We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay”
Review of Hotel Icon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Icon
Ranked #108 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed for a week at Hotel Icon recently. On arrival, we found out that there was a miscommunication and we had to go for a smaller room during the first night. That was definitely not the start we were looking for. However, the owner of the hotel came over and recovered the situation. Some goodwill was offered and we appreciated the gesture. I will just get to the other key points.

Location : Central, in terms of proximity to the various tourist-must-go-to spots. The hotel is within walking distance of the Changdeogung, Bukchon Hanok Village, Insadong. For the rest, they are a few stops via Anguk Metro station. By the way, the hotel also sells T-Money cards so you can get them there if you so wish. The picture guide to the hotel (as listed on their website) from Anguk station is very useful as we could find our way quite easily using the guide. There are a few turns along the way but the picture guide is quite detailed. You just need to follow their guide the first time and it will be a breeze subsequently.

Price : Very competitive, if you compare to similar hotels in Seoul. For rooms of this size and the location, it’s pretty hard to beat.

Room : We chose the triple room as we had 2 young kids. It was sufficient for us, since we were out the whole day.

Service : We understand that situations occur, but it is how service recovery is carried out which is important. The owner managed the miscommunication incident well and we give credit for that. On the second day, the owner drove us to Myeondong in the morning (that saved us some travelling time) and also recommended a nice gyoza eatery (very useful). On the third day, another lady drove us to the trick eye museum (also very kind of her). During our last night, the owner invited us to their dinner but we declined as we had already made other arrangements (but we appreciated their gesture). All in all, as the other reviewers mentioned, the hotel owners provide exemplary service to their customers. They definitely make it a point to go beyond what is normally expected of hotel stays.

Overall : The hotel provides a very good balance in all material aspects and we are happy we stayed there for our first visit to Seoul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuybrushTripwould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guybrush Tripwould

Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful comments with the deep interest.
It is my pleasure that you've got impressed during stay.
We will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide our guests with great service by showing proactive attitude.
Your valuable comments regarding stay at the Hotel Icon as a senior reviwer on Tripadvisor is indeed an immense honour.
We sincerely appreciate your effort to write fabulous review on the Tripadvisor again
I extend the very best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Icon in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    101
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
84
105
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My family including my 2 kids stayed there for about a week. The hotel owners, Mr and Mrs Baek, made our stay very enjoyable. Specifically, when my kids arrived at the hotel, they were throwing tantrums, and Mrs Baek gave them toys and cookies, which pacified them immediately. Also, she willingly drove us to Lotte world, a popular ginseng chicken restaurant and Myeongdong.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yuen Main L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Yuen Main

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
We will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide our guests with great service by showing proactive attitude.
Your children love lotte world very much. so your family came back to our hotel very late to enjoy Lotte world.
I hope your previous stay and experience will bring you back to our hotel.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 8 nights at Hotel Icon. Seldom stay that long in one place when traveling. Seoul kept us busy for 8 days. The strategic location of Hotel Icon was perfect to enjoy everything from baseball games, food alleys, markets and palaces. Subway is just down the road for longer trips, and palaces and great food are within walking distance. The owners are fantastic!! We enjoyed a meal of topokki at Topokki Alley with the owners. Mrs. Jung even made us a traditional Korean desert when we returned to the hotel. Will be back for sure.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fortyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Fortyguy

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
I was much pleased to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel.
We will continue to provide most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.
It is unbelievable for you who is American to eat well very spicy topokki at topokki alley.
I think you really liked topokki.
I hope your previous stay and experience will bring you back to our hotel.
Once again thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Icon and taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is our 1st time in Korea. We stayed at Hotel Icon just under 1 week. the hotel is situated a street away from Insadong shopping district.
Palaces, Jogyesa Temple are within walking distance to the hotel. Anguk train station is just 5 mins walk.
Hotel room and lobby is modern and clean.
We stayed in a double room, the size is small but enough for a family of 3 and luggages.
Service is absolutely execptional, the owner were not there when we arrived. They personally welcomed us the following evening and gave us a fruit platter. The owners are very helpful showing us directions and shortcuts around the area. They even invited us and a few other guests to a homemade dinner 1 night. Breakfast is included.
On the day we left Seoul, the traffic were all blocked up around Insadong due to a massive demostration. Our pre-arranged transport couldn't get into the hotel, the young hotel receptionist helped us carried our luggages through the back streets to get to a place where we can catch a taxi. A huge thank you to the young guy.
One other advantage with staying here is that, you can walk to several attractions to burn time during the morning peak traffic hours. I do not recommend anyone using public transport between 7am to 9:30am in the morning.

I will definitely stay at Hotel Icon again on my next visit to Seoul and thank you for the great service.

Room Tip: Email the the hotel to check vacancies and room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iquiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Iquiax

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
It is my pleasure that you've got impressed during stay.
I am extremely glad to hear that you had nice staying with us.
I am sure that this valuable feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We will do our best to provide most impeccable service to our guests.
I hope your previous stay and experience will bring you back to our hotel.
We sincerely appreciate your effort to write fabulous review on the Tripadvisor again

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I left my eyeglasses (which is rather special to me) in the hotel and found out only when i got home. I emailed Mr Jung and requested that the room we occupied be checked for said item. He immediately replied that they found my eyeglasses and through series of e-mails, i was able to arrange for its return. a big big thank you for the help Mr Jung!

for budget travelers like myself, this is the hotel for you. it's close to restos both Korean and western. for the more adventurous, there are many street food offered nearby. there are convenience stores few steps away from the hotel where you can by some personal items. its proximity to the subway station makes going around Seoul a breeze. it is also close to must-visit touristy places like geongbokgung & chandeokgung as well as shopping areas like insadong.

the rooms are small but these are no different from hotel rooms in Hong Kong. rooms has an ensuite, has AC units for summer months and underfloor heating or "ondol" for the cold months. room supplies are replenished everyday and there are bottled water waiting for your return.

choosing Hotel Icon was a good decision! thank you once again Mr Jung!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ninz0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Ninz

We very much appreciate your valuable comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
I am extremely glad to hear that you had nice staying with us
We will always do our best to provide most impeccable service to our guests.
Thank you again for sharing your experience.Your comment is very helpful to other people
We would like to thank you for choosing hotel Icon as your accommodation.
I hope your previous stay and experience will bring you back to our hotel.
We sincerely appreciate your effort to write fabulous review on the Tripadvisor again

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is situated close to most tourist places. Conveniently located near the train station. Lots of food options with a short stroll to Insadong. This hotel is great if all you need is a place to stay after all that shopping. Offers all the basic options. Whilst here we received fruits and flowers which was a nice touch. We did see a cockroach but this was swiftly killed. All in all a good place to stay close to most places. For the price it is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Will H

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
Thank you very much for your high value on convenient location and good price.
We strive to maximize guest satisfaction by providing warm and genuine service.
Once again thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Icon and taking the time to leave a warm review.
It would be appreciated if you could kindly give us another opportunity to welcome you again in the future, and we will ensure to take great care of you.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Well, you know when you read really good reviews and you say to yourself that is must have been false because it couldn't be that good?
Well yes, I read the reviews for Hotel Icon and thought it sounded really good and it was! We booked for a total of 20 days in April/May 2014. we arrived on 24th April and were met at the airport by a driver and vehicle who took us direct to the Hotel Icon. This I had requested by email a few weeks before as I didn't think we would be happy trying to get to the hotel ourselves after a flight of over 10 hours. The driver was informative and friendly and delivered us to the hotel without a fuss, which was great as yes, we were tired after our flight. Mr Baek and his lovely wife (owners of the hotel) had sent an email a couple of days before apologising for not being at the hotel when we arrived as they were away on business. The staff were friendly and helpful and the next day Mr Baek came and introduced himself to make sure everything was okay.
We were assisted many times with things by the staff and Mr Baek and his wife, even down to rushing to Gwangjang Markets to get buttons for my husband's suit for our daughter's wedding.
On the Sunday night we were invited, with other guests, to a home cooked meal in the breakfast area and tried Mr Baek's Soju with cucumber (very tasty). Our room was cleaned daily by the two friendly ladies who also prepared the continental breakfasts. Clean towels daily and fresh bottles of water in the fridge are just part of the service.
Our Son arrived to attend his Sister's wedding and we brought him to the hotel thinking to go out and eat after he had showered. Mr and Mrs Baek had dinner ready for us as they had just had other guests in for dinner and had prepared extra especially for us.
Okay so, down to the nitty gritty. The hotel rooms were not huge but quite adequate for us.There was a flat screen TV, Aircon. underfloor heating, small fridge, ensuite with shower and cupboards for hanging clothes. The beds are as usual in Korea quite firm. There is a sundeck on the 9th Floor. Hotel Icon is a few minutes walk from Insadong Street and there are many palaces and shrines in close proximity, including Buddhist Temples. We found that we could walk to an amazing number of places and we were between two subway stations which made it easy to get around. Food was plentiful. There was street food and many cafes and restaurants both traditional and western style around the area. After visiting Jeju and Busan we returned to Hotel Icon for our last 5 days and were greeted as returning friends by both Owners and Staff and that is just another reason that I fully recommend the Hotel Icon. We met fellow guests from Canada, Russia, Singapore, Australia, China, Malaysia and some Koreans visiting from other provinces. We will be returning to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear JAB4651

Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful comments with the deep interest.
I am extremely glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us.
I am really happy that you had nice staying in spite of your long term accommodation.
I am sure that your valuable feedback will encourage all of our staffs to further develop our service.
We strive to achieve the highest level of quality services and experiences and will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide exceptional experiences to our guests.
Your staying at our hotel as a travel expert is indeed an immense honour.
We have a lot of good memories with you .
I hope your previous stay and experience will bring you back to our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#91 of 472 in Seoul
230 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
AMASS Hotel
AMASS Hotel
#121 of 472 in Seoul
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hill House Hotel
#140 of 472 in Seoul
302 reviews
Saerim Hotel
#150 of 472 in Seoul
86 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#25 of 472 in Seoul
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon

Property: Hotel Icon
Address: 20, Samil-daero 32ga-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Icon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing