We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seoul Base Camp Hostel
Ranked #93 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great Vibe. Community oriented. Jake the owner is friendly and incredibly welcoming. He even gave up his own room to accommodate for another travel. When I visit South Korea again, I will definitely stay at SBC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Seoul Base Camp Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had an AMAZING time at Seoul Base Camp! I met so many people, who I bonded with so quickly! everyone is so open and comfortable with each other! Min and Jake are great guys, the created a great atmosphere at the Base Camp. The waffles are so good! and having toast available all the time is a great snack for those late nights of drinking. I also want to make a point that the shower heads are actually really good, the water pressure is really strong, you cant find that in many hostels :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hostel is unlike any other I've stayed in and must be one of the best around. The owners Min and Jake are so welcoming and friendly and genuinely care about their guests stay. They have created such an easygoing and relaxed atmosphere. The tent rooms are unique and interesting to stay in and have either bunks or cubicle style beds. It is not a place for quiet and privacy but it is a great place to meet fellow travellers. The common room is nicely set out and comfortable with excellent WIFI and computers to use. The rooftop kitchen has everything that's needed and the breakfast waffles are tasty! The showers are good with hot water all the time. Location is great, literally 1 minute walk from the metro station. This is the only place I would stay when going back to Seoul!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Small, intimate, friendly hostel. Beds are either on bunks or cubicles, which I found quite comfortable. You have to expect some noise from people talking in common areas but generally guests are considerate and do keep the noise levels down when late. The atmosphere was fun and it's a great way for solo travellers to meet other people.

Unfortunately I was there at a time of extreme cold weather and the pipes froze. The owners worked tirelessly to restore water supply which took 48 hours. They offered refund to those who chose to leave and access to other facilities for those who stayed. I found them to be most helpful.

Overall, great value for money and reasonably comfortable for a dorm. I would stay there again for the staff and the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Personally I found the cubicles to be more comfortable with better privacy, which resembles the &quo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hostel is really special, we could not have made a better choice. Sleeping is not the most comfortable and convenient to be honest (like in other big dorms), but you will easily forget about it. There are great people to get to know and there is always something going on in the community room or kitchen on the rooftop.

The hostel team is awesome and helps you with every question (and the two guys who run the hostel are very attractive by the way!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the best hostels I've had the pleasure of staying in. In a major University district and metro is a minute away. The staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. The people you encounter here are like no other, your left with great memories and life long friends.

P.s. it can get a bit chilly at night

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa_DeFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall I really liked the place was nice. It lives up to it's name and seems like an army base camp or something. You open the metal sliding door and are greeted by canvases hanging from the ceilings separating the "rooms." The workers, I never got their names :/ , are all very nice and friendly. I stayed in a ten bed "room" and thought the set-up was pretty cool. It reminded me of the capsules you can stay in while in Japan. It was pretty clean and a nice atmosphere. They have 2 computers you can use, towels (tiny ones), shower products and games to play. They also make some amazingly delicious waffles in the morning for breakfast. We missed out on a party at the hostel as we met up with friends but it sounds like they have a great time. My only problems were that my friend and I went out in Hongdae (one stop away on the subway or about a 20-30ish minute walk depending on how fast you walk) and when I tried to get a cab back I was refused by every cab. Luckily I had a smartphone and was able to map my way back. If you don't have a smartphone, or are trashed... good luck getting back! Also, some people came in to our room at about 5am and were extremely loud and drunk. If you are looking for a quiet place than this is not the place to go. If you are looking for a unique and fun, yet cheap, hostel with a decent location then this is the place for you.
Tip: remember to bring shower shoes

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachTheRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lazy Fox Hostel
#8 of 586 in Seoul
118 reviews
Circle Hotel Seoul
#411 of 958 in Seoul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
KPOPSTAY
KPOPSTAY
#45 of 586 in Seoul
150 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hostel Korea 11th - Changdeokgung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seoul Base Camp Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seoul Base Camp Hostel

Address: 3F 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $10 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Camp Hostel is the best place to meet fellow travellers. Central location, only minutes from hundreds of bars / restaurants. Our weekend waffle brings all the guest to our rooftop kitchen in the morning.Description ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Seoul Base Camp Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing