We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staz Hotel Myeongdong 1
Ranked #90 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Booked a room with private terrace and a Jacuzzi. The view was great and the terrace was huge, but rooms on the floor above could look down on us, so I would recommend to bring a bikini.
Size of the room was okay, and it was clean. But there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom and there was nothing to do to fix it.
Breakfast was rather poor and not worth to pay extra for.
Location was good. A quiet and safe area with short walking distance to line 2 and 3 and a little longer to 4 and 1. About 10 min walk to Jongak, Myeongdong and Insadong.
The morning we were leaving we planed to take the shuttle bus to Seoul Station. We were told to wait in line outside behind some sort of sign. Other guest were also told to wait there and we were about 5-10 ppl waiting there. The bus was parked a few meters away and suddenly it just drove off. We all looked at each other and no one understood what just happened. I went inside to ask if the bus left without us and they said yes and that the next bus was in an hour. I asked them why it left without us and they couldn’t answer. So DONT trust the Shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 423 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very handy location. Clean, comfortable rooms. Reasonable buffet breakfast. Helpful staff. In the basement was a 7-11 which is handy for late night provisions. The price and room size are good for Seoul.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank zchal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Aware of the high costs of accommodation in Seoul, we chose this hotel due to its affordability. Half expecting a shanty one for the price we were paying, we were pleasantly surprised. The room is of decent size, well equipped with all the modern amenities expected of a hotel room: LED TV with cable channels, a fridge, a kettle, safe deposit box, a cupboard, small sofa for two, small dressing table and a stool by the entrance which made it convenient for you to put on your shoes! The bathroom was pretty neat, with heated toilet seats and bidet, a shower and medicine cabinet. Our room also has a balcony with jacuzzi with garden table and chairs overlooking downtown Seoul.

The hotel has a coffee house that serves good buffet breakfast at Lobby Level and a convenience store that operates from 7am till midnight, located at Basement 1.

Though the location of the hotel is not ideal (most of the surrounding stores deal with ceramic, bath equipments etc), its very safe even in the late evenings and close to a subway station (Euljiro-3(sam)-ga station), hence travelling to places of interests is not a problem. It is also near to the main Myeongdong shopping area, close enough for us to take a brisk evening walk back to the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel for those travelling to Seoul looking for an affordable accommodation with ease of access. And my wife and me will definitely stay here in future!

Room Tip: Get rooms with a balcony on the 9th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aznan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sutton Myeongdong for two separate periods in July booking a couple of rooms for relatives. As previous reviewers have mentioned it is a little off the main road but easily found - make sure you get a card with the address on it for taxi drivers, and if they get confused ask them to drop you off at on of the very nearby subway exits - never more than a few meters away.
One room was a terrace which enabled us to sit outside and enjoy the sights, and the other a single which although small was very clean and well appointed. Staff were extremely helpful and professional at all times and we managed to get over any language issues easily.
Overall this was a very pleasant stay at an excellent hotel that punches well above its weight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is very pretentious. They try very hard to look appear like a 3 star hotel but in actuality only has 2 star service. The staff was extremely standoffish. While they did provide a free computer to print your boarding pass, the printer was out of ink. When I brought the front desk attention to that fact, not one of them offered to replace the ink or even attempt to look for a new ink cartridge. They gave me a shrug.

For a slightly lower price you can stay at PJ Hotel in the same area and have a much better experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hinadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reviewing many hotels in the Myeongdong area my friends and i finally chose Sutton Hotel for our 1st trip to Seoul. It was probably one of the best decisions we made. Though the hotel was a bit difficult to find at first and the location didnt seem all that great at first glance, it was very close to the euljiro-3 ga station ( 5 minutes away by foot) so getting around Seoul was very convenient. And the area was very safe for 3 girls to be out even around 11pm.

The hotel itself really exceeded our expectations. It had enough space for 3 luggage bags and the rooms and bathrooms were so new and clean and beds so comfortable. We really couldn't believe that this kinda hotel was available at such an attractive rate! it was a gold mine! and the staff was so friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Seoul.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idnaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and two kids (11 and 9 years old) for four nights in July.

The hotel is centrally placed in the eastern end of the Myeongdong district, within walking distance to must-see places like Lotte department store / Shinsegae (1 km), Insadong / Nakwon arcade or Dungdaemon market (2 km).

The staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks english at a decent level. Bonus for the 7 eleven in the basement floor.

One day we took a walk along the newly renovated river Cheonggyecheon that leads straight to Dungdaemon. A great walk.

Our room was clean and the air conditioning worked well. A lot of TV channels to choose from, but not many in english language (3 I think). The bathroom was small, but well equipped. There was always enough hot water in the shower. Great! The toilet seat was electric, with integrated flushing, drying and heating. Very Korean indeed!

The beds were medium soft and comfortable enough for a good night's sleep.

One thing that keeps this hotel from getting a top score is its restaurant. The breakfast is a tad below European standards, but the dinner menu is worse. Very little to choose from and the waiters didn't manage to explain the dishes properly. We were really hungry but still ended up leaving. Luckily there are lots of non-Korean restaurants to choose from just cross the Cheonggyecheon river.

But overall this is a great hotel in a great location. We would be happy to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mreurotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#54 of 505 in Seoul
211 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
Tmark Hotel Myeongdong
#51 of 505 in Seoul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#97 of 505 in Seoul
238 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
#41 of 505 in Seoul
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staz Hotel Myeongdong 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staz Hotel Myeongdong 1

Address: 20, Chungmu-ro 9-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04543, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $56 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staz Hotel Myeongdong 1 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
50 minutes from Inchen International Airport and 40 minutes from Gimpo International Airport to our hotel, and conveniently in proximity to subway stations-Line No. 1, 2, and 3. Our Hotel is within easy reach of a trendy shopping center, the Lotte Department Store, Korea traditional market, Insa-dong, Dongdaemun Market, Namdaemun Market, Kyeongbok-gung Palace, Namsangol Traditional Korean Village, Namsan Traditional Korea Village, and Street of Culture in Samchung-dong. Suitable for your Business, Tour, and Relaxing stay, ours provides you with a very reasonable price. Staz Hotel Myeongdong Ⅰ will be the best choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Staz Hotel Myeongdong 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing