We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HONG GUESTHOUSE”
Review of Air Hostel Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Air Hostel Seoul
Ranked #521 of 958 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012

great place to stay in for business or travel.
location near dongdaemun with less than 10mins walk.
nice atmosphere and friendly services by staffs.
roof top bar serving drinks and leisure places.
some guesthouse activities launching every week
enjoy the staying!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0ssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongguesthouse, Manager at Air Hostel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

wow thank you for your awsome review ~ have a good trip ~~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Air Hostel Seoul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks because its very cheap, and the central location make it easy to go anywhere. No breakfast, just your basic needs. The hostel has 4 floors without lift, so it'll be hard if you have heavy luggage, but they will help you bring up your bags upstairs (the receptionist did that for me). Korean food is abundant nearby, depending on your appetite. If you need western food, just walk to Doota nearby. For Muslim travelers, you can eat kimbap or just order shrimp or squid burgers from Lotteria which are scattered everywhere in Korea (Doota has one too). If you need rice to eat with your instant side dish, go to the mart and buy the instant rice for less than 2,000 won.

Room Tip: Opt for room at lower floors for less climbing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabyGee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongguesthouse, Manager at Air Hostel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Thank yor for your thoughtful review. Your tips and reviews are very important to us and our guests. Now, we can provide a number of "Hala" food providing restaurants and stores available in Seoul. David ^^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hong Guesthouse is located within 5mins walk from the metro and is surrounded by many family run food stalls. Great for an authentic Korean cuisine experience. Bad if you need international cuisine :). Dongdaemun is also within walking distance so you can shop till 5am with no worries.

There is no lift in this guesthouse and the reception is at the top floor. 5th or 6th floor I think. Aircon controller wasn't working, receptionist tried to help but gave up after awhile with a sheepish shrug.

Checkout was a breeze and you are able to leave your bags at the guesthouse as you do some last minute shopping. Bags are stored in an "open" area so I wouldn't store valuables there if I were you.

Lastly, as this is a guesthouse, bring your own toiletries and manage your expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongguesthouse, Manager at Air Hostel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hello my name is David Manager at Hong guesthouse, Thank you for staying with us, We hope you had a great time in Korea. Cheers
`

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good clean room with big TV and water cooler. Great location - all restaurants and seesights were close. Clean every day. Calm. Bigbathroom with sauna effect :)
Comfortable prices, but i advice to book before.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongguesthouse, Manager at Air Hostel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Hey thank you for sharing your experience at kimchee Dongdaemun Guesthouse. We hope you had great time while you stay in Korea ~~ Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I arrived at mid-night to the hotel and was welcomed by a drunken receptionist. Part of it was my fault that I arrived 1 hour later than planned, but I was really shocked. And what made it even worse that he could not locate my booking in the system; I had to show him the acknowledgement email on my mobile phone about my booking several days ago. It took me some waiting to get him allocate a bed for me.
I stayed in a four-bed dormitory room, which was okay for me. The bed was clean and I was given bed sheets, towel, and pillow cover, so hygiene wasn't a problem here. However, the hostel is close to a crowded area and the sound insulation of the walls was terrible, so I was woken up early in the morning by noises in the neighborhood. If you want to find a place to really rest after a tiring day, this is not for you.
Considering the money I paid (12,000KRW/day), I think I can't ask more. Still if your budget is available, there are better places.

Room Tip: Noisy neighborhood and the room was cold
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongguesthouse, Manager at Air Hostel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

hey Thank you for your review. Please let any staff know if you feel cold in the room, we have extra portable heaters. We are located in busy street downtown Seoul, Please ask us again for any problem, we can at least provide you with better options such as more quieter dorm room or simple ear plugs. Thank you for staying with us and have a good trip. David ^^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staffs are very helpful and friendly. most of them from foreign country?they are white men。
water、shower.......all are good。
mixed room is a little small。
no elevator 。
but you can left luggage in the first floor。
wifi is free and fast。

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongyan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongguesthouse, Manager at Air Hostel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hello, Thank you for your review. Your reviews are very important to us. Some of us are non-korean and travelers in Korea too^^, we would like to share our experience and tips. Please don't hesitate to ask us. Cheers David ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hostel is in a good location but for the same price or just slightly more you can have a much more comfortable stay in a hotel. If what you are looking for is company or partying this may be the right place, but if you just looking for a cheap and decent place to stay, i think Seoul has much better to offer. The room we were in was very small and i was given two single bed sheets and blankets for a double bed which seemed to be normal practice. There is no space in the room for suitcases. Because of overbooking on our second stay we had to look for another place and got to a love hotel not far. It was only a few euros more than this hostel, but so much better! Never again in this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank driazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongguesthouse, Manager at Air Hostel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi there Thank you for your review and I am very sorry for overbooking situation. This happened because your reservation has been ended and we had to honor previously booked customers. We would like our customers get to know each other and make new friends, and that's all. We have a light party every weekend at our roof top cafe and please come and join us. Cheers David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Tong Seoul Dongdaemun
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Star Hostel Dongdaemun Suite
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Star Hostel Seoul Dongdaemun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K-Guesthouse Insadong 2
#95 of 958 in Seoul
14 reviews
Guesthouse The Maru
#402 of 958 in Seoul
22 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Philstay Dongdaemun Economic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Air Hostel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air Hostel Seoul

Address: 25-2, Daehak-ro 2-gil, Jongno-gu | airhostelseoul, Seoul 03126, South Korea (Formerly Kimchee Dongdaemun Guesthouse)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 958 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: $32 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Air Hostel Seoul 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airhostel Seoul puts you in the heart of everything Seoul has to offer. Extremely informative English & Chinese-speaking staff offering detailed information on directions, attractions, good shows, some of the Korea's most popular restaurants, cafes, bars, and clubs.We have a wide selection of rooms: from private ensuite rooms to a 4-bed dorm for the really price conscious travelers. Walking distance to Dongdaemun Shopping malls(10mins), Jongno 5-ga Metro Station (3mins), Direct Airport Bus Stop #6002 (3mins), Cheonggyecheon Stream (5mins), Jongmyo (Royal Shrine) (5mins), KwangJang Market(5mins), Changdeokgung Palace (10mins), Changgyeonggung Palace(10mins), Gyeongbokgung Palace(20mins). Our reception opens from 9am to 10pm, manned by our friendly staff, we are happy to help you with any inquiries you may have! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Air Hostel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing