (which one usually overlooks to buy before checking-in) and it was really a big thing for me. plus they also provided a hair dryer in each room.

each room also has its own flat screen TV and small refrigerator. the rooms are also painted with happy colors and decorated with small, cute knickknacks that make the room feel warmer! and speaking of warmth, the heated floor is especially awesome during winter time.

breakfast is from 8-10 AM. during my first day of stay, breakfast consisted of milk, juice, breads, jam, cream cheese spread, cup noodles and some orange and apple slices. second day breakfast even had kimbap! :)

for dinner, since the location is right across myeongdong, there are myriads of restaurants and eateries you can choose from. right along the street going to soo guesthouse, there's a restaurant which says all of their food orders may be packed and taken out. i always wanted though, to buy some good ddeokbokki from an ahjumma's stall inside the myeongdong underground shopping center just before you go out from exit 3.

soo guesthouse is probably one of the best, if not, the best guesthouse in seoul! your stay is definitely worth the affordable price. the owners are very warm, kind and helpful and they won't hesitate to help you in any way they can. seoul will stay with you when you stay in soo guesthouse especially when you are able to see N seoul tower right from their terrace!

i'll be going back to seoul soon and i'm definitely staying in soo guesthouse again!

Room Tip: you may opt to bring small luggage/bags as you need to climb a few flight of stairs on the way to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arashiwantsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Soo Guesthouse is the perfect place to be chosen during the trip in Seoul. First of all - the great location! It's in 2 minutes from the underground station and the central commercial street 명동. In the second place - it's clean, friendly, comfortable and nice decorated. A lot of good words for its manager - he is the best! During my next trip to Seoul I'll choose this guest-house for sure)))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lampochka914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Soo Hotel is located right in the heart of a busy shopping district. The manager is super kind and friendly. The room was small but efficient with a good bed. The free breakfasts were good: fruit, toast, cornflakes, yoghurt, and coffee. But the best part was the easy location; it's surrounded with shopping and good restaurants and close to the MRT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommytompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have planned this Seoul trip with my best mate 2 months ago, and we spotted on Soo Guesthouse as we saw the photos of the nicely decorated rooms. When I first arrived at Soo Guesthouse, it is no question that Soo Guesthouse is a new, clean and homey guesthouse from its outlook. I really love the paintings all over the guesthouse, thumb up for this! Also, the location is good, it is close to Myeongdong station exit 2 or 3, with around 5 minutes walking distance, and you can even enjoy the nice view of N-tower at the terrace in both day and night!

We had a twin room close to the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy in the morning when Mr. Ryu and Ms. Yu were preparing breakfast for us, but it was acceptable as everybody in the guesthouse are friendly and keep the noise at minimum. The room is tidy and clean, although it is not spacey as hotel, but we can still manage to open out luggage every night and pack our shopping goods :)

The breakfast prepared by Mr. Ryu and Ms. Yu is healty and yummy - gimbab, bread with butter and jams, fresh juice, milk and fruits! What's more, Mr. Ryu is a very nice host and he treated us with sashimi, margali (traditional korean rice wine) and fruits at night when we chatted at terrace!

The only concern is payment with credit card, it is shown in booking.com that credit cards are accepted, but when we arrived at guesthouse, we were told that cash payment would be more 'preferable', so I ended up exchanging extra money to pay cash (as we have spent a lot at shopping already......)

Overall, it was a very nice experience at Soo, and really thanks for Mr. Ryu, Ms. Yu and Mr. Pak (M. Ryu's cousin) for their great hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aries Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had 3 double rooms - rooms were clean and the owners were very hospitable. Rooms were not big but comfortable. Aircon works well and toilets are clean.
Breakfast was very healthy - choice of cornflakes, toast, fresh fruits and fruit smoothies made by owner's wife. Some local delights were thrown in the cosy kitchen.
There is a open balcony for group chit chat.
The guesthouse is cleaned 3 times a day and so feels really clean and good.
The owners were very helpful with information and direction to places to shop and eat etc.
Soo Guesthouse is conveniently located near the train station and short walk to Myeongdong shopping area and Shisagae Dept Store. Restuarants are also plentiful within walking distance.
Highly recommended for anyone visiting Seoul

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ST1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

There is no question with regards to the location of this guesthouse. Just a few steps from the myeondong subway station and the myeondong fashion district. Also, the place is very clean and tidy. One of our concern is it does not accept credit card. Also, our grandmother had difficulty climbing up to the guesthouse since it is situated uphill.

Overall, It was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soogh, 오너 at Soo Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We have recently opened for business and we were still under a process of getting an approval for credit card payment/billing service. Now the process has been completed and we definately accept and welcome all credit cards. We regret that we did not get a chance to advise you and explain our position about this matter at the time of your visit.
I am sorry to hear about your grandmother having difficulties getting up to the guest house, it is an issue of regional characteristic (as are located on the way to Namsan and N Seoul Tower) we kindly ask for your understanding.
Hope you have enjoyed your visit in Korea and wish you and your family all the best in the future! :)
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
B My Guesthouse
#51 of 534 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Zaza Backpackers Hostel
#37 of 932 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Namsan Guesthouse 2
#19 of 534 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starria Hostel
#71 of 932 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Blueboat Hostel Myeongdong
Hongdae
Studio 41st Hostel
Studio 41st Hostel
#23 of 534 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soo Guesthouse

Property: Soo Guesthouse
Address: 25-28, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04629, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Soo Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soo guest house is located in the heart of Seoul.Many tourist attractions are near by, a walking distance to Myeongdong, Namdaemoon market and N Seoul tower. The subway station is 2-3 minutes away from our guest house which allows you to easily travel to other famous attractions such as Insa-dong, Old palaces and Dongdaemoon market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Soo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing