We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fine! Slightly shabby but clean, great location and good price.”
Review of Guesthouse Korea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guesthouse Korea
Ranked #304 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed at this guesthouse for two weeks with my mother. We both had private rooms (with ensuite) for about $37 US a night.

When we first arrived at Guesthouse Korea we had the strange sensation of gate-crashing a private home (personal clutter spread about, friends' of the manager hanging out in the living room, etc). However, once we checked in and got used to the non-hotel-like atmosphere we actually felt very much at home.

The management is very friendly and helpful (they stored our luggage for us for ten days while we traveled around Korea). The rooms are worn yet clean. It has laundry (big bonus in Korea!). You can use the kitchen to cook/heat meals. Wifi available in the rooms. Very quiet yet extremely convenient location. Etc, etc.

My advice is, if you stay here just have realistic expectations of what $37 a night in a great location will get you. This place is actually a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60713Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Korea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2009

I have been living in Korea for more than two years. Currently I live in Gyeonggi Province, so when my girlfriend came to visit, I thought why not stay in Seoul for a night before heading to my place. I have stayed in hostels in the Jongno area before, so I am familiar with the usual price range and quality. You expect to pay around 30-36,000 Won for a single en-suite, and 38-48,000 Won for a double en-suite these days. And that would mean fairly spacious, clean, bright rooms with complimentary soaps, clean towels etc.

Guesthouse Korea is by a long shot the worst place I have ever stayed in, including hostels in developing countries like Marocco or Viet Nam. The only good things I can say about are the location and the level of English of the staff. But there are plenty of far better options in the very same area, and after ten years of heavy emphasis on English language acquisition by the Korean government's curriculum I think it's fair to expect some knowledge of English.

Bad points are aplenty:

The entire guesthouse is messy and very dirty.
The room we stayed in (211) just about fit two beds in and by no means mirrors the photos on the website/prospectus.
The bed linen looked messy and was very likely not washed. (Freshly washed clothes/linen have a different feel to them.)
The room was dark (tiny window) and the only light, on the other hand, was suitable for an interrogation room (extremely bright).
The entire room was dusty, greasy, and a look under the beds showed you that this room was not cleaned in a long time.
As pointed out, the bathroom had no towels, no soaps, no nothing to offer.
Staff was cooking smelly food in the lounge.

I have every understanding for start-up businesses who do not have much money to invest in beautification. I also have a lot of understanding for the Korean way of life, so let's discount the cooking in the lounge and take it as quirky.

What I have NO understanding for is people who are NOT hardworking. Beyond a doubt the owner and staff of this guesthouse that doesnt deserve the name guesthouse do not care about their guests. Because worst of all - and once again: I've stayed in other places in less developed countries - both my girlfriend and I suffered skin irritations after only one night in this guest house.

Do NOT under any circumstances stay in this hostel, even if it is the last option you got. If there is no room free, get a locker at Seoul station to put your luggage in and stay overnight in one of Seoul's many jimjilbangs (sauna) where you are also rest/sleep, and look for a room the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yongsagisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Admittedly the location of this guesthouse is excellent. So much for the pros. As we had to stay in Seoul for weeks and all other affordable places were booked, the first thing we did was buy new sheets and blankets in Dongdaemon market. We were determined to put up with it, but life in Guesthouse Korea was...er...hard. A steaming dog turd in the corridor was the highlight of our stay in this dump. The manager loves his dog.
The guesthouse is a dilapidated concrete block in desperate need of repairs that hasn't been cleaned up for ages. When we cleaned up our room in the beginning of our stay we filled a garbage bag with used tissues, plastic bottles and other trash - including a used condom.
The indifferent staff didn't provide any assistance except for a new roll of toilet paper now and then.
Not a quiet place either as the guesthouse is surrounded by milk distributors starting their business early in the morning, right after the bulk of English teachers stranded in the guesthouse finished partying.
I lost ten kilos living there. What else is there to tell. A great diet, a hellhole to live in. Don't trust the website. The pictures must have been taken 20 years ago.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Frankie-the-Hun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cairns, Australia
753
Reviewed October 13, 2005

This small, cheap & fairly clean guest house is an ideal place for a traveller on a budget, who plans to spend minimal time in their room, maximum time sightseeing, but who doesn't want to stay in a hostel dormitory.
It's located near Anguk Station in the center of Seoul. It's a short taxi or subway ride to the 2 biggest markets - Dangdaemon and Namdaemon and located near the palace.
See www.guesthouseinkorea.com for details.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ophrys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rhinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Описание номеров на сайте полностью соответствует действительности.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Галина С С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Hi Guesthouse
#41 of 958 in Seoul
135 reviews
Bong House
#51 of 586 in Seoul
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Hongdae Guesthouse
Hongdae Guesthouse
#29 of 958 in Seoul
116 reviews
Hostel Korea
#79 of 586 in Seoul
65 reviews
YE'4 Guesthouse
#39 of 958 in Seoul
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Korea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Korea

Address: 17, Yulgok-ro 10-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03134, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $12 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Korea 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guesthouse Korea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Korea Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing