We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convienent”
Review of Lotte Hotel Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte Hotel Seoul
Ranked #14 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I just returned from trip to Asia including Seoul where we had the opportunity to spend 3 nights at the Lotte Hotel. It's location is absolutely perfect to enjoy the nightlife and excitement of the Myongdong Shopping District. The king sized bed is very comfortable and the rooms in the new wing are very spacious. If you are here on a business and the check is covered it probably appears a great deal. Compared to what is available just outside the front door the charges for everything at the Lotte are excessive ($15/per cup of lukewarm coffee in the Lounge) to $17 for a plain shot of Stoly in the empty bar on the 25th floor. The restaurant is only affordable on expense account with prix fixe dinners starting at $125/person up to several hundred). Once outside the real Seoul is apparent even on the terrace where coffee and dinner is much more reasonable. The rooms are great and comfortable but wouldn't suggest spending anything anywhere else in this overpriced hotel.
When we arrived on the morning flight and arrived at the hotel at 6AM (which we were told is common for flights into Seoul) we were greeted by no-one (in fact no doorman met us at the door at anytime in the 3 days we where there) and when eventually sent to the 14th floor lobby in the new wing--"room is not ready" and we were forced to catch 2 hours sleep on the couches of the lobby when at 8 AM the rooms were magically available (guess we didn't look so "welcoming" stretched across the couches with our luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor in the NEW WING
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEPHENCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear. STEPHENCM

Thank you very much for staying 3 nights with us and sharing a review with other travelers. What the guest tells us feeds back into our work.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying the spacious new wing building’s guest rooms and the location of our hotel. It is very close to downtown that our guests can easily reach Myeongdong, Dongdaumun and some of tourist attractions.

We apologize for any inconvenience that our staff has caused you. We will be careful not to allow such an unfortunate event to happen again. We strive to exceed all our guest expectations by providing most warm, caring and personalized service at all.

Thank you once again for your nice feedback. We hope to see you next time.


Warm Regards
Susan Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,331)
There are newer reviews for Lotte Hotel Seoul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 3,331 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently stayed in Lotte Hotel for 1 week. We were greeted cordially by the hotel porter upon arrival. We arrived at the main (old) wing and were told that our room was in the new wing. The Check-in for rooms in new wing was done on the 14th floor (of the new wing) check-in counter. We were happy with the excellent service from the hotel staff, who has helped us to carry our luggage and led us all the way up to 14th floor.

Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was big, and it has both standing shower and bath tub. The WIFI connection in the room was very good, and no password was required for the WIFI, which was very convenient.

The Lotte Department Store (at the basement) can be accessed through the escalator at the main wing. There is a huge food court which sells a wide variety to food, pastries, cakes etc. The food court closes rather early (8PM), and 10 mins before closing all the food was going for big discount. There is also a tourist food street located right opposite the hotel, across the road.

The hotel location could not be better. It is within walking distance to Cheonggyecheon Stream, Myeongdong night market and Deoksugung palace. It is conveniently located near 2 subway stations, the City Hall Station (line 1) and Eulji-ro1 station (line 3). Most of the tourist attractions are just a few train stops away, such as Dongdaemun, Gyeongbok gung, Changdeokgung, Bukchon Hanok Village, Sinshon, Ewha Women University etc. The Seoul station, where the KTX trains depart, is only one stop away from City Hall station.

Having said all the plus, there are a couple of problems I’d like to highlight:

1) There is no iron in the room (which is surprising for a 5-star hotel). I realized that only in the morning when I needed to iron my shirt. I had to call the housekeeping last minute but luckily they brought me the ironing set almost immediately.

2) We encountered some glitches upon checking out. The staff was too careless to have mixed up the two amounts that were supposed to be charged to two separate credit cards. In the end, she had to void the transactions and re-charge our cards. As all the cancellation slips (which are our only evidence) are in Korean, we were quite worried that should anything (like double-charging) happen, how are we going to clarify this to our banks (which obviously won’t understand Korean language)? We were quite unhappy about that incident. This should not have happened in a 5-star hotel.
Apart from that, I’d say Lotte Hotel is a nice hotel to stay. However, I’d probably try The Plaza (which is just around the corner) in my next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear. Merlion42

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are of the greatest encouragement to all of us.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying the well equipped guest rooms and central location which allows our guests enjoy the heart of Seoul. As you mentioned, Lotte Hotel Seoul is centrally situated with Lotte department store and Lotte Duty Free shop. Also, it is very close to downtown that our guests can easily reach Myeongdong, Dongdaumun and some of tourist attractions.

We apologize for any inconvenience that our staff has caused you. We will be careful not to allow such an unfortunate event to happen again. We strive to exceed all our guest expectations by providing most warm, caring and personalized service at all. We will try harder from now on.

Thank you once again for your nice feedback. We hope to see you next time.


Warm Regards
Susan Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Travelled to Seoul for business and was placed on the 33rd floor in the new wing. The room is huge by any standards and the king sized bed provides such a good rest that made me reluctant to leave the bed. Molton Brown toiletries are replenished daily and the bathroom amenities even include a bottle of bath salt. On the writing desk, there are stationery items available for use in the desk drawer and the lanyard is useful for conference participants. Two bottles of mineral water are also provided to house guests daily.

This hotel is perfect and please do check out the pool, jaccuzi and suana facilities on the 4th floor of the old wing. The indoor pool is not olympic size but the ambience is so soothing and a dip in the jaccuzi pool ensures a good sleep that very night! For visitors using the gym, your workout shoes are the only things you will need as the hotel offers complimentary usage of the t-shirts, shorts and socks. Bathrobes and bags for your wet swim suits are also readily available at no cost.

The hotel is also linked to the Lotte Departmental Store with a duty free shop on the 9 to 11th floors. The walk to the departmental store is fully sheltered and is also linked to the subway.

The Airport Limo stops just outside the hotel and tickets can be purchased from the hotel reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSimonKim, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Orangemuffin,

Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent visit to Seoul and for taking the time to share your precious words on Trip Advisor. I am so glad to have received such valuable comments and it is the greatest satisfaction for us to be received kind words from a valued guest.

I'm very delighted to learn that you enjoyed our spacious, well-equipped guest room and brand-new fitness club. As you have mentioned, our brand-new fitness club is one of our pride and joy and a perfect place to work out and relax for our guests.

Again, thank you for your encouraging review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lotte Hotel Seoul each and every time your travels take you to Seoul.


Warm Regards
Front Office Manager
Simon Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you're going to Seoul there is no better place to stay than the Lotte Hotel. We stayed there for five nights beginning 26 June and found the service impeccable. The rooms were well appointed and roomy and the staff very attentive.
The hotel is situated within walking distance to the best shopping Seoul has to offer both designer and the touristic variety. The subway system is a breeze to navigate and pleasant to ride. This is a must stay place in a vibrant city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcdlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear. Mcdlark

Thank you very much for staying Lotte Hotel Seoul and sharing nice feedback on TripAdvisor.
Your valuable comments are the greatest encouragement and motivation.

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying the well equipped guest rooms and central location which allows our guests enjoy the heart of Seoul. We strive to exceed all our guest expectations by providing most warm, caring and personalized service at all times.

Thank you once again for your great feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Warm Regards
Susan Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed @ the Lotte for one nice on a recent business trip. Have stayed before - many times - standard always excellent. Had an Exec Level room so checked in / out on 27/f desk in the lounge where we had a good breakfast. Staff are super-attentive and very professional. Used the hotel limo service both ways to/fm airport, nice and very clean car and immaculately presented driver.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCAMaldon_Essex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSimonKim, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear JCAMaldon_Essex_UK

Thank you for your kind words and sharing your positive feedback regarding Lotte Hotel Seoul.
The continued return of a loyal guest is the most valuable honor that we can earn.

I am so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay especially our extraordinary club lounge and excellent hotel limo service. The compliment from our loyal guest always encourages us and we will constantly strive to improve what we can do.

Once again I genuinely thank you for your kind words and I'm looking forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay.


Warm Regards,
Front Office Manager
Simon Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I traveled to Seoul with friends for a few days of retail therapy. We picked this hotel as our usual choice was fully booked.

Arriving at Incheon Airport in the early hours of the morning, we boarded the airport limousine bus which took us directly to the hotel some 40-45 minutes later. Major plus point since we did not have to lug our suitcases and walk from the drop off point to the hotel. We were greeted at the door by a guest relations officer, and our luggage was taken care of immediately.

Check in was smooth and easy. We had previously requested for a non smoking high floor room away from the lift, and despite the fact that it was hours away from the stipulated check in time of 2:00 pm, our deluxe room in the main wing was ready for us. Located on a high floor, it commanded lovely views of the city of Seoul.

This room is very spacious by any standard, 2 double beds and seating area, complete with coffee table and arm chairs. Very clean and decor is simple and understated. Bathroom was also very large, very clean, and well stocked with Molton Brown toiletries. Coffee and tea making facilities and water kettle were all provided. Curtains are motorised. Beds are most comfortable and afforded a very good nights' rest.

Location-wise, this hotel is within the complex housing Lotte Department Store. From the lobby, an escalator brings you directly into the Department Store. From there, Myeongdong is a short 5 minute walk away via the underpass.

Housekeeping standards however is somewhat lacking. Housekeeping is at best, haphazard. Everyday we return to the room wondering what has been left out. They do not come around until later in the afternoon. Toiletries and towels were not replenished on a daily basis. With 2 women using the room, one little bottle of shower gel is hardly enough to last 2 days. Bathrobes for some reason are removed and not replaced. Perhaps this is me being somewhat pedantic, but for luxury accommodation, I was surprised to discover there was no turn down service. On one occasion, we arrived back in the room after morning shopping and it was somewhat disconcerting to find housekeeping cleaning the room next door holding a solitary concert with the TV blaring at top volume. On another occasion, trash was not cleared from the bathroom.

The hotel lobby has a bakery that serves delicious light fluffy croissants. They are, in my opinion, worth trying. However, a tip would be to buy it back to your room instead of eating it at the cafe. I ended up paying US$25 for a cappuccino and a croissant.

Overall, this is a nice and comfortable hotel to stay at, if somewhat soulless and character-less. Typical of a large business hotel. I would return here only if I could secure a room at a special rate.

Room Tip: Request for high floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WYMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldbest2018, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear. WYMC

Thank you for staying Lotte Hotel Seoul and posting a good review on Trip Advisor. We are very appreciative and very grateful to you.

We are happy to learn that your stay has been pleasant, and you enjoyed our location, facility, even the amenities. Lotte Hotel will continue to provide most comfortable and exceptional service to our valued guest. As you mentioned, Lotte Hotel Seoul is centrally situated with Lotte department store and Lotte Duty Free shop. Also, it is very close to downtown that our guests can easily reach Myeongdong, Dongdaumun and some of tourist attractions.

We apologize for any inconvenience that housekeeping staff has caused you. We will be careful not to allow such an unfortunate event to happen again.

Thank you again for your nice feedback. We hope to see you next time.


Warm Regards
Susan Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I was only there for 3 days and I loved how convenient this place was. There is a supermarket and food court just right at the basement . As I was traveling with my 2-year old son , this was a huge plus for me .

I was staying in the main wing. You just have to take the lift to basement and follow the signboard that states department store. You will be reach the food section after you pass by the shoes department. They have food stores that sell sushi, pizza, cakes, bread , spicy rice cake etc.

The basement also links you to Lotte avenue ( all the high end goods) and the Lotte Young Plaza. Just take the underpass from Lotte Young Plaza, you will reach the next tourists atraction, Myeong-dong.

Personally I feel the standard room is rather small and not children friendly. Despite it being small to me, there are 2 glass side tables in the room. Probably good for people on business and shoppers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSimonKim, 프론트 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Seoul, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Kerand,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your precious time to post good review.
Your kind words are not only helpful for other travelers on Trip Advisor, but also
gratefully encouraging all of us.

I'm very delighted to learn that you enjoyed our central location which could make you reach every tourists attractions, shopping center including food court for varied selection of
international food so easily.

Thank you for your review and it is my sincere hope that you will choose to return to Lotte Hotel Seoul each time that your travels bring you to Seoul.

Warm Regards
Front Office Manager
Simon Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#18 of 500 in Seoul
1,573 reviews
Jamsil
Lotte Hotel World
Lotte Hotel World
#7 of 500 in Seoul
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Royal Hotel Seoul
Royal Hotel Seoul
#36 of 500 in Seoul
960 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
THE PLAZA
#21 of 500 in Seoul
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte Hotel Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Hotel Seoul

Address: 30 Eulji-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04533, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seoul
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#7 Spa Hotel in Seoul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#23 Family Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $188 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Hotel Seoul 5*
Number of rooms: 1120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte Hotel Seoul, Korea's 5 star best luxury hotel, is conveniently located in the heart of Seoul's central business district near Myeongdong and features two hotels - Main Building and New Wing - boasting 1,120 guest rooms combined. Our Seoul hotel is easily accessible by public transportation. Additionally it is near the city hall and public offices, businesses and attractions for tourism such as Namdaemun market, Myeong-dong, Insa-dong, Gyeongbokgung and Deoksugung. Lotte Hotel Seoul is a perfect hotel of 5 star hotels in Seoul for your tourism providing luxurious accommodation options designed by 4 world's leading design firms. Also, it is the premier luxury hotel for inviting VIP clients such as national guests as New Wing operates a three-Michelin star restaurant, Pierre Gagnaire. Lotte Hotel is also preferred by many VIPs and leaders from different countries as Korea's representative hotel holding the largest number of international events and cultural festivals. Experience ultimate comfort and unbeatable luxury in the center of Seoul. Choose Korea's best hotel, Lotte, for your exclusive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotte Hotel Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seoul Lotte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing