We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with no room to move around in”
Review of WS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WS Hotel
Ranked #402 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A room with no room to move around in”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel has no elevator, so if you have luggage be prepared to bring them up and down the stairs on your own on a very narrow staircase. The rooms are tiny. If you have one suitcase, you will not be able to move around in your room at all. The room has no desk space. Your bed will become your desk, your luggage area, your eating area, and everything else. You literally cannot move around in their rooms. Also, there is no shower space, you will be taking a shower in the toilet. You will also sit sideways to use the toilet for other duties. The toilet has a smell and thus your room has a smell. This hotel is not for the weak-hearted. You should be a strong minded individual to stay here. The location is impossible to find on your own. The pluses is that the train station is a few blocks away and there are many shopping stores in the area. However, there are no major tourist spots in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB7987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
First of all, Thanks for your review.

I'm so sorry because the small room is inconvenient for you.

So we alaway try to do best to our guest.

Your review will help WS Hotel improve our service quality.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
5
34
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a good hotel for anyone looking to save money and still be in the center of Seoul. It's not glamarous or upscale, and if that's what you want, then look elsewhere. But we booked it initially because the price was right, it was easy to get to, and the reviews were positive.

For being in a major,dense city like Seoul, the price is very reasonable. There were a few other places online with similar prices, but without the good reviews of the WS.

Finding it proved to be easy and not-so-easy. It is literally a 3 minute walk from the Sinchon station and getting to the area was straightforward on the Airport Limosine bus from Incheon. It was only about five stops from the airport. The location of the hotel isn't so obvious, being in a narrow alley that dead-ends. Even though I was prepared for anything and had printed Google maps showing the location of the hotel beforehand, it was a little tricky to find. There are a number of alleys in the area and knowing which one was a matter of guessing. Luckily, a friendly local noticed our "deer-in-the-headlights" dazed look and called the hotel to ask where they were. She then pointed us in the right direction. Halfway to the hotel, we were met by Sin Jae, one of the staff, and he seemed so exuberant and excited to have us arrive. He was insistant on carrying all of our bags back to the hotel and spurred up a conversation with us in his perfect English while we walked back. He was very good at making us feel welcome.

Check-in was simple and the staff did admit the room would be small, which it was, but that's okay. It's Asia and my fiance and I didn't need much space, so we can't complain. The room was clean and well-equipped with all of the necessities.

The front desk staff was so helpful and volunteered to take the time to plan out an itinerary for us during our time in Seoul and shared local advice on how to get around. I'm sure they had much more important things to do than deal with us, but it didn't bother them at all. They really went above and beyond with the personalized service and made us feel like we were the only ones there. I've stayed in many hotels, cheap all the way to ritzy, throughout the years and have never gotten such good service. The small lobby area and the general atmosphere is relaxed and casual, with lots of photos and letters on the walls from prior guests, and all of them looking very happy to be there in the pics. The staff is younger, speak English fluently, and often joked among themselves and us. Hyun, who communicated with me via email before arrival, was quick, efficient, and friendly in his responses as well.

The location was easy to find once we knew our way and safe. The premises are clean overall and well-kept. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were just awesome- a lot of other Asian hotels we encountered had pillows that were like sheets of paper. The ones at the WS were perfect!

Like other reviews, our main complaint was the smell from the bathroom. In all fairness, this is more of an urban sewage issue and not the hotel's fault. Even though we are very easy-going, it was sometimes a little overbearing, especially when the room had been locked up all day. But since it was the only true compromise we had to deal with, we tolerated it and never brought it up- as the staff seem to be very much aware of it and advised us about a smell in their rooms when we checked-in. No point to "beating a dead horse".

When we checked out early morning, Sin Jae chatted with us and was his usual upbeat self. He captured a photo of my fiance and I together in the lobby, which will probably end up on the wall (it was 4:30am, so hopefully we look almost as happy as the other photos!). He ensured that we knew how to get to the bus to the airport and waved us off. It was almost sad to leave as we felt so welcome and at home there.

All i can say is that the WS is tough to beat when it comes to value, location, and hospitality. Sure, the room is a little small but how much space do you really need? And the bathroom smelt, but it's a common problem that the hotel can't control and was partially cured by turning on the A/C. The WS is worth staying at for the friendly staff alone- they are incredible. We'll stay there again when we make it back to Korea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roo310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I appriciate for your very long and detailed review.

Your instructions will be helpful to other guests who are planing to book hostel.

we always try to give the best service to our customers and make up for some inconvinience

things that you talked about for instance the size and so on.

I'm really glad to here that you had a good time in WShotel with your fiance.

I am looking forward to meet you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

though the room is a little bit little
and that why fit our little trip!!
luv korea and korean foods !
the man is hotel r really kind, and the place is really convinence near the Sinchon station
if i hav chance probably will go Sinchon again !
i luv korea !!
but the room has rare outlet that let my friend and i feel sad!
and we feel the tv set up the wrong place , ex if we want to see the scene we hav to sit a the floor without cushion and we hav no place to open our luggage , so we put them on our bed to clear up

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chia_123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you your review.

I'm so sorry because your inconvenience about small room.

So we always try to do best service to our guest.

If you visit Sinchon again, please visit WS Hotel to stay.

We will provide best service to you.

Thanks again and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. not recommended for elderly and children as the staircase is very narrow, Other than that, my room has this weird smell from the toilet. Should be due to the sewerage problem. It didn't bother me at first, but after two nights it start to annoys me. I thnk the bathroom is a bit too small. Other than that, the room is clean and service is fairly good. Location is very near the subway, only problem is the hotel is down the road (road is a slope), Therefore not very convenient for those who bring trolley bag, as the bag will be rolled on the road and not the pathway. Hotel is also near to Lotte 88 market and some hawker stall. So no worry, to get food and basic necessities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
First of all, Thank you for giving review about our hotel.

We are so sorry to hear from you about sewage smell in toilet.

sometimes its come up from drain because of hot weather nowadays but if you told us about

that problem.. we could remove that smell immediately.

anyway.. we are so sorry. if you have one more chance to come our hotel.. we will not make

same mistake..

We will always try to be better and provide good service for our guests.

thank you

we will do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Me and my partner were on a tight budget and after seeing the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor we decided to give this hotel a try and book two nights with the hotel.

Let's start with the positives:
Very cheap.
Location is quite decent as its very near Sinchon subway station.
Plenty of TV channels.
Staffs were friendly and helpful.

Cons:
First look the room appears to be clean and neat, but a closer look would prove otherwise. There were LOADS of rubbish underneath the bed and it's extremely dusty. I found two used condoms, bunch of tissue papers and ziplock bags under the bed. We didn't expect a lot from the price we were paying but the least we expect is basic cleanliness. I gave them the benefit of the doubt and got them to clean my room on my second day (I didn't tell them about the trash under the bed to see if they simply overlook it the day before), when I returned, the bed was made and towels changed BUT those trash under the bed were still untouched. Toilet is small which is fine with us but many parts are moldy which is really disgusting.

Overall, I won't recommend this hotel to my friends because of the major lack of cleanliness. The used condoms were a total turn off.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ngbanban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
First of all, Thank you for give us review.

We are so sorry to hear about your inconvenient staying story about our hotel.

But actually, After making up the rooms , We are inspect each room everyday , every rooms!

Why didn't you complain us that time? otherwise I can do something to our staffs.. or I can

compensate to you...

Today also I inspect every rooms, especially underneath beds, but I couldn't find any stuff

there.

anyway,, maybe we made mistake then... I really want to say sorry for your inconvenient..

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel location are good, near to Sinchon down town area, 3mins walking distance to Sinchon sub-way.
WS provide basic need, tidy & clean. Few universities surronding, food are cheap & nice. Value for money for free & easy trip.

Room Tip: the room is clean & with basic need. good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for your review.

I'm very happy you satisfied our hotel.

We alaway try to do best our guest.

If you visit WS Hotel again. we will give you best service.

Thanks again and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's in a great location and the staff is EXTREMELY kind and helpful. And the prices are pretty fair. The rooms are a bit more of a mixed bag. The beds are decent, and the room is small...but if you don't plan on staying in the room for a long time, it's no problem at all. The bathroom is a bit bad...if you want to use it in the middle of the night, expect to wake up anyone staying with you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbmelodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHOTEL, 프론트 매니저 at WS Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for staying in WShotel and this review.

I'm so glad you had a good time.

we will try to give you good services again as usual when you come back!

Thanks gain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Saerim Hotel
#150 of 472 in Seoul
86 reviews
Benikea Hotel Flower
#191 of 472 in Seoul
61 reviews
New Boolim Tourist Hotel
#208 of 472 in Seoul
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Unique
#351 of 472 in Seoul
8 reviews
Hotel Nostalgia
#333 of 472 in Seoul
28 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Tong Seoul Dongdaemun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WS Hotel

Property: WS Hotel
Address: 15-6, Sinchon-ro 18-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04058, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Sinchon / Ewha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WS Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WS Hotel is located in Shinchon where the most famous area of shopping, art and youth and you can enjoy transportation, tourism and leisure with an appropriate price. We will promise to offer comfortable service to customers. WS Hotel will serve for the essential service to the guest and give comfortable areas, brightest smiling, kind service and high speed WI-FI service to make more satisfied and we will upgrade the quality of business and tourists. WS Hotel will work hard for guests one by one as a comfortable house and tried to make good memories to them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing