We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service , food and drinks overpriced”
Review of THE PLAZA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
THE PLAZA
Ranked #21 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service , food and drinks overpriced”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Plaza is in an excellent location in Seoul, right in front the City Hall , where almost every day there are cultural manifestations.

The service at the hotel is absolutelty excellent , one of the best I 've been. The rooms though, are quite small. Since it's the only hotel I have been in Korea I am not sure this is korean standards, but in any case the bed is very confortable and the rain shower works very very well. On a negative side, the prices of food and drinks in the bar, restaurants and room service are extremely overpriced!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Folky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Folky,

Thank you for sharing your the Plaza experience with us here.

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our service, room as well as convenient location.
The room is focused on bedding for guest’s comfort and sleep, and the rain shower in the shower booth is one of attractive room facilities in The Plaza. I hope you also enjoyed other high tech facilities in the room with custom-made furniture such as touch panel which controls curtains, lights and phone.
And we certainly appreciate that you have pointed out price for us to review and always strive to make each and every one of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

Otherwise, we trust you had a nice stay with us and certainly look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you!

Best regards,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    504
    97
    20
    10
See reviews for
195
289
111
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfect location. Minutes away from the subway and walkable to Myeongdong area.
Price is abit steep but service was great and room was nicely decorated and extremely comfortable.
Loved the bed and the view of the cityhall! Was a delight to be there during winter and seeing the iceskaters enjoying themselves.
Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 고객 담당 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Starie,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with us!
It is great pleasure to hear that our valued guest fully enjoyed The Plaza stay.

The Plaza is located right in the center of Seoul that all guests can have a great opportunity to enjoy Seoul. Most of places are within walking distance. We would be the only hotel that you could enjoy the beautiful city hall view from the guest room.
These days the city hall plaza is filled with a lot of people sitting on the grass and enjoying the sun. It would be another delight to visit us this time of year.

Once again, we appreciate your favorable comments and will definitely look forward to your next visit to welcome you!

Sincerely yours,



Seung-Jae Jin
Hotel CS Team Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Oh, The Plaza Hotel. You were almost a 5 star experience for me! And it's not even your fault! And here is why...

Unfortunately The Plaza is located next to an area that is very popular with protestors. We were there for three days and there were protests going on the whole time. Normally I don't mind that sort of thing during the day (and in fact I think it's a healthy, positive thing for people to speak their minds) but the protests went on until 1 am on the last evening we were there, and started up again at 7 am. Imagine an angry Korean yelling into a bullhorn while you are trying to sleep! I even put in ear plugs and could still hear him! We called the front desk and asked if they knew how long it would go on and they were extremely apologetic and offered to switch our rooms, but we knew we'd still hear them even if we did. I don't know what The Plaza can do to change this situation and I am not sure how often it goes on that late but be aware that it's a possibility. Maybe they could soundproof their rooms on that side of the hotel? Just an idea.

Besides that, The Plaza was PERFECT. It's a bit pricey but it was worth every penny to me (except for the protestors.) The staff was the very definition of gracious and hospitable - such wonderful people! The room was tastefully decorated and impeccably clean. It was very digital so I could do things like open and close my curtains, control the temperature, or turn the lights off with the console next to the bed. The beds were luxuriously soft and comfortable. The bathroom has the most modern fixtures and was like heaven after a long day of walking through Seoul... I will always remember with fondness soaking in that bathtub, totally immersed in fancy Molton Brown bubble bath. The TV had many channels of hilarious Korean TV shows. The internet was super speedy. Breakfast isn't included but you're within walking distance of many great eating options. The subway system is right next to The Plaza and you can easily walk to many tourist attractions and cool neighborhoods.

Enjoy your time in Seoul! Korea is a country full of lovely people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite from the protestors if there is a protest going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellohaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Hellohaven,

It is fantastic to read such a thought and thoughtful review, thank you very much. I am quite pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our service.

The Plaza is facing Seoul City hall in the center of Seoul and located right above the subway station City hall on 1 & 2 Line. Also many tourist attractions, shopping districts, historical sites and etc, are within walking distance of our hotel.
And the renovated hotel rooms in 2010 present contemporary and unique designs and are furnished with custom-tailored furniture and high tech facilities. Glad that you appreciated our accommodation!

In regards to noise from Seoul Plaza, double window system has been set up to make noise much less since we fully understand how important it is to sleep well during business trips.

Once again, thank you for acknowledging many positive elements of your stay. It brings us great pleasure knowing that our team helped to make your stay a memorable experience.
We all send our regards and appreciation to you for the recognition and hope it will not be long to see you again.

Truly yours,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This must be one of the best hotel locations by far, Shuttle bus transfer to Airport, subway and shops all on your door step. Excellent rooms, very very clean, great beds, brilliant staff and use of Laptops in rooms which is really good also. Book a city tour and was picked up outside the hotel and had a fabulous day sightseeing when was meant to be working haha, went to see a part of the old way of living across the road which is also a must, really nice people always felt welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 고객 담당 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear MadMal79,

Thank you for taking time to share your favorable review on Tripadvisor.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed the convenient location, excellent room and great staff. In addition, I would highly appreciate that you recognized our value as the best.

The Plaza is located right in the center of Seoul that all guests can have a great opportunity to enjoy Seoul. Most of places are within walking distance. When it comes to the location, there is no other competitor better than the Plaza as you’ve commented.

Your favorable feedback will surely help us to keep our true level of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza soon!

Sincerely yours,


Seung-Jae Jin
Director of Hotel CS team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Impeccable location in Seoul city centre with the airport shuttle bus stopping at the front door, the subway exit leading right into the hotel, city tour buses just across the road, and the underground shopping mall leading to Lotte Department Store and the rest of bustling Myeong-dong.

Customer services from front desk, lobby to housekeeping are excellent with cheerful and obliging staff fluent in English to serve customer needs.

What has disapopointed us though is the size and decor of the guest room. It is small by Asian standard and for the price we paid (KRN 294,030 p.d). The bathroom, in particular, hardly allows any room for moving around. Its modern design with the bed in the centre of the room facing the window and not positioned against the wall provides for only a narrow passageway around it. There isn't even space for a small couch for guests to rest on.

The fitness centre is well-equipped but rather inconveniently located in a separate building across the street, unless one goes underground through the subway.

If one doesn't mind paying the extra for staying in a small sized guest room in this prime location, this is a fine choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Cletus L,

Thank you for taking so much of your time to write a review of our hotel!

I noticed that you have had a mixture of some good and bad experiences during this stay.
I am really glad to know that you have enjoyed the convenient location, guest services and our fitness club. The Plaza is located right above City hall station on Line no.1 and 2 and also within walking distance to the major tourist attractions such as historical sites and shopping districts. And our fitness club with pool and sauna is located in the hotel annex in order to provide guests with more spacious facilities and pleasant environments.
But we feel sorry if you experienced inconvenience of its location. Also some guests feel our deluxe room and bathroom are quite small but we emphasize on business traveler’s sleep and the beautiful view by being furnished with bed in the center of Deluxe room.

I have passed on your positive comment on our team services to them, which will act as a well deserved motivator to achieve more superior performance.

Once again, we appreciate the kind comments and will definitely look forward to welcoming you again!

Thank you.

Best regards,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location is excellent! Walking distance to Myeong-dong & also the Palace. Stayed in a suite and room was very well sized and huge bathroom! I believe that this hotel just went through a major renovation and certainly worth a visit! There is also a wonderful bakery located that the basement of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ielmo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 고객 담당 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear ielmo99,

Thank you for sharing your the Plaza experience on Tripadvisor. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed our newly renovated stylish room and other facilities as well as great location.

As you have experienced already, the renovated hotel rooms in 2010 present contemporary and unique designs and are furnished with custom-made furniture and high tech facilities. In addition, our Eric Kayser bakery is very famous not for foreigners but local residents with the top quality of bread itself.

The Plaza is located right in the center of Seoul that all guests can have a great opportunity to enjoy Seoul including the palaces, shopping districts and tourist attractions. Most of places are within walking distance. When it comes to the location, there is no other competitor better than the Plaza.

We always strive to make each and every one of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I look forward to welcoming you again in the Plaza!


Sincerely yours,



Seung-Jae Jin
Director of Hotel CS team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Plaza is an amazing hotel. The concierge is very helpful in making reservations at restaurants and finding sporting events to attend. The location of this hotel is directly across from city hall and in close to authentic restaurants. Do not hesitate to take cabs in Seoul because they are inexpensive and convenient. The hotel is a bit pricey, but I would recommend spending the money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaMarketing, 매니저 at THE PLAZA, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jordan W,

Thank you for taking time to share your the Plaza experience!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I am glad to learn that you had a good time with us. We thank you for recognizing our Concierge team for their excellent service extended to you.

And we are facing Seoul City hall in the center of Seoul and located right above the subway station, City hall on 1 & 2 Line. Also many tourist attractions, shopping districts, historical sites and recommendable restaurants are within walking distance of our hotel.

Your feedback will surely boost us to always go beyond guest expectations!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza in the near future.

Thank you.

Truly yours,



Jong Kwon Han
Director of Rooms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#33 of 472 in Seoul
3,267 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#1 of 472 in Seoul
216 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Courtyard Seoul Namdaemun
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#14 of 472 in Seoul
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Property: THE PLAZA
Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04525, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#9 Business Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#16 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing