We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 958 Seoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Homestay”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I travel with my family and stay in Bukchon Maru Hanok Guesthouse in Dec 2012, 8 days. We are toughly enjoy our stay with the host. The host can speak fluent Mandarin and English, we have no communication problem at all. They are also friendly, caring and helpful, they provide us the best service. They cook delicious and healthy Korean breakfast. They house consist of 3 rooms, all are clean, spacious and comfy, no different from the picture. The place allocate in major historical sites, easy to walk over to those sightseeing sports. Highly recommended to stay in if you do not like your night disturb by crowd noise. Lovely and warm place to stay, i definitely will stay in this place for my next trip in Seoul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiowHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your coment.
Welcome to our guesthouse next time,we will do our best to serve you.
The time really flies,half year has passed,but we all miss you.
It is a happy time for us when we read your coment.
Many things call to mind when we read your travel experience.
Hope you can remember us and our guesthouse.
we will remember you and your family.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
51
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at Bukchon Maru Guesthouse during Nov for 2 days.The coordinate is great and easy to find.Nearby is all the Korea traditional house and is worth to stay in this good viewing area.Just few minutes between the guesthouse and Anguk station subway.

The room is clean and spacious,good service and very caring.The price is reasonable.The traditional breakfast is really delicious and i learn many from that about the korea people having their meal.

Highly recommended for casual travellers,family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiahao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks very much for your helpful coment.
Welcome to our guesthouse next time.
It was a wonderful time for us,we want to share the travel experience with you if there is any chance.
Hope you can remember this time and our guesthouse.
we will do our best to serve you if it is possible.
Thanks again!!
have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Best place ever to stay in Séoul !!! Very kind and nice guest hosts ... Delicious traditional Breakfast ... A nice place to discover the Korean culture with very good location ...Close to all the historical sites to visit and also near Insa-dong and Myeong-dong ... Surrounded by many young designer shops and restaurants at attractive prices ... This traditional house has all the qualities to accompany you in the discovery of this great city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieAkAJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhonmaru, Manager at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Long time no see,thanks very much for your coment.
Please remember you are always welcomed in our guesthouse.
we are so happy to hear that you liked korean food and culture.
we are eager to share more things with you next time.
Hope you can remember us and your travel experience.
Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at Bukchon Maru with my dad during Nov.
Place is a real charm.

The host is very friendly and very caring and helpful to us and made sure our stay in Korea and finding their house was as trouble free and as easy as possible.

We stayed in a single room that uses a shared bathroom. The bathroom was very clean and well kept. The room was very warm, i only had to wear tee shirt and shorts sleeping in the middle of winter!

The location is amongst the hanok area in Bukchon and very easy to get to the subway station and easy for taxi to access. The house is on a slight hill so you can look out at the city.

I have to mention again, best of all the host is excellent! Very warm and inviting and made my first hanok experience a great one. I would definitely like to stay with them again.

One thing i would like to suggest is maybe adding a TV in their rooms or in the common area (maybe there is one but i didn't notice) but apart from that everything is good!

I didn't wake up early enough to try the homemade Korea breakfast :( because i stayed out until 5am. :p but my dad did and he said it was good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tcytcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhonmaru, 매니저 at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for a great review and coment! It was also a wonderful time for us. Please remember you are always welcomed in our home. :)
We originally don`t want to prepare TV, because we are not the hotel :) As you experienced, we are the special place that you can experience about real korean culture, including korean breakfast, wearing Hanbok, tasting korean tea, etc.
Hope to see you again my friend !
Sincerely,
Bukchonmaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you visit Seoul, I highly recommend staying at Bukchon Maru. The family taking care of the house are so nice and hospitable, and they made delicious food every morning - homemade kimchi! The house is a traditional Korean style house, very beautiful, the authentic Korean experience. With Korean-style floor heating I never felt uncomfortable. The location is great, right in the tourist district Bukchon-gu, with many scenic spots and Gyeongbokgung palace a walk away. The Incheon airport bus goes directly there, and Anguk subway station is very close. Walking home at night in this neighborhood is a delight.
They are also very accomodating of small groups and families.
I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with others, pick the large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhonmaru, 매니저 at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for a great review and coment! It was also a wonderful time for us. Please remember you are always welcomed in our home. :)
I was so happy that you could tasted korean homemade kimchi :)
Please keep in touch, I was also happy to know you great friend !
Hope to see you again my friend !

Sincerely,
Bukchonmaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed during July - August 2012 in the Bukchon Maru Guesthouse for a 17 day stay.
The location is among the top tier in Seoul, no question about that! This lovely guesthouse is located smack dab in one of the few preserved classical Korean neighbourhoods in Seoul and is definitely worth a stay!

Rooms were clean and spacious, the service personal and very caring, the location is just a few minutes from 2 different subway stations and the prices are beyond reasonable for this accomodation.

Highly recommended for casual travellers as well as business people!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhonmaru, 매니저 at Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for a great review and coment! It was also a wonderful time for us. Please remember you are always welcomed in our home. :)
Are you still in korea? Well, please visit again and taste good korean tea, Sik-Hye that is homemade in our house:)
Thank you again for your good comment, keep in touch !

Hope to see you again my friend !
Sincerely,
Bukchonmaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sopoong Guest House
#4 of 958 in Seoul
182 reviews
Hongdae
Come Inn Guesthouse
Come Inn Guesthouse
#1 of 958 in Seoul
688 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Raon Guesthouse
Raon Guesthouse
#8 of 958 in Seoul
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Bukchon Guesthouse
Bukchon Guesthouse
#14 of 958 in Seoul
40 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Cheong Yeon Jae Hanok Hotel
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Bibimbap Guesthouse
Bibimbap Guesthouse
#10 of 958 in Seoul
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse

Property: Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Address: 152, Changdeokgung-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03051, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 958 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bukchon Maru Hanok Guesthouse is located in the heart of the Bukchon Hanok residential area in Seoul. Bukchon (meaning North Village in Korean) has the highest concentration of Hanoks, the traditional tiled-roof Korean buildings. We are a family run guest house, having owned this property for over 30 years. Due to its proximity to the local palaces, Bukchon has been home to high government officials and prestigious families of the late Chosen Dynasty, who needed to commute to the local palaces often. The name "Bukchon" was synonymous with status and class in the era no more than 100 years ago. Along with the tumultuous modern Korean history, the quiet neighborhood of Bukchon also underwent significant changes. Modern buildings began to appear, and with the elimination of traditional class system, more and more people swarmed in to the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing