We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm people, warm place.. Perfect for a winter stay in Korea!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family & Friends House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family & Friends House
Ranked #29 of 532 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm people, warm place.. Perfect for a winter stay in Korea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place have provided a great service starting from the part where I'm booking for a stay down to my farewell to the place. For me, a great service starts from the part where the owner replies to your queries. And Lynette has been so helpful in providing the information I needed - as I'm traveling by myself and everything has to be organized to avoid hassles. So first impression: Very good!

I arrived very late, and I'm so stoked that she gladly waited for me and accompanied me to my room and made sure everything is okay. (Thanks Lynette for waiting!)

What can I say about the rooms? Clean, warm and very nice! Really perfect for my winter stay! The room that I've got was a shared room with bathroom (w/ warm water), washing machine, kitchen and lounge area. I have no issues with security as the room is password-locked. Free wi-fi is also provided and on top of that, a complimentary breakfast is offered which really made my stay so worth of what I've paid for!

Location is very convenient as it's a short walk from Hongik Station, which is apart from being one of the major stations in the city (and made my solo traveling so much easier!), is also one of the stops for the airport train.

And the staff? Amazing, friendly and comfortable to be with! I would definitely recommend this to my friends! Looking forward to seeing you again on my 2nd trip to Seoul!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
하원김, 오너 at Family & Friends House, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear my friend

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor and we appreciate you for your staying with us.

You are so nice and warm-hearted lady, I'm sure.
Hope you enjoyed your trip with us in Seoul and had a wonderful memory as well.

Please let us know if you are coming to Korea again!

Looking foward to seeing you again very soon!
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    35
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
9
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

How to begin this review ...? This guesthouse is awesome! You share a flat with 2 rooms, one kitchen (where you can make your own cooking) and one bathroom. This is VERY clean and very well furnished. The owner Linette and the manager Ellie are more than sympathic! They are very helpful, and do all they can to make you feel like at home. The delicious breakfast is included and you have an excellent wifi connexion everywhere in the guesthouse.
Finally, the guesthouse is very well located near to Hongik University metro station (5 minutes walking).
We definetly recommend you this place, and we will come back for sure! MERCI Lynette et Ellie!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
하원김, 오너 at Family & Friends House, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear my friends

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor.
Are you enjoying Philippines trip now? I hope so.

Because you are so nice couple, so you could enjoy your staying as much as you could.
Ellie also miss you already so much!

I heard that you guys had a great party making crepe and having chicken when I was not in Korea and it was so fun!
Hope next time I want to join with you.

Please come and visit us again very soon and safe trip back!
Take care always!
lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

so nice,but if the bed more cleaning will better~~~should have attiention^^It was my first time to Seoul, the duration of staying is good.Lynette the owner, she was nice.simle so beautiful.and the roommate are so interesting~we wish to come again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ting x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
하원김, 오너 at Family & Friends House, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear my friend

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that the bed was not clean enough.
WE will check it again and definately, will try to get better.

Hope you enjoyed your staying with us and had a wonderful memory in Korea.

Take care always and hope to see you again!
Love
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place is clean and safe, the owner and the staff are very friendly & helpful as she helped us find a good restaurant for budae jjigae and showed us the way there. It was my first time to Seoul, the duration of staying is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yue sze w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
하원김, 오너 at Family & Friends House, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear my friend

Thank you so much for our review on Tripadvisor.

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us.
I know that first trip in new country make us a bit nervous and excited at the same time.
So we are trying to make them feel comfortable and free to ask questions as much as they need.

You will be able to try to other cities in Korea as well next time for sure since we have so many places to go in Korea!!

Please take care always and don't forget us!
Miss you already!
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is my first time travelling to Seoul, and due to language barrier, me and my friends have some confusion on how to travel to Pyeongchang, thanks to Lynette and her staffs we managed to find our way. The room and toilet is clean and simple, I think is fair enough for the price we've paid, but most importantly, it was good hospitality and it was of great help for us to leave our luggage for a night to allow us to travel out of town for a short skiing trip, appreciate that very much. I would recommend travelers who do not wish to splurge too much on accommodation may consider Family & Friends, it is a good place to stay, with basic facilities and breakfast provided for the price offered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liping T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
하원김, 오너 at Family & Friends House, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear my friend

Thank you so much for you review on tripadvisor.

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us!
We are trying to improve our service more and more so you will get better service next time!

Hope you enjoyed your ski tour as well!
Once again, thank you for being our friends and hope to see you again soon!
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Lynette the owner... she was superb! Helpful and family type... we all cry on the last day. She will help u out for ideas itinerary...
Shopping!! Omg.. yes you can ask her opinion...
Well... as a muslim... we only go for vege or cook ourselves at the place...very eady to get groceries..just nearby.

The place so clean... we wish to come again soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank missardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
하원김, 오너 at Family & Friends House, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear my sister

Thank you so much for your review and we have not expected it!

I also feel like you are my family in Malaysia too.
When we had to say good bye, I was so sad and sorry.

Hope you had a wonderful time in Seoul and also with us!
Take care always and please say hello to your all of family for me!

Hope to see you again someday soon!
Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is my first travel overseas. I went with my husband for honeymoon backpack trip in Seoul in October 2013
The rooms are clean. The door is locked with passcode, I feel safe staying in this guesthouse. But there's no safety deposit box like how hotel has it, but it's ok, I kept important things in my luggage with passcode lock. The Wifi speed was awesome. 2 rooms share a bathroom. We were lucky there weren't anyone staying in another room, so we kinda colonize the whole unit (except for one night where there was a Korean family which I did not find uncomfortable because we went back late and when we woke up they already left). Hair and body shampoo and hair dryer are provided, very convenient. We also find the free Seoul map, subway map and attraction booklets provided very useful. Breakfast was simple with bread, egg and ramen.
If I have to say one weakness of this guesthouse, it has no lift or escalator, so we had to carry the luggage up. Luckily we stay at the 1st floor, so no big deal. They have another new guesthouse now next to the old one, hope the new one has a lift.
The owner, Lynette is very friendly with good English. She's like a big sister. She greeted us every morning when we had our breakfast and always initiated conversations with us by asking us where we are planning to go. She also suggested attractions which are worth visiting. When we hugged and say goodbye before we check out, I feel like coming back again soon to visit this friendly sister again.
The good thing about guesthouse in Seoul is people who stay there get to eat breakfast together at the same table and share traveling experience together. We were lucky there were travelers who are friendly and great to talk to. Lynette always sat at her office table near the breakfast table listening to our conversation, chip in to chat sometimes.
Staying in this guesthouse makes me feel like home. My most favourite time in Seoul is the breakfast time in this guesthouse, more than the attractions in Seoul. I wish I don't get baby so soon so that I can go back to visit this guesthouse and Lynette soon. =)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YinkHeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
하원김, 오너 at Family & Friends House, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear my sister

Thank you so much for your review.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying with us.

As soon as we got that this is honeymoon trip for you, we were so glad to have you.
You are wonderful couple, i never met before i''m sure, that's why you enjoyed your trip as much as you could.

Hope all of you are always happy in your life and make a good family as well.
Don't be afraid of having baby and just try it.

You can bring kids in Korea next time!

Take care always & we already miss you!

Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Family & Friends House 2
Family & Friends House 2
#70 of 532 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hongdae
Studio 41st Hostel
Studio 41st Hostel
#24 of 532 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#10 of 532 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
#2 of 532 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Lazy Fox Hostel
#8 of 532 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Hongdae
Bounce Guesthouse
Bounce Guesthouse
#12 of 532 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family & Friends House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family & Friends House

Property: Family & Friends House
Address: 81-12, World Cup buk-ro 6-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 532 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Family & Friends House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family & friends House is newly opened guesthouse located in Hongdae which is one of the best location in Seoul. We are located in hongdae station line no 2 & AREX (hongik university station) which is very popular area for dining, shopping and clubing in seoul.It takes only 5 minutes by walk from station.From Incheon international airport, it takes 50minutes by subway and from Kimpo international airport, it takes only 15minutes by subway.The guesthouse is managed by young couple who lives in the building so they can take care of guests as friends and family so guests can feel like home while staying.We provide double room, deluxe Twin room, triple room, family room, female dormitory and male dormitory.Each rooms include two bedrooms, one bathroom and one kitchen so guest can have their own privacy. Especially for big family trip, friends group will be satisfied with us since we offer independent space for them.CCTV has been installed on each floor so that guests can stay safely.We provide free breakfast including expresso coffee, seasonal fruits, fresh milk and juice, toast, fried egg and traditional tea.We have outdoor terrace, rooftop, cafeteria, computer room, a locker room, dining room and laundry room.The whole building has free wifi and internet.The guest house offers towels, shampoo, body cleanser and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Family & Friends House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing