We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a good location”
Review of THE PLAZA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
THE PLAZA
Ranked #21 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good location”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is excellent. It is stylish and modern, and feels like a luxury hotel as soon as you walk in. The staff are extremely attentive (and there seemed to be a lot of them in the lobby!) and we found everyone to be helpful and friendly. The room was quite big, although there was only room to put one suitcase. There was a huge picture window looking out over the City Hall, and the bathroom was also separated from the room by a large window – although you could close the blinds for this! There were high quality toiletries provided and also tea and coffee and the usual mini bar. There a choice of restaurants (although we didn't try them). The lounge bar area serves food, although it is very expensive – probably about normal for a hotel but felt all the more pricey compared to the general cost of eating out in Seoul. Likewise the bar.
In terms of location, the hotel is perfect, with access to the City Hall metro station via a connecting tunnel from the hotel. There is also a lot to see within walking distance, although taxis are really cheap for getting around too.
This hotel is not a bargain but I would definitely recommend it for the quality of service and the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    504
    97
    20
    10
See reviews for
195
289
111
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
S.E.A.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our experience here was wonderful. The hotel is connected via underpass to Cityhall Metro. Exit 6 ( possibly a bonus in Winter when being outdoors for too long is unbearable!) There is an Eric Kaysler bakery just next to the basement entrance and they make a mean choc/orange Brioche. Perfect for breakfast esp. if your room rates does not come with breakfast. We had a room facing Seoul Plaza and it does get noisy when they are holding events in the space. This appears to be pretty common occurrence and definitely on the weekends. 

The room was cosy but we did not feel claustrophobic at any time. Maid service is superb and serivice-oriented. We forgot to change the DND(do not disturb) button to 'make-up room' and when we returned at 7.55pm, we found a note asking us to call them as long as it was before 8pm and they promptly cleared the room! 

Additionally the Concierge spoke well and was helpful and very knowledgable. They helped us plan our daily trips and gave good advice on the best modes of transport for the various places we were planning to visit. No task was too large or too small for them.  

Also do check out the speciality Korean Pork and Beef restaurants just behind the hotel for good hearty Korean BBQ/fare. Do note that most rest. close at 10pm despite signs that say 24hours! 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaye_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very nice place. Got the premier room which was spacious and very clean. No issues with noise during our stay. We can walk via underground to shopping and the nearby Avenuel, Lotte dept stores and Myeongdong. Namdarmun market is walking distance as well. There is a small palace ground next door too. Staff are very courteous and helpful. English is not an issue here. Surprisingly the price was cheaper than the smaller deluxe room so well worth it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I last stayed in Ibis Myeong Dong and Westin Chosun in my last 2 trips to Seoul. Overall, The Plaza rates better than the 2 hotels in terms of comfort and luxury but the Ibis Myeong Dong was definitely better in terms of location as it was in the heart of all the action. The Plaza is very near the City Hall station and its linked by the underground shopping center. Its about a 10 mins walk to Myeong Dong or Nandemun or Lotte DFS.

The hotel stay experience was great! I stayed at a suite and it was nice and spacious and it came with 2 flat screen TVs and a really comfortable bed. The toilet was spacious, well stocked and clean. The room comes with free capsules of Nespresso coffee and free wifi.

Most of the staff speaks good English and they were all very helpful and knowledgeable.

The drinks and finger food in the lounge was very expensive. A plate of fruits cost USD40 and considering the cheap cost of alcohol in Korea, the drinks were definitely way overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I loved this hotel! The location was great, buffet breakfast was delicious, very comfy beds and staff was always very helpful and kind. Also the view from my room was really nice. I had one of the smaller rooms, but it was still large enough for one person to be comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LZ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location with direct links to the Metro system from the basement (although the staff directed me outside to enter the Metro via an external stairway and I only discovered the direct connection to the hotel on the way back).

The hotel faces an open space that's used for events and demonstrations - so it can be fun or noisy depending on your point of view. I joined the thousands of locals for the Korea v Japan Olympic football live telecast at 03:30 am and it was great fun .... but if I needed to sleep that night I may have not been so impressed. The entrances to the vast underground walkways and shopping centres of Seoul are at the rear of the hotel and the entrances to the Metro system are at the front (and in the basement) - so if it's raining (or too hot) you can walk to the main shopping areas underground. The Namdemun market is nearby; as is the new river system that is nice place to walk in the evening. So the location is perfect.

The staff are very efficient and helpful, the rooms clean and well equipped and I had internet included - which is a bonus.

For me there were just two issues. I was staying on business for 2 weeks and the tiny standard ('Deluxe double') room is about the size of the bathroom in normal hotels. If you pay for a Suite you can get a more normal sized room. Whenever I needed to catch up on email I headed out to a local Starbucks to avoid 'cabin fever' - but they don't have free internet.

The other (small) issue was the pointless electronic controls that are fiddly and make the room slightly awkward to use. Touch screen controls for the curtains and lights in a room smaller than a wardrobe are not needed .... it's easier to reach from the bed to the curtains than to mess with the world's most unresponsive touch screen controls (it's certainly no iPad!) and the light from the bedside screen and the a/c control touchscreen, (even after it dimmed) is disturbing at night and explains why the room is provided with an eye mask.

So if you can tolerate a budget hotel sized room at 5 Star hotel prices in return for a great location and good staff - then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If there are any nighttime outdoor events in the grounds opposite the hotel during your stay - book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wotnominibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel delivers the level of excellence that you would expect. Helpful, friendly English speaking staff! We never touched our bags once we came close to the hotel. (Tipping is not done in South Korea). Wonderful Experience! The view of the Plaza in front of the hotel is wonderful!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrappy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#33 of 472 in Seoul
3,267 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#1 of 472 in Seoul
216 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Courtyard Seoul Namdaemun
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#14 of 472 in Seoul
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE PLAZA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE PLAZA

Property: THE PLAZA
Address: 119 Sogong-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04525, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#9 Business Hotel in Seoul
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#16 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — THE PLAZA 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nov. 2010, THE PLAZA, the newly renovated hotel features aesthetic interior designs, impeccable personalized customer service, and ultimate convenience for conducting international business. Ideally located in the heart of downtown Seoul, THE PLAZA is optimized for business convenience with free internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THE PLAZA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing