We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but noisy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Ranked #145 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient but noisy location”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Checked into Hamilton Hotel for 4 days.
Location is very convenient - just directly above the Itaewon train station.
Many eateries along and opposite of the hotel.

Rooms - Stepped into the room and it smells of cigarette most likely by the previous guest though it was suppose to be non-smoking rooms... Requested for a double bed but got 2 singles instead... Out of 4 electric socket only one was working and the one that was working was also 'limping' though I used an adapter.
The room has an LCD TV, an electric kettle, high-tech switch system where you can switch off the lights from your bedside. Air con control was not that good as one of the night I was feeling so warm despite setting the temperature to 20degrees!
Design of the room was quite old fashion compared to many other hotels that I have stayed.
Room cleaning service was good, at least the room was clean.

Bathroom - No toothbrush/toothpaste provided. All that was provided was a pair of comb, 2 bars of soap, 1 shower cap and some body lotion which I did not use. The lucky thing was... towels still provided! Therefore if you decided to stay here, please bring your own toiletries!!!
The streets were quite noisy even at almost 2am, worst when it was weekend! Many foreigners and locals hung around the vicinity of the hotel as I heard it was some clubbing area where people party. Not much of a problem sleeping as by the time I reach the hotel, I was dead tired from all the shopping and walking.

There is a water dispenser near the lift area which dispenses hot and cold water.
Lobby area - There are maps for tourist which is quite useful and it introduces some of the restaurants in myeodong area which are quite nice. Show the advertisements and you can get discount off your dining!

Hotel reception - On the first day when I checked-in, the receptionist was not so friendly (did not smile).... On the day of check-out the receptionist (another lady) was better. We extended the room another half day until 6pm as we were taking a night flight. Reasonable price of 50,000won.

Overall I would say that the location is good but if you prefer somewhere less noisy, you might not want to be here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleChanHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    154
    144
    37
    19
See reviews for
57
54
56
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of May. Rooms are standard with slightly dated decor, however, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are a good size, and the bathroom clean. The hotel itself is not the best bit of this hotel, it's the location that sets it apart.

It's located directly at the top of the metro steps making getting around Seoul a breeze.

Within walking distance is a long street of restaurants - Korean and international, lots of clubs and bars, and some nice shops. Directly opposite the hotel is a cafe that offers free waffles every morning!

Wifi in this hotel is great and we were able to pick it up in most of the surrounding restaurants.

The hotel has an outdoor pool that was closed whilst I was there (although I heard it's great), and a spa in the basement,

Room Tip: When they check you in make sure you remove the sticker for your key card that says your name and ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The heater does not work properly hence it controlled itself and heated the room up to unbearablly hot. The lights switched themselves on and off at night. The hotel is near a busy junction and 24 hours bars hence we can hear every single noise at night! It's so noisy we can't sleep. The hotel foyer always smell like garden fertilizer. Glasses still have lipstick marks on them. The hotel tv has 80 channels and only 1 in English . Terrible hotel don't stay there

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t2lae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Sandvika, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

For once I will not talk about the Hotel at first, but the area: Itaewon is a former red lights district in Seoul for american soldiers out on R&R on their day off. The area has now changed to cater for a number of cofee shops, restaurants and clothes shops, both international brands and local. The area has an international feel and is a fun area to stay in.
The hotel is conveniently located 30 meters from the airport bus stop, and 10 minutes by taxi to Seoul Station. It takes only 15 minutes to walk to the War Memorial and museum, one of the best museums I have been to with three different 3D and 4D shows. The entrance is free and you can easily spend a day there.
The hotel is average but very well sound proofed. Nothing to write home about but not bad either. The hotel has free wifi. There you go - have fun!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Milk-Sheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

As far as I can see, there are only one reason to book a night at Hamilton, ant that is not to have a quiet night sleep, but a great lot of fun.
Itaewon Bar District outside the entrance, you can't get closer to the nightlife.
It Is noisy, and the hotel itself is a 2+ star to a 5 star price.
1 (2) nights is ok.

Room Tip: Try to avoid near the elevators. there are lot of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andorengebakken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beat, and I guess that's why they get away with charging as much as they do. The quality is what you would expect in a 40-50,000 won hotel -- and they charged 132,000won! on a weekday! It's not a bad place, it's clean, has a good shower, but it's kind of dingy and run-down and not worth the money they charge for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jensekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hotel is very central and the hot water is instantaneous, but the area is very different to other places we stayed in Seoul. It is like I imagine an American city might be like.

We stayed in two deluxe rooms, but they were rather basic. The staff are very polite and helpful but the area is not quiet and can be very noisy when trying to sleep.

Many great Western restaurants in the area, and lots to see and do, but we will stay elsewhere on any trip to Seoul.

The free internet is slow, but it is free which is great for emails.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Klog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#262 of 497 in Seoul
47 reviews
Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
#372 of 497 in Seoul
240 reviews
Hotel Capital
#393 of 497 in Seoul
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shilla Stay Seocho
#160 of 497 in Seoul
23 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#70 of 497 in Seoul
2,123 reviews
Itaewon
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hotel Seoul

Property: Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Address: 179, Itaewon-ro | Yongsan-gu, Seoul 140-200, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton Hotel Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Hamilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing