We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really wanted to like the hotel but fell short”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Designers Samseong
Ranked #191 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I really wanted to like the hotel but fell short”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days for conference at Coex. I read all the good reviews and decided that this will fit my bill perfectly since fancy exterior, restaurants in hotel, and other extras were not important to me. I was open-minded but also had high expectation. However, the hotel was disappointing overall. I paid extra to get the larger suite. First the good. Price was about 1/3 to 1/2 of Intercontinental Hotel at Coex. Location was mixed bag since front door was in the alley, but it was easy walking distance to Coex and I enjoyed the walks. Hotel had free bicycle for guest use which I made good use with biking path to Han River close-by. Staff was relatively friendly and helpful. Room was indeed interior designed and had character. Room was large and bed was comfortable. Bath tub was large and I made good use of it. Room had 120 volt US outlet for my laptop and charger. Now the bad. The biggest gripe that I had was the odor in the bathroom. It smelled like Seoul subway station bathroom. I mentioned the odor to the staff every day for 3 consecutive days and odor remained same, and I eventually gave up. My request to change room was declined with explanation that the hotel was full with conference. It soured my entire stay at the hotel. Second problem with the hotel is the lack of window. I initially didn't think it was problem, but eventually claustrophobia and gloominess set in after couple of days. I tried the breakfast on the first day, and I didn't think it was worth the 15,000 won it cost. I tried to really like the hotel, but the bad especially the bathroom odor made the overall stay unpleasant, and I don't think I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
7
24
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I am now in Room 711. My friends and I hate this hotel and will not stay here again.

The only good thing is the location. The rest is absolutely crap. Don't be fooled by the somewhat fancy exterior and nicely decorated rooms. When you walk into the lobby, you'd be greeted with a scent that smells like toilet detergent. When you get to your floor, you'll smell this overpowering pungent scent. Both smells made us sick.

The level of cleanliness is bad. We accidentally spilled some coke on one of the beds and realised the next day that the hotel staff just made the beds without changing the sheets - coz the stains were still there. As for the floor, i'm not even sure it's cleaned - I spotted a few strands of hairs in one corner on my 3rd night here and it was very very obvious the corner had no contact with a cleaning device for sometime... I don't even want to think about the bathroom and toilet .... oh, and overall, the room is dusty.

Bathroom design is flawed. We had to put our shampoo and shower gel on the floor because there was no tray or ledge where we could put the stuff. How stupid is that?!

The staff were unhelpful too. It was raining like mad this evening and we asked the staff to get a taxi for us. The answer was "cannot call" (in Korean). What the hell is that?! I've never heard of a hotel that refuses to get a cab for a guest!

My friends and I have, collectively, come to Seoul at least 100 times in the last 7 years. We have stayed at quite a number of hotels esp in the Gangnam area and we have rarely, if ever, sworn off a hotel almost immediately. We picked Hotel The Designers because it was a relatively new hotel but it has been a disappointing experience.

Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust-ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Seoul is a big city and I chose this hotel because it its within walking distance of COEX Congress and trade centre. When you arrive with the metro (exit Samseong) it may be a bit hard to find the first time, because it its in a small street. So don't forget to take name and address, preferably in Korean, with you. The rooms are small, hardly place for a suitcase, but it has airco, mini fridge with complimentary water and sparkling drinks but no alcohol. The hotel bar doesn't sell alcohol and is not open at night. The breakfast is half Asian and half European, not very fancy. The beds are good but some might find the mattress a bit too hard. My room had a combined bathtub and shower without curtain, a toilet with all kinds of futuristic extras like automatic flush. The shampoo etc. was hidden behind the mirror. All rooms are no smoking, so it surprised me to find not only a water cooker in the cupboard, but an ashtray and matches too. Despite some of the negatives, I would not hesitate to book this hotel again, just because it its so different from the well known hotel chains.

Room Tip: The suites are bigger, but some have a bathtub in the bedroom. Visit the website for pictures of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is such a little gem in the heart of Gangnum. Service is excellent and rooms are great. What must be mentioned is the toilet technology!! Only in a techno crazy country such as Korea could you find something akin to a smart toilet - will leave the rest for you to explore!!

Room Tip: If you want one of the designer rooms, make sure to mention that in your booking. The cost is sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked a deluxe room which was like a box with a small window covered by mirrored glass making the room very dark. Paint work scuffed and on check in quite dusty.Good bathroom and comfortable beds. 2 days later, I changed to a suite which was much better although still dark. Nice staff and central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJK198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel looks brand new, with lots of tech details in the room.
Check in and out was easy.
Bedroom was small but OK for a couple. There was a laptop in the room with internet conection. The air conditioning system was on the ceiling. I didnt use it by night, but guess this might be an issue because it has a bright blue light when its on.
The bathroom had an open shower and it was rather messy because water was all over the place.
Safe box and electric kettle in the room. Bring your own coffee.
The location is ideal for COEX, but very far away from the touristic areas of Seoul. Subway can take between 40-50 minutes, easy ride.
Locating the hotel is rather tricky so follow this instructions:
- in the Incheon airport take the Kal Limousine (bus) 6704
- get off in the Ibis Ambassador stop. Stand looking towards the Ibis Ambassador (on the other side of the street). Walk towards your right till you get to a big street. Keep straight and cross. On the other side cross towards the left.
- On the other side walk towards the right one block and turn left (yes its a samll street)
- Walk one block and turn right and there you are
Ladies, very hard to get make up on becuase of the dim light.
Overall, I would not stay here again if my travel is for tourism.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔더디자이너스, 매니저 at Hotel The Designers Samseong, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Google Translation
고객님의 소중한 리뷰 감사드립니다.
저희 호텔에 숙박하시면서 큰 불편한 점이 없었으면 좋겠습니다.
호텔에 대한 자세한 사항을 성의 있게 올려주셔서 감사합니다.
항상 최상의 서비스를 제공하기 위해 노력하는 호텔 더 디자이너스가 되겠습니다.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

For a two star hotel, I would rate this an 11/10. It is incredibly convenient to the convention center, clean and provided wifi that worked fast and consistently. I spent a week in their Polaroid Suite, one of their larger suites. They nailed the details of design from the bathroom to bedroom. The staff were always pleasant and helpful, glad to teach me a few words in Korean. I prefer value hotels over five star, expensive service that drains your wallet with your every activity in the hotel. Hotel the Designers has value and class.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoiceDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Hotel Peyto Samseong
Hotel Peyto Samseong
#107 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Hotel Uri&
#170 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel Xym
#275 of 474 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Hotel The Designers LYJ Gangnam Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Designers Samseong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Designers Samseong

Property: Hotel The Designers Samseong
Address: 9, Teheran-ro 79-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06158, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samseongdong / COEX
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Designers Samseong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Designers Samseong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing