We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true jewel, not to be missed !”
Review of Jungsik

Jungsik
Ranked #3 of 122,593 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A true jewel, not to be missed !”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If there was a Michelin Guide of Seoul, Jungsik would be rated at least two stars and even maybe three (the food is worth 3, the setting 2).

The food is a mix of Korean and Western cuisine, extremely innovative with powerful flavours, still perfectly balanced.

Every dish is a piece of art.

The location of the restaurant is not easy to find but jewels should not be too easy to discover.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guyzack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    81
    18
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant had come up on a number of sites and was highly rated. Was eating with a vegetarian and had e-mailed a query to ask if there was a vegetarian menu. We did not receive a response so took a chance and hoped that she would not have to eat a salad while the rest of us stuffed our faces. The restaurant was most accomodating as our booking had gone from 5 to 7 to 10 and back to 5.

Additionally, to our relief, they were going to make a "surprise" vegetarian menu for our friend. There was a choice of a 6 course tasting menu or a five course one where there were three choices for each course. Our waitress whose english was pretty good, was charming and extremely helpful with the recommendations. The menu does change frequently so the dishes we had available to us may not be available at another time. The dishes we had were excellent- delicate, tasty and nicely presented. In particular, the Bibim with raw beef was wonderful as was the pork jowl. My vegetarian friend's surprise dinner was also excellent and very varied. Very interesting food based on traditional Korean dishes. You recognise the base dish but the food is a delightful variation thereon. A great evening, with excellent service and very good food. Would highly recommend this restaurant as a very good place to eat

Be aware though that because the restaurant is on the third floor of a commercial building, cabs seem to have a problem with finding of the retaurant despite the omnipresent gps systems so it is necessary to get someone to write the address out in Korean and print a map if possible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An absolute highlight of our trip”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Amazing, interesting, intriguing food can be a bit of a let down sometimes but our experience here was just fantastic - such novel, witty dishes - we had read some rave reviews (which sometimes lead to a bit of a let down) and it lived up to every word of praise and acclaim. Exciting food in beautiful environment and very good value indeed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanstead78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Modern Korean Cuisine”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Ending our 6 day culinary adventure in Korea taught me enough to appreciate Jung Sik Dang's goal of reinventing traditional Korean cuisine using modern techniques without stripping the authentic Hangul flavor. My hubby and I had the 9-course degustation menu and were floored by Chef's Yim's creativity while keeping to the integrity of Korean cuisine. Even dessert was spectacular and very artistic. While we loved the food, there are still areas of improvement.

Finding this place was extremely difficult---enough to be 45 minutes late for a reservation that was only 12 minutes away from our hotel. The signage was also in Korean without any English translation. The restaurant manager seemed annoyed at how late we were but made it up by hailing us our cab and personally seeing us out himself. I think he felt sorry for us when he found out the great lengths we went to dining in this restaurant (including our cab's head-on collision with another car while trying to find the exact address). The only minor complaint I had with regards to an otherwise excellent dining experience, was the redundant use of foam in 3 of the courses, This meal doesn't come cheap and the restaurant's casual atmosphere/dress code seems a bit off for the price it commands. However, considering the high costs of living in Seoul (costs the same as Tokyo) and the invaluable culinary experience---it was worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vbs710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungsik also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Jungsik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing