We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece of history and architecture”

Gyeongbokgung Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Half-day Walking Tour: Gyeongbokgung Palace and Bukchon Hanok Village
Ranked #4 of 751 things to do in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Museum of Korea and the National Folk Museum are located on the grounds of this palace, built six centuries ago by the founder of the Chosun dynasty.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great piece of history and architecture”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed the beauty of this. Unfortunately, when we went it was cold and I don't think we gave the palace due justice. There isn't much to do, but we also had our son and were not able to spend a good amount of time taking a tour or audio tour. I am certainly glad we saw this beautiful palace though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank amanda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,534
    2,827
    788
    67
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Its an amazing and Historic place where you can learn a lot about South Koreans. Keep your schedule free for most part of the day as the area is huge and could find a lot of things of interest.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SSmith375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kedah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Korea 1st Palace”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It famous of its name " Korea first palace", strategically located at the heart of Seoul. You must visit this place as it is where the history of Korea is born. The royal of Korea is establish here.

Chinese, Japanese and English translate is available here, the chinese translator could speak fluent chinese enable us to understand the story of this Palace. It is a place full of "Feng Shui" arrangement and every single building has it own meanings. Then you could discover that how smart the Korean built it country.

If you come Korea but miss this place then you know Korea nothing better. I would strongly recommend you to visit here and follow the tour guide translate so to help you understand what you are seeing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank eddysuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Palace”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

You need to know in advance when you would like to visit as this place has weird times for visitors. They seem to favour tour groups.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmThong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
374 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Some Amazing History”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a very cool place right in the middle of the city. It reminds me very much of the forbidden city in China, but apparently is older. It is much smaller scale than China and not as busy. If you are in the downtown area it is well worth the visit. The changing of the guards happens everyday at 11am and is really interesting. The costumes and pageantry are very interesting to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyeongbokgung Palace also viewed

 

Been to Gyeongbokgung Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing