We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing host and junior staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hi Guesthouse
Ranked #37 of 913 Seoul B&B and Inns
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Amazing host and junior staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

They give you privacy if you want privacy, if you want welcoming, and a home vibe they give you that too.
It's really whatever you want.
The host, Tae-Hwan seems to take great pains in aesthetics so by default, the guesthouse is very clean (they wash down the bathrooms every morning, vaccuum, change your bedsheets!(forthosewithlongerthanacoupledaysstays) and even smells so nice every day.
I have been staying here for little over a week now (still a bit more to go), and my time here has already solidified my view of Hi Guesthouse.
Promptly @8am, you always here the staff coming in and making the coffee (from starbucks, yay!), and you kind of hear the house starting to wake up.
It's a great feeling.
Obviously, with the shared dorms, much of your experience will also be left up to who you end up sleeping in with (if you're sensitive to noise/privacy, and the like)
but that is really not left to the hands of hi guesthouse itself, and they have signs everywhere reminding theguests to be respectful and such so that all our experiences here are pleasurable, so yup, that's why I would give this an excellent rating despite definately having the night I couldnt sleep due to outside factors.
Him and I'm pretty sure most if not all? his staff are bi to trilingual, so it's awesome, and kind of inspiring in a sense, that we can all kind of that if we put our minds to it.
Anways A+ for hi guesthouse itself and its homemakers :)

Also, for some add. info, this was my first ever stay at a guesthouse, let alone living in a shared format, and it was amazing! I was very worried about safety, but they are very accomodating if you're worried with keeping everything in your room, and there's lockers with keys that I can open lockup, then open, and lockup again, haha it's a great feeling ^^

i think I've said enough, so yup!
you guys should come here. if not for its cleanliness and quality, for its benevolent host. Isn't that what living's all about anyways? the good people.
OH! and it's location is amazing. i'm a native korean so I know. visitors might think its a long walk to hongdae, but in seoul, this is nothing.
in your SUBways there's walking like crazy, so if you can't handle this, then might as well get a tax for everything during your stay.

Room Tip: bring earplugs/theeyemask if you're sensitive to noise/light. The travelers here are all-hours h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YOOHOO_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    24
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
8
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lille, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location of the guest house is very good, just near the crazy hongdae place where you will find good music and nice restaurants (bbq) but it is not noisy because in a calm street. It is also near 3 metro stations. The owner is very nice and friendly. The rooms are clean and cheap. the roof terrace is very pleasant. For sure you will enjoy !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djedjeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

When I travel I normally would stay at a regular hotel....this is the first time I have experienced staying at a guesthouse wherein you need to share your living space with people you dont really know. I admit, I really didnt like the idea at first but thanks to my friends I was able to enjoy this kind of set up. The rooms, kitchen and bathroom are just normal but very clean, nothing really fancy. Who needs an expensive and fancy room anyway, you just need a place where you can leave your luggage and a place to get a good night sleep after your whole day of sight seeing in Seoul. What I love best about my stay here is not the complimentary breakfast ( although it really scored them some points...I so miss the peanut butter and jam ) but how they treat their guests. Its like staying at a friend's house. The moment you come in you will definitely experience the homey, at ease kind of feeling that you will only have at places you are familiar with. I was able to experience first hand how caring these people were, one of the guests got sick because of soju (do i need to explain more) so they carried this person back to the guesthouse (roughly 15-20 mins walk and temp is below zero) and theykept on asking the room mates of the said guest if that person is okay. It really shows how concerned they were. Kudos to you guys Tae Hwan, Sin Jae and kwon, hope to see you guys again. If ever I go back to Seoul I will definitely stay at his place, no doubt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsshhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
313 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place is very small and cramped. It has 3 floors and they are not connected internally -- this means you'd have to go outside the building to go to other floors. Imagine doing this during winter! There's only one bathroom on each floor. The bathrooms are well equipped enough. But only one person can use it at any one time, because the toilet, sink and 2 showers are all in the same one bathroom -- an illogical arrangement. You can use the washing machines for free (with detergent and dryer) only after 6 pm. As the place is very small, every sound can be heard, eg. details of people's conversations outside. Sometimes there are late-night parties -- forget about sleeping when there's one. The place is plastered with all kinds of rules and regulations, such as: "Do not stay in this (common) area after 12 am", "Do not use the hairdryer after 11 pm", "Do not close the door loudly", "We provide bread and butter and jam and eggs (in the fridge) only between 8 and 11 am". The irony is that no one ever follows any of these rules. Guests bang the doors with explosive noise. You can hear hairdryers, talking and shouting, etc, in the middle of the night. Rooms are very small but quite cosy. Reasonable standard of cleanliness. There are 2 computers that worked quite well and an air-purifier that dispels bad smells in the common area. Pricey for what you get. Location is in a quiet and reasonably pleasant residential neighborhood. The only subway station within reasonable walking distance is Mangwon station. It is not really near Hongkik University - at least 20-30 minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friend stayed at Hi guesthouse when he went to Seoul last December and was really impressed with the service that he tagged us along when he came back with us last week. Stayed there from April 7-14 and had soo much fun with Tae-Hwan , Kwon, Sin Jae Oppa and the other guests who were there. There were 5 of us who stayed in a six-bedroom-dorm and it was very clean, comfy and they provide free breakfast too. Wifi connection is also good. The location is good enough for me, it is near the subway, ministop and some coffee shops too. And yeah it's true! They treat their guests as friends! It really felt like home! Tae-Hwan even organized a party for everyone who stayed there. I drank the night away that I passed out in the bathroom! Soju killed me that night! Tae-Hwan and Kwon and the other guys literally carried me home to my embarrassment. So if you are planning to drink your heart out in Seoul without damaging your self-esteem the following day (wink, wink), you should come to this place. Will definitely stay at HI Guesthouse again when I go back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ladyl0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had stayed two guesthouses during my trip to Seoul early this month. I'm actually much preferred this one. The reasons are:
1. very clean, everything is quite new
2. the bathroom is excellent. the shower temperature is easily controlled (very important during winter).
3. very relaxed and quiet place, we felt like the whole 3rd floor was belonged us. : ) breakfast is self-service
4. The TV is kinda new with USB port. We watched some vampire diaries series at nights in the room. :P

Downside:
1. The hostel is not exactly very close to the Mangwon station. i felt like 5-10 mins walking. and definitely not near to Hongdae area, requiring 20 mins walking.

If you don't mind to stay in slightly quiet neighborhood, away from MyeongDong and other shopping area, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enig_Hui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed in Seoul for 6 days. It was my first time going to Seoul and I didn't know anybody there so I decided to stay in a guesthouse to meet new people. I looked up on Tripadvisor for a good place to stay and without any second thoughts, decided to go with Hi Guesthouse because of the wonderful reviews it has.

The reviews about Hi Guesthouse is definitely true. The owner, Taehwan, and the other staff in the guesthouse, Sin Jae and Yu, were just as friendly, accommodating, and helpful as been said in the reviews by others who stayed in Hi Guesthouse. They treat their guests as friends which makes the whole stay wonderful. Every now and then, Taehwan would organize get-togethers for all the guests. This has made the whole stay brilliant because you become friends with everyone in the guesthouse.

Every morning, the guesthouse is being cleaned by either Taehwan, Sin Jae, or Yu. The restrooms are immaculately clean and smelling fresh all the time. Also, for the very cheap price you are paying, you also get to have free breakfast (bread, eggs, jam, and coffee) every morning. Besides that, towels, toothpaste, shampoo, and conditioner are also provided for so that's a few things to less worry for.

Location wise, Hi Guesthouse can be easily found. I just followed the directions provided and didn't have problems finding the place. The guesthouse is very near Mangwon station. There are also coffee shops, convenience stores, salons, and restaurants just near the guesthouse so any quick need that you suddenly require is no problem.

I will definitely stay in Hi Guesthouse again when I go back to Seoul. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatchG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Come Inn Guesthouse
Come Inn Guesthouse
#1 of 913 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Hongdae
Mr. Comma Guesthouse
Mr. Comma Guesthouse
#14 of 913 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Hongdae
Namu Guesthouse
Namu Guesthouse
#43 of 913 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sinchon / Ewha
Chocolate Tree
Chocolate Tree
#8 of 913 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
YE'4 Guesthouse
#30 of 913 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Hongdae
Duriworld House
Duriworld House
#23 of 913 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Guesthouse

Property: Hi Guesthouse
Address: 32, Donggyo-ro 15-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04003, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hi Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing