We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Evening Ghost Walking Tour in Seoul
254

Book in advance
from
$35.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Deoksugung
from $35.00
More Info
from $35.47
More Info
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveler rating
418
494
157
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
418
494
157
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city hall worth a visit palace architecture king emperor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Deoksugung is one of the 5 royal palaces in Seoul. It is covered by the Royal Palace Pass, but entry is only 1000KW. It is a small palace compared to the other main palaces, but I think one of the nicer and more interesting. The architecture reflects a blend of Korean with western influences.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

This palace is a lot smaller compared to the others. Easily walked through the entire grounds within 30minutes. The changing of guards is not to be missed. The audio guide can be rented at the entrance.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank ellycmc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

Interesting collection of traditional Korean architecture (e.g., Daehanmun Gate, Junghwajeon Hall, etc), a fusion of Korean and European architecture in Jeonggwanheon Hall, then more classical European in Seokjojeon Hall and the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art (both fronted by a European garden). All overlooked by the high rise buildings of modern Seoul! I relatively small complex, easy to traverse in 60 or 90 minutes, but the architectural contrasts are a highlight. Along with the changing of the guard! 11am, 2pm, and 3:30pm. Noisy, colorful and informative - really well presented, and plenty of photo opportunities at the end.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank H3565SVscottw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

This palace opening hours are 9am to 9pm. I visited this palace just before 6pm, initially hoping to stay until dark to capture the compound with its lightings. However, the palace is rather small, with only 6 buildings in total. As such, I spent only an hour here and left, not willing to wait till sunset around 8pm.

The buildings architecture and design are generally the same as other palaces. One unique building is Jeonggwanheon Pavilion, built by a Russian architect, incorporating Korean and Western designs. This pavilion was used for banquets for foreign visitors when they visited the palace.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank LG_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

We ventured here for the free rental of Hanbok, and the changing of guards performance:

Changing of Guards ceremony 11:00(1st Time) / 14:00(2nd Time) / 15:30(3rd Time)
Closed on Mondays.

We queued for the Hanbok at 1300, as the sign stated that the counter will be opened at 1330.
The counter eventually opened at 1345, with crowds over-powering the queue. We voiced out to the crowd and the attending lady in charge. Yet, the lady in charge replied that she only attends to the people who approached her first, regardless of the queue.
Hence, we voiced out to the crowd that there was queue and be sensible to those who have waited for 45mins. We were lucky as the crowd were English speakers and they take heed to our comments.
Beware of the lady attending to you, she was rude and abrupt.
Well.... we were here for the Hanboks, just swallow what her comments were.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Thamjiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews