We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and outstanding service, very personal and warm welcome!”
Review of Hotel Icon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Icon
Ranked #110 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and outstanding service, very personal and warm welcome!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I checked into Hotel Icon on 22nd February for our honeymoon. The hotel is conveniently located between 2 subway stations, 2 convenience shops, numerous eateries and attractions. Right from our email correspondence up to the moment we left the hotel, we can truly feel the warm hospitality and outstanding service from the hotel owner and CEO, Mrs Jung. She offered numerous tips and suggestions on how to get to the hotel from Incheon Airport, all of which were clear and the instructions easy to understand.

We were given a room with a double bed as requested, on the 8th floor. The room was comfy and all amenities provided for. Daily housekeeping was done and each day, we returned to a clean and tidy room after a long day out sightseeing and shopping. What was most memorable was on the 3rd day of our stay, the hotel owner Mr Baek called personally to our room, welcoming us and checking with us if everything as ok. He even remembered that we were on our honeymoon and prepared a special gift for us, a beautiful vase of flowers with a personalized note congratulating us. Mrs Jung personally cooked for us a traditional Korean meal, offered numerous tips on where to go for shopping and sightseeing. It was indeed a very memorable experience of Korean hospitality that left a deep impression in our hearts.

Mrs Jung went beyond just cooking and giving us tips, she even personally chaffeured us, not just once, but twice during our stay to our destinations. She recommended us a famous ginseng chicken soup place and personally drove us to the location. When she learned that we wanted to visit Namsan Mountain, once again she offered to bring us there. My wife and I had such a lovely time travelling in Mrs Jung's car and we had a great time of chatting along the way. Along the way to our destinations, Mrs Jung would often point out places of interest, and even stop the car just so that we can catch a quick glance of the places. Mrs Jung went beyond the extra mile in ensuring that we had a good time in Seoul.

I highly recommend Hotel Icon, firstly due to its convenient location, but more so because the service provided will truly enrich your stay and trip to Seoul.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Alvin

Thank you very much for your kind and wonderful comments with the deep interest.
We are extremely happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
We would like to thank you for choosing hotel Icon for your honeymoon.
Let me congratulate you once again on your marriage.
Your staying at our hotel for your honeymoon is indeed an immense honour.
We strive to maximize guest satisfaction by providing warm and genuine service.
Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    102
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
84
106
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The owner of hotel were extremely welcome and friendly,the most important is they can speak well English to communication, alway happy to provide up to date advice, we were comfortable all the time, Hotel near subway about 5 min walk, convenience store just the corner, room is clean, pay for 1 star stay for 5 star services. Great for budget holiday. You won't regret.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fredachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Freda

I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments which you made quickly before you recovered the fatigue of the journey.
Your friend who stayed at our hotel last year recommeded our hotel as your accommodation.
We did our best in order to reward her.
We longed to do something special for your group.
Please send our regards to her.
We will always do our best to make staying of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your friend again on your next visit in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The location is really convenient. It is among those palaces and two central subway station. The owner is really nice, she will drive you to the places you need to go if she is free and we had free dobuki in a Saturday night. The receptionist's english is not that good though. The room is pretty small but I guess it is typical in a big city has large population. It gives us free fruits before the night we left. I will definitely come back if I am visiting Seoul again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Yi W

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
We are really happy to hear that you had a great memory with us
We strive to exceed all our guest expectations by providing most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.
we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.
We will do our best to make sure that your next visit will be much more pleasant than the previous one.
Once again thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Icon and taking the time to leave a warm review.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stay for 4 nights on the 6th floor. Room was abit small but clean. I dont feel comfortable with the bed. It shakes alot if the other person move abit and it feels like they use the below part of the bed. Location is abit deep inside the alley. Some taxi driver dont really know the place. Better prepare all the addresses of places you want to go written in hangul. But its walkable to insadong.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiFo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear DiFo C

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Icon.
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.We will rectify any issues there may be and find ways of further improvement.
A lot of people retired and lost their jobs due to ecomonic difficulties.They get a new job as an inexperienced taxi driver even though they don't know the place.You think it is better to know the landmark building near destination in advance when you travel overseas.Your comment will be very helpful to other people.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We will do our best to make sure that your next visit will be much more pleasant than the previous one.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Icon from Jan. 19 to 24, 2014 and we had a great time in the city. Hotel Icon is very quiet and tidy. The hotel is located to most of the tourist spots the city can offer. The 3 palaces (Gyeongbokgung, Deoksugung, and Cheonggyesheon) are walking distance only.The hotel is near the subway station (Anguk station). And we need to give credit to the hotel owner Mrs. Jung and Mr. Baek for their kind hospitality. Mrs. Jung who even come with us to see the Hanok Village and drop us to N Seoul Tower. To Mr. Baek and Mrs. Jung who lend us their traditional dress to have a souvenir photo. Most importanly, we will never forget the flowers and souvenir mugs given them when they learned that we are newlywed. Thank you Mrs. Jung and Mr. Baek.
The Hotel is recommendable for all travellers, must try.

FROM DUBAI COUPLE

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRCJOANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear PRCJOANN

Your kind and wonderful comments are greatly appreciated to us.
We would like to thank you for choosing hotel Icon as your honeymoon accommodation.
We are extremely happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
We strive to achieve the highest level of quality services and experiences and will continually put forth our best endeavor to provide exceptional experiences to all of our guests.
Your couple was so nice and beautiful.We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Once again thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Icon and taking the time to leave a warm review.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I'm not sure why this hotel is getting glowing reviews, because it has some serious flaws that outweigh the benefit of its low prices and central location.

Namely, its paper-thin walls. It's one thing to hear a muffled conversation or television in the next room. It's another to hear every syllable uttered across the hall. I woke up to a ten-minute diatribe from a fellow patron and the sound of hard-case luggage being knocked against door frames.

Although the Hotel Icon marquee is clearly visible at the top of the building it occupies, its entrance is nearly impossible to find in the warren of urine-soaked alleyways that separate it from the nearest subway station.

Apart from the price, the only other plus was the noon checkout time.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor. I can't speak to the quality of the other floors, but I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cooper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

i stayed in that hotel with my friends in Jan, 2014 for 4 nights. the location was really good, just a few minutes walking distant from subway, and easy to assess, but of course have to find in the simple map before to go. the surrounding area was quiet, we could have a sweet dream after whole day trip. we also got the twin room in upper floor, clean and comfortable room, with simple amenities. but i really love the heater and the hot shower, because i had been seoul in years ago, therefore i knew the good heater and hot shower not a "MUST" items. we could go to anywhere in easy way, no matter for shopping, sight seeing or great food. just a thing, the staff on night shift was not enough patience, otherwise was nearly perfect, especially in good price at the center of seoul
and one more good thing, the hotel was very closed to airbus stop, no needed to pick up the heavy luggages up and down stairs in subway

Room Tip: triple room in upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonoramak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconSeoul, Owner at Hotel Icon, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Leonoramak

Thank you very much for your kind and valuable comments with the deep interest.
We would like to deeply thank you for staying with us.
Your staying at our hotel as a travel expert is indeed an immense honour.
We will always do our best to make staying of our guests comfortable and pleasant .
You set a high value on the central location which allows our guests enjoy the heart of Seoul.
Our hotel is near to subway satation, so our guests can easily access to subway line 1,3, and 5 for quick travel anywhere in the city.
We appreciate you attaching great importance to good value for money.
You think that it is more convenient to use airport bus without up and down stairs instead of subway when come to our hotel and airport. Your comment is very helpful to other people
I extend the very best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Icon in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Icon / C.E.O. Eun-Gyo Jung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#94 of 497 in Seoul
230 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Insadong
Saerim Hotel
Saerim Hotel
#152 of 497 in Seoul
88 reviews
Hill House Hotel
#141 of 497 in Seoul
303 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#28 of 497 in Seoul
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Icon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Icon

Property: Hotel Icon
Address: 20, Samil-daero 32ga-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Icon 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Icon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing