We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable price and helpful staff”
Review of Seoul Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seoul Backpackers
Ranked #221 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have a great stay at this hostel for 3 nights. The hostel is near to Nadaemon Market, just walking distance with many eateries.

The room is clean and spaces compare with the previous budget hostel that I stayed before.

Very near to subway station too, once you know how to take the subway, it's easy to explore Seoul.

The staff are very helpful to check for us the direction to places that we wanna visit. One thing not so convenient is you have to re-confirm 4 times with them to secure your room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyKL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hostel is a nice cosy, budget accommodation for all. Room is clean and hotel is accessible if you know the right direction from the subway station. Staff is approachable and helpful. Many many eateries surrounding the hostel too. However, toilet was remarkably empty with no hooks, hangers, bars or shelves. No space to place any toiletries, towels or clothing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwtan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

a nice and clean hotel that located near to the city.
easy to access, and reasonable price, very suitable for backpackers!
the staff here is very nice to approach, you can ask for any travel information with them, and they are very glad to assist.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am experience travel from Australia and would not recomend booking this hostel.
The hostel is very shabby ( for example the toilet dispenser fell off the wall ), sewer gases leaked into the bathroom and antiquated box television did not work normally. Location is not that exceptional and hostel is in a very narrow alley way where you have to defend your self from speeding motorbikes.
I moved out second day and relocated to Applebackpackers .... 38,000 KRW single bed room with double bed ( near Insadong ) in quiet neighbour hood, excellent location to all Seoul attractions and close to metro ( you are only 9 min from Seoul Station ) which is very cheap 1000 KRW per trip . I was only going to stay 2 days @ Apple backpackers, but stayed 6 days because the Apple backpackers is spotless clean, very comfortable beds and good english is spoken.

Happy travels from tom of .....Melbourne....

Room Tip: If you wish to enjoy your stay in Seoul.... at all cost..... avoid Seoul backpackers ...45,000 KRW h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3431tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in Seoul Backpackers for 3 days before departing to Jeju. It's very near to subway. Make sure you took Exit 4 at Hoehyeon station cos it's the nearest exit. I booked triple room and it's quite spacious. They provide free tea and coffee but no breakfast. You can also do laundry with charge of KRW5,000. There is an elevator so for those who have big luggage with you, no need to worry. Receptionist is very helpful. Namdaemun market is just across the street, you can go there every night. I have tried walk from Myeong-dong to this guest house, it is reachable but not recommended :P. Overall, it's a very basic hostel and you got what you paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahelasumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great time going around in Seoul. A memorable 4N/5D stay. The staff were great. Clean place, good value for money. Only 3min walk to the subway station. The Nandaemun market is just across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hashimsalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hostel was conveniently located few minutes from the subway. Basically, if you just need a place to drop your stuffs and be out all day to experience Seoul this is it! Not to be worried though, staff speaks limited english but is very accommodating with our DMZ tour arrangement. They have a driver who picks you up from hostel to DMZ meet up point. Overall, it was nice experience. Free coffee/tea except that they didn't put any toiletries/towel on our bathroom, glad we got our travel kit items. Definitely this hostel is a good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor area and prefers privacy on my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Bong Backpackers
#263 of 590 in Seoul
9 reviews
Backpackers Inside
#3 of 590 in Seoul
286 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Apple Backpackers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namsan Guesthouse 2
#27 of 590 in Seoul
363 reviews
Banana Backpackers
#31 of 590 in Seoul
175 reviews
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#15 of 504 in Seoul
3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seoul Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seoul Backpackers

Address: 205-125 Namchang-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-051, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 590 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $35 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Seoul Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Backpackers Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing