We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hôtel! Very good service ”
Review of THE PLAZA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THE PLAZA
Ranked #24 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good hôtel! Very good service ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights for a business trip and I loved the location, the room and the staff!
Conveniently located at walking distance to many shops and the subway.
Executive floors have Hermes bath amenities!
I would defininetely come back here .

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Alain T,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time to share review.

It is glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff, and bathroom amenities. THE PLAZA has an access to the subway station and connected to the most famous shopping area, Myungdong, with underground. Also we are providing two different bath amenities depending on the floor. One is Hermes that you had in Executive floors and another one is Molton Brown for regular floors.


Once again I appreciate for your kind comment and I will look forward to meeting you soon at THE PLAZA.

Sincerely yours,

Shigeru Tamura,
Hotel CS Innovation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    509
    98
    21
    10
See reviews for
203
290
111
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Nice lobby area, good check in experience, lots of space, room and airy. Plus they give you a bottle of chilled water when you arrive.

I was upgraded to a twin suite. Lots of style (japanese reds, blacks, silver, mirrors etc). My living room was very comfortable with big tv.

Bed/s were comfortable but sleep quality very low due to single glazing. Football celebrations were going on outside until 4 am as S Korea played Belgium. I basically got no sleep.

Mini bar is ok but no wine. Room service is quick, efficient and good quality.. .but expensive..
in room kettle/coffee is a useful touch.

Overall I really wanted to like the hotel. But failed on the sleep factor. Didnt try the gym or pool unfortunately but based on other amenities I am sure they would be great.

Room Tip: ask for top floor to have a quieter experience maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OverworkedUnderpaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear OverworkedUnderpaid,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share the review on us.

It is very much regretful that we couldn’t provide you perfect sleep during your stay. Due to the Football celebration we assigned your room to be opposite side of Gwanghwamun area, where is the Football celebration going on.
Our hotel rooms facing Gwnahwamun and both edge of building on the opposite side only have double glazed windows to reduce the volume of noise from outside. However the room that you stayed was the opposite side of noise making area, therefore there were no double glazed windows. It is very unfortunate that we failed to provide you a quieter room.

I hope we have another chance to provide you our true level of comfort and service at THE PLAZA in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Shigeru Tamura,
Hotel CS Innovation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Health warning I: Do not go to the third floor unless you want to use your life insurance! The Japanese restaurant prices are stroke provoking. Nothing is less than $100. Most items are over $200.

Health warning II: Do not tempt yourself with the spa menu. Most treatments are greater than $200 with many as costly as $300. Have they replaced oil with gold leaf?

Luckily, the normal restaurant is only pricey. And breakfast is excellent with a plethora of options. The salmon varies on different days between fresh and beautifully displayed and haggard and lazily placed. The service is friendly and there is lots of seating space.

The rooms are a Woody Allen dream from his otherworldly early days coupled with "Think Big" (the old SoHo store). The electronics advanced; yet, the internet is slow which is a surprise for Korea.

The front desk is helpful and the maid staff honest. Many taxis wait outside. A Korean Air bus stops just outside (but goes in a looping direction to the airport that seems lacking in coordination).

Overall, it is worth the stay, but health and life insurance are required to handle some of the shocking prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear EDS71,

Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your precious time to share the comment.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the service.
Regarding the Japanese restaurant, Murasaki, we are trying to provide true level of authentic Kaiseki menu (Japanese traditional course menu). Therefore the menu price could be higher than regular Japanese restaurant.

If I am allowed to explain on the spa menu, THE PLAZA SPA Club provides the Medical spa which is combination of spa and dermatology.

I hope that my explanation gets your kind understanding and look forward to seeing you in the near future at THE PLAZA.

Sincerely yours,

Shigeru Tamura
Director of CS Innovation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Seoul. The design of the entire hotel is sleek and modern. The deluxe rooms have some unique design features. There are large windows that face the north which are the best views. These views, with Seoul City Hall and Bukhansan, are some of the best of Seoul. The bed is located in the middle of the room and face the window. While this may be suitable for couples, it may not suit other guests. The bath and shower are only separated by a glass wall from the bedroom, again not suitable except for couples. Since the bed is in the middle of the room, there isn’t much space in the room. But the bed is soft and excellent quality. The control panel of the room’s functions is a touch screen and it is very useful. The bathroom amenities are excellent quality. The postcards of the hotel, offered free in the rooms, is some of the best designed I have seen.

The breakfast is superb quality with abundant choice of Korean, Japanese and Chinese plus Western foods. There is an underground walkway and shopping gallery that connects the hotel to Myeong-dong. Not only are the shops useful but it allows you to walk indoors to Myeong-dong on rainy days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Zoglets,

Thank you very much for your precious comment on THE PLAZA.

It is happy to hear that you enjoyed the nice view from the room and the breakfast. We try to provide various menus for breakfast in order to satisfy our guests from different countries and backgrounds.

We hope to see you again in the near future at THE PLAZA.

Sincerely yours,

Shigeru Tamura
Director of CS Innovation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at The Plaza for 3 nights after Christmas for my husband's cousin's wedding. From the beginning, the service was very pleasant. I like the sleek modern look of the lobby. The rooms we had looked over the main square to City Hall. The bathroom is probably the most amusing feature with a glass walled shower in direct view of the bedroom. You have to close the curtain for any privacy. Everything in the room is centrally controlled from a touchscreen menu. Lights, curtains, temperature, etc. I liked this and found it convenient.

Service was very good. We had to call a few times for ice, and they delivered it in a beautiful silver bucket w/ tongs. Other requests came promptly. The location is very convenient. It's a short cab ride to Itaewon and Gangnam of (< $10USD) for fun bars and clubbing. The cabs all seemed to take credit. We walked around the shopping district a lot. Lotte Mart the big mall and Ding Tai Fung for soupy dumplings are all walking distance. There's also a subway station entrance directly beneath the hotel. There is a convenient and affordable bus that takes you to the airport.

The wedding in the ballroom was gorgeous. It's actually in the annex across the street from the hotel. Glamorous tall white centerpieces, white drapery, a long runway, and crystal chandeliers. I thought the food was good. Service was a little rushed, but I think that is just Korean style weddings. Beautiful venue for special events. There is a nice small bar in the main part of the hotel on the same level as the stores where you can grab a cocktail.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of City Hall. It's kind of bright like Times Sq in NY, but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barosoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear barosoap,

Thank you for staying in The Plaza and sharing your experience on TripAdviosor.

I am so pleased to know that you had a true 'Plaza' experience; We are proud of our boutique design, well-trained staff members, and great location. As you mentioned, we are facing Seoul Square so our guests can enjoy city view from a room. I wish your family trip to Korea was memorable and our hotel contributed to make it more valuable.

I hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Shigeru Tamura
Hotel CS Innovation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband & I are returning guest at the Plaza. We still like everything about this hotel. Staff provided good services from the moment we checked in till the time we checked out. The room is very comfy & very clean. Since it's city hotel, its room might not be that big compare to 5 star hotels in other countries but its cleanliness & comfortable are best. The location is always super. It's walking distance to Myongdong, Namdaemun market & cheonggyecheon. Deoksugung (palace) is right across the hotel. We will definitely come back here next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MungMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear MungMink,

Thank you very much for staying with us again.

It is always delightful to hear the encouraging comments from our guests. We are happy to hear that you liked our service level, facilities and the convenient location.

I hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Shigeru Tamura
Hotel CS Innovation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and we fully enjoyed this hotel. The location was perfect to be able to walk to most of the places we wanted to see. The service was excellent by both the desk staff and the concierge desk, and also the bell boys were amazing! There is also a lounge in the basement that was expensive, but again the service was perfect!
The rooms are really funky. the bed was in the middle of the room so the layout was not the best for space, however the great view and the amenities of the room made up for it.
The beds were a little hard, but it didn't affect my quality of sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room facing City Hall for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear GTH275,

Thank you for staying at THE PLAZA!
At the same time, I would like to appreciate your compliment to our staff members from front desk, concierge, bell desk and lobby lounge! We always strive to make our guests even more comfortable and pleasant. I am happy to know that you experienced our true level of serivce.
The main design theme of our Deluxe Rooms is the vibrant “urban view.” In particular, the Deluxe Double Room type is accentuated by the bold and unconventional location of the bed. Centered in the middle of the room and facing the window, guests will be pleasantly stunned and captivated with the unique viewing experience.

I hope to welcom you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Shigeru Tamura
Hotel CS Innovation Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#11 of 493 in Seoul
3,295 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#3 of 493 in Seoul
253 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Courtyard Seoul Namdaemun
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#16 of 493 in Seoul
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Property: THE PLAZA
Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04525, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Seoul
#10 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#16 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing