We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Seoul!”
Review of Sejong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sejong Hotel
Ranked #79 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Was upgraded to a suite overlooking Myeongdong shopping area.....beautiful clean room with living area.......warm, pleasant and extremely helpful staff. Had no problem with directions. Location of hotel is strategic. Had a most comfortable and memorable stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabnam62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked a deluxe twin but they upgraded me to a newly renovated room when I checked in for a 2-night stay on May 17. Much has been said by other reviewers about the hotel's location nearby the Meongdyong shopping district, so I won't touch on that.
The hotel lobby is on the first floor, up an escalator. Check-in was smooth and quick, but then it was not the peak season and there was no crowd. Staff are helpful and polite. Didn't try any of the restaurants so no comment.
The room was newly renovated, not too big so if you have big bags then you may find it a little cramped. Bed and pillows are comfortable enough for a good night's sleep.
Bath is the shower within a bathtub type, that is two in one. You stand inside the bathtub if you want to shower.
Now the piece de resistance: the 'throne' in the bathroom. It's heated and it comes with a remote control! Not of TV remote control size, but a bigger retangular slab with different functions. There are different types of washes: for adults, the elderly, children and one that I don't get.
And there is a blowdry function! Hot air to dry your bottom, not unlike a hairdryer! How cool is that! I have come across heated 'thrones' before, but not one that goes to such lengths. I suppose this feature is installed only in the higher-end rooms.
My stay was during the low season, so it was really worth it. Getting from airport to hotel and vice versa is easy: hop on the 6015 bus at the airport and you get off an hour 10 minutes later right in front of the hotel's entrance.
From Sejong Hotel, the subway, shopping districts are not far away. Mini markets abound within the vicinity so snacks are always available. Everything is within easy walking distance.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeongml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

For tourists visiting Seoul over a short period of time with a modest budget, Sejong hotel would be a good choice. The hotel is conveniently located in Myeongdong area-- a huge shopping district in Seoul-- so it is practically close to everything, including major tourist attractions. The hotel is very accessible to every mode of transporation such as the Metro Seoul (subway lines), taxis, local buses, and airport bus.

Getting There

From the airport, purchase a bus ticket (KRW10,000 per person) from the ticket counters outside the arrival area. Ride bus #6015 at bus stop 5B for about an hour and it will directly drop you off in front of Sejong Hotel. This bus has two stops in Myeongdong: 1) Ibis Hotel and 2) Sejong Hotel. You would also take the same bus in front of the hotel if you are going back to the airport. In addition, the hotel is just a few meters away from Myeongdong Station (line 4) Exit 10. Once you go out, turn right and the subway station is right there. The main shopping district in Myeongdong is also just a couple of blocks from the hotel. In Myeongdong you would find a lot of restaurants and shops but it can get really crowded in the afternoon 'til late night.

Hotel Experience

Overall, I had a pleasant stay at Sejong Hotel. The lobby was elegant-looking and spacious but there are only a few chairs/sofa in case you wanna sit while waiting to be checked in. The room was moderate in size and the pieces of furniture are a bit old, but it was pretty clean and decent. Though the design of the rooms are not modern, the toilet was high-tech and the TV was surprisingly huge and flatscreen. From the room, you can see the Namsan Tower and it looks really nice at night. Meanwhile, there are plenty of toiletries but bring your own toothbrush and toothpaste because they do not provide it for free. The staffs are polite, courteous, and very helpful. In fact, I was able to check in early. Generally, my stay was pretty okay. However, I think the rooms' interior need to be refurbished a bit and make them more contemporary. That's just my suggestion, anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheSoloTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were warmly greeted at Sejong hotel with polite concierge when we alighted the taxi. Our check in was prompt and staff were courteous and spoke good English.
We were given a room with a fantastic view of the Namsan Souel Tower on the 15th floor! The view at night was breathtaking. The room was very spacious for the 3 of us.
Location wise it is quite central as it is around the Myeondong shopping district . Near and not too noisy with the night markets around, just walking distance to shops and food places. An added bonus was that airport bus stops right in front of the hotel. The subway station is also right in front of the hotel too.
Will definitely recommend anyone going to Seoul and will stay there whenever we are there.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room facing the mountain otherwise the traffic on the main road will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

location is great (especially for shoppers). myeongdong is just right behind with cozy restaurants close by. room was spacious enough with comfortable beddings. loved the pillows and comforters. great breakfast choices. lobby looks great and the hotel theme and design were elegantly executed, suits hotel name. wifi available in the lobby as well as a business center.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara_sujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

On my Seoul trip recently , I stay at Sejong hotel and i am glad to stay there , alot of plus point , It is near to the metro line at exit 10 ( Just outside the door, turn to your right ) it also has a airport bus service which you can alight and board ( also just outside on the right handside ) but I was most impressed with their service , they often had a smile on their face everytime we pass the lobby. When we got there , the check in was fast ( I mean really fast unlike other hotels which you have to wait here and there ) then there was this bell boy who told us that he would get the luggages for us ( Plus point , we had eight luggages and were big and small mixed together ) he show us to the rooms , how to operate the door and told us should we need anything , just call the ext number ( he gave to us ) , I was impressed as staying in a lot of hotels , this was the first for me and I did not order a suite or president room , it was just a normal room so yap I would recommend this hotel , the negative point was the who;e building aircon was out of order but they did alot of recovery which was a plus point like bringing up a fan asking how we are .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thunderrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

2 night business trip and the perfect location. Only gripe is that putting a no smoking sign in a room does not make a smoke smelling room smell any better.
Otherwise hard to fault. Good size rooms, good breakfast, helpful staff and well positioned.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecooks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Royal Hotel Seoul
Royal Hotel Seoul
#33 of 505 in Seoul
1,015 reviews
Prince Hotel Seoul
#47 of 505 in Seoul
1,074 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Pacific Hotel
#96 of 505 in Seoul
455 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sejong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sejong Hotel

Address: 145, Toegye-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04537, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#51 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $80 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sejong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sejong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Sejong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing