We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koreana Hotel Service”
Review of Koreana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koreana Hotel
Ranked #82 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Koreana Hotel Service”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Koreana hotel and I must say that I was nothing but please with the service they had to offer. The Hotel is located in Downtown Seoul and is a wonderful local to explore and discover. The staff spoke perfect english and were more than helpful. Upon arrival they not only took our bags but also showed us to the registration desk and showed us helpfully to our room. The minibar is expensive however has a great selection of beer, soju, coffee, and juices ranging from 3,000 won to 9,000 won. I personally drank a couple beers and was charged accordingly. When you stay at the Koreana you a withing walking distance of 3 palaces in Seoul and a wonderful local dining area. The dining provided at Koreana is top notch. My fiance and I got the "American Breakfast" both nights we stayed and the only complaint I had was the bacon was a bit soggy. (which is how bacon is prepared in Korea) so I recommend the sausage. (which is delicious)!! The only real complaint that I had about the hotel is that the water pressure was some to be desired. The showers are either really hot or too cold for my liking, but the overall service and overwhelming sense of being at home were more that I could ask for.. I would definitely recommend the Koreana hotel for all tourist that wish to experience Seoul with a wonderful place to call home in the process! Another great thing is despite the language barrier, if you set foot in a taxi and say "Koreana Hotel" you are good to go! Everyone knows it. Stay here. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: I was on the 23rd floor!! Great view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjackson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    344
    148
    30
    8
See reviews for
126
93
63
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Staying here right now with my MBA study tour - have changed rooms once due to musty smell in the room. No wireless, twin beds, old carpet, hard and springy beds - first time in Korea and not a good example of a local hotel.
Location is good - shopping, sights, business - all relatively close and within walking distance.
Generally speaking, not a good experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TX_Burneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
이민영, 고객 담당 매니저 at Koreana Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I was sorry to read about the frustration experienced with the room. Now we offer wifi service, have renovated hotel rooms gradually. We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Min Young Lee / Manager on duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburger
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is not an upper end luxurious hotel (i.e. Deluxe rather than Super-Deluxe by Korean categorization), but is has a couple of very attractive features that make it recommendable. It is perfectly located in a safe and comparatively calm place in downtown Seoul. Town hall in sight from the Eastern rooms; major palaces within 10 minutes walking distance; major shopping district 20 minutes by foot. My room was spacious, clean, and quiet, the bathroom still showing the luxury and space for which it was once designed. True, furnitures were a bit outdated, as remarked by other reviewers, and the matrasses could be more comfortable. Yet,
given this location, the room rate you can get on the internet are a fair deal, significantly lower than Super-Deluxe hotels nearby (like the Lotte Hotel or the Seoul Plaza Hotel).

The hotel is particularly recommendable for a short stop-over in Seoul. There is a Korean Air bus leaving every 20 minutes from Incheon Intern. Airport going to downtown Seoul. One of its stops is right in front of the hotel (and the return ride also starts every 20 minutes from the hotel). Riding time: 70 - 80 minutes one way. In view of the deserted vicinity of Incheon Airport hotels this may be worth it.

Room Tip: Suggestion: don't book the superior room category (somewhat more spacious than the regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTheTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Been selecting the hotel in both my visit to Seoul for one reason, LOCATION. It is very conveniently located in Gwanghamun. Insadong is 20 min walks, lots of palace around the hotel, Seoul City Tour bus started from the hotel, and accessible from airport using KAL limousine bus. But don't expect much on the service, or the facility. Breakfast is so-so, the staff is a bit "stiff" to guests, but again they have a perfect location

Room Tip: If money is no objections, ask for room in the Executive floor. It will settles you about 270K Won a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisetiadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Hotel was close to the shopping district, the train station and to the palace. There's also lots of restaurants around the area. It also located in Seoul's business district so if you're in Seoul for business, this is a recommended hotel. Rooms were clean. But they need to add a free and good internet connection.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights attending a conference. The Press Centre is across the hotel and a tunnel leads across the busy road. It is a short walk to the Grand Palace and 10 mins walk to the Myeongdong shopping street. Unfortunately, the hotel seems dated and worse, there was no wireless. We had to pay for LAN Internet...about US$18 per day. Internet should come standard with hotel rooms these days - and wireless should be standard too! Otherwise, the hotel staff were pleasant and the room reasonable. What stood out was the ample number of power points....but not that it matters as I only had two adaptors to plug into the wall sockets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

From my experience, stayed here for 2 nights was a very good, I stayed in the executive room on 15th floor, the room was spacious. There were two beds, yeap 2 beds, and I was alone, I thought it was only my room, but turned out my friends rooms were exactly the same, one queen size bed and one single bed. Bed was okay, but the pillows got that dusty smell, bathroom was spacious, there were bathtub and shower as well, when the shower was used, the water was everywhere leaking, so it was kinda annoying. The wired internet in my room was good and free. The breakfast, was okay, although less variety, oh and remember not to wear the room slippers when you're gonna have your breakfast, the guy would tell you that the slippers are only for the room and would ask you to go back to your room to change it. The location, was great. Right outside its door, the Airport limousine bus shuttle, and a little walk from there is the Seoul city bus tour shuttle, a little walk again and across the street is the King Sejong's statue, there's also Gyeongbokgung Palace, Insadong etc nearby. Since we were leaving early in the morning, and wanted to make use of the breakfast voucher, the hotel was kindly prepared us sandwiches to go, so make sure you asked the same if you're leaving early and still got breakfast voucher to spent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iraerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#20 of 493 in Seoul
621 reviews
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
#40 of 493 in Seoul
1,527 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#39 of 493 in Seoul
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Hotel President
#142 of 493 in Seoul
474 reviews
Insadong
Hotel Sunbee
Hotel Sunbee
#47 of 493 in Seoul
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koreana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koreana Hotel

Property: Koreana Hotel
Address: 135, Sejong-daero | Jung-gu, Seoul 100-101, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Seodaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#54 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#55 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koreana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1972, Koreana Hotel. "It feels like home" That's the first thing guests say when arriving at the hotel. Koreana hotel attract visitors from both the leisure and business trip worldwide. Our motto is comfort for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koreana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koreana Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing