We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just like home”
Review of E-Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
E-Residence
Ranked #236 of 618 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Ephphatha Residence is so much more than what I had expected. Located just slightly off the main road, it is just a minute away from the bus stop for Airport Limousine and 5 minutes from either Sinsa or Nonhyeon Subway Station. It is very convenient and also safe. An access card into the building is given to the guest and every apartment room has an unique security code needed for opening the door of the room.

I had a standard double room which is so clean and comfortable; apart from a queen-sized bed, my room had a fridge, microwave oven, a washer and a cable TV with so many channels. On every floor, there is a fully equipped kitchen with all sorts of condiments, cutlery, distilled water dispenser etc.

The hosts, Kim and her son, speak good English and are extremely nice people. They are so helpful, not only to me but I had seen their kindness through their interactions with another guest too.

In between my stay in Seoul, I had wanted to experience the traditional hanok, so I asked if I could leave my luggage with them so that I could travel light, they agreed immediately. However, the hanok didn’t work out for me, so I came back just after spending a night away. They welcomed me at the lobby and Kim even gave me a big hug when I told her I couldn’t sleep a wink on the thin mattress of the hanok. They quickly get my room ready, even though it wasn’t the official check-in time yet.

Overall, Ephphatha Residence gave me an unexceptional homely feeling. I usually have the kind of uneasiness whenever I had to stay in a hotel alone, but certainly not here. At Ephphatha Residence, I could rest well and feel safe. I would definitely come back if I travel to Seoul again.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more to get a double room even if you travel alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Room is very small, but for the price is very well worth it. It's clean, and there is microwave and washing machine in the room for us. Staff is most helpful and speaks good English.
Don't forget there is nice Bbq restaurant just nearby!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Xive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was coming to Seoul for business, but I prefered to arrive one day before. The Hotel where I staying paid by the company was quite expensive, and I started looking for a close option with budget prices. This one was in good ranking on the web, and I made the reservation for one night only. The place is very nice, really downtown and close to a lot of cafes and not fair from some shops. Very easy to reach from the Int'l Airport. During the night it was completely silent. The owners are very gentle and the lady speaks quite good english. The room was very clean and included washing machine, frigobar, air-conditioning and free wifi.

Room Tip: I believe there is no such a difference between the rooms. Mine was small, but enough even for a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ephphatha Residence gave me precisely what I wanted - privacy, cleanliness, comfort and hosts who could not have been kinder or more considerate. Apart from a good bed my room had a fridge, microwave and a washing machine and great security - a code was needed for entrance to both corridor and room. On every floor there is a kitchen with hot water for coffee etc. The Residence is well situated for Sinsa Subway Station, gateway to the whole of Seoul. As the first place I stayed in Korea it set the standard. The hosts speak English which is helpful but kindness translates into any language. An example of the care I was shown - one day I left the residence and stopped in the street because my contact lens started to bother me. Suddenly my host was by my side saying 'Come back. Your room is your room'. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoyaLydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wink33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPrapunwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelees3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Seoul Sweet Style Guest House
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#15 of 542 in Seoul
3,425 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#36 of 542 in Seoul
334 reviews
Jamsil
Lotte Hotel World
Lotte Hotel World
#10 of 542 in Seoul
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E-Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E-Residence

Address: 6, Gangnam-daero 140-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06043, South Korea (Formerly Ephphatha Residence)
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 618 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $45 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your E-Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing