We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel. Clean, very friendly staff, great breakfast, location close to river walk, bus and subway stations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel PJ

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel PJ
Ranked #35 of 450 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Clean, very friendly staff, great breakfast, location close to river walk, bus and subway stations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Great hotel. Clean, very friendly staff, great breakfast, location close to river walk, bus and subway stations. Location also close to some great restaurants. I would definately stay agian.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JM-from-Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    552
    117
    18
    7
See reviews for
383
181
76
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Staff was friendly and helpful. Our Deluxe Twin Room was spacious enough for 2/3 people. Like the toilet seat - it came with an auto washer/dryer!! Good supplies of toiletries including face cleanser/toner. It would be nice if hotel can also provide creamer for tea/coffee.

Hotel not situated on the main road where Airport Bus 6015 stops ie. Chungmuro subway station. Had to walk along a side lane for about 8/10 minutes before arriving at the hotel. If taking bus 6015, it is advisable to ask driver which direction to walk when drop off.

There are Korean Restaurants near the hotel. There are also some bars in the vicinity if you care for some Korean beer.

It took us about 15 minutes' walk to the ever exciting Myeongdong shopping area. Hotel provides free shuttle to a number of subway stations.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertrose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We were three people who lived in the PJ hotel for ten days. The room was clean and spacious. It was free refills of toiletries, integrated container for shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The staff could speak English, polite and they were VERY helpful. The hotel is very modern and we had free access to the wireless network that was perfect.

Can never go hungry in the area, for there is good food everywhere. We did not try the restaurant at the hotel because we thought it was a bit expensive.

The hotel is about 3 minutes from metro Chungmoro which was very convenient. We also had the opportunity to take the free shutle bus that belonged to PJ. It ran once an hour - 2 routes. We also took taxi very often for cheap price. Localtion is good - not far away from familiar markets.

Will definitely come back if we are to visit Seoul.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twenty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

I assumed that the PJ would be a typical Asian budget hotel with small rooms. To our surprise, the rooms were large by even North American standards. The ameneties were good including high speed interent (wired), a great breakfast buffet, and a free shuttle bus to key tourist locations. We paid less than $100 per room (double + twin) including breakfast and we stayed for a week. The only caution I would have on the hotel is that it's in a very traditional busy neighborhood. Close enough to key tourist destinations like Myongdong and Namsan, but the immediate area is pretty "hardcore" Asia ... countless small shops, little dark alleys, lots of clutter, and the interesting odors that waft through the streets every once in a while. If you're not used to this, it will be a bit unerving ... but it's entirely safe. This also means that if you want a cheap restaurant close to the hotel, you'll be eating with the locals in tiny eateries with absolutely no languages other than Korean. The closest tourist restaurants will be Myongdong about 15 minute walk away. For us though, clutter and bustle are part of the charm and the experience so we thoroughly enjoyed our stay ... BTW, don't buy the coffee in the coffee shop near the lobby ... $7 and tastes awful ...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Waterloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

I took the 6015 bus and got off at Chungmuro station after 9K Won, walked down these dark sketchy alley until bam, you see the hotel in front of you. They were very nice and quick to check me in and the room was lovely. I booked the hotel last minute from Agoda and though I was travelling alone, they only had the delux double left so I had 2 beds, one I used to display my shoppings to myself at the end of the day!
For water you had to take your cups outside to the water machine by the elevator, that was a bit of a drag.
The room had everything I wanted and the toilet was very modern, but there was no toothbrush or toothpaste so I had to go out to buy some.
One of the nights I was hungry and tired and didn't want to go out, so I went to the restaurant to eat. However, reaching the 1st floor, there was a lonesome korean man that didn't speak english that gestured that the restaurant was closed. I went to the concierge and he said that yes, the restaurant is closed weekends and holidays all day. I was dissapointed that this was not mentioned on their website nor in their in-room pamphlets.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately upgraded to the Corner Suite on the top floor. Beautiful views of the city, including Seoul Tower. The bed was enormous and there were three flat screen tvs in the room - one in the bedroom, one in the sitting room and one in the bathroom, which could be watched from the Jacuzzi. It was a very comfortable place to spend a few nights. Just a pity that the hotel reception called our room 10 minutes prior to the checkout time to remind us that we had to vacate the room.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KirrilyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day)
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We took the Incheon Airport Bus to Namdaemun (#6015 for 9,000 won, which is around $9 -- much cheaper than taxi from airport), stop at Chung Muro subway station. We got off the bus and had to walk through this ghetto alleyway for a good 2-3 blocks. As we were walking, we grew more and more concerned that the hotel would be subpar. When we reached the otherside of the alleyway, we saw the hotel and were very relieved. We walked into the lobby, and were more relieved. The hotel was recently renovated, so it's very clean and modern. The rooms were nice, but on the smaller side. The bathrooms are TINY in terms of height and size, but very clean (if you're taller than 6', then you may have problems). They don't give you shampoo (there's a vending machine at the bottom floor that sells it, but just go to one of the markets across the street if you need to purchase). We didn't have a laptop for the free internet access, but the 8th floor business lounge has free internet access, printing, etc. The hotel is located between all the major market areas -- Namdaemun, Dongdaemun, Myong Dong -- and 2-3 blocks from a subway station (again, Chung Muro). Overall, a great experience and would definitely come back (especially if we get it for $67/night again)!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoUgLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Guest,
we highly appreciate your review about our hotel because it's very important for us to know the opinions of our guests. And we also really glad to hear that for you it was a pleasure to stay here with us. Thank you very much.

Have a nice day
Best regards from PJHotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#19 of 450 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#3 of 450 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ

Property: Hotel PJ
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#23 Business Hotel in Seoul
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel PJ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing