We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms; great service, but do not recommend if travel with elderlies or small kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Ranked #40 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms; great service, but do not recommend if travel with elderlies or small kids”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews about Hotel PJ before the trip. Most of them are proven to be true and valid comments, including convenient shuttle bus service, great snd helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms.

We booked a triple room with three single beds. When we checked-in, we're informed the hotel was full therefore we got a free upgrade to a room with four beds. The room came with good amenities including free paper face mask!

However the comments about the staircase at the main entrance were also true - although it has a conveying bell to bring up and down the suitcases, it's extremely difficult for my parents to walk up the stairs (especially after hours of sight-seeing or shopping around). In brief, my recommendation is, it's great for younger people and a no-no for families with older members or small kids.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Christina L

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ as your accommodation in Seoul.

We're extremely happy that you seem to be satisfied with our hotel.

But we're really sorry to hear that our entrance especially the staircase made uncomfortable with exhausted traveler.

We'll consider about it for our customer's satisfaction.

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    644
    140
    23
    10
See reviews for
495
223
100
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My family and I spent three nights at Hotel PJ. Here are some thoughts on the hotel.

Service:
The customer service here is exceptional. Each time we came in or left the hotel, we were greeted or thanked. Staff were eager to help with any questions that we had and offered suggestions for local restaurants that we should try. No issues with check-in or check-out.

Cleanliness & Rooms:
The hotel was well kept and extremely clean. Each room comes with a bottle of Korean Febreze, which comes in hand after a smokey tabletop grill session. They also include bathrobes and slippers.

Location:
The hotel is tucked away in the midst of paper and printing companies, and therefore is quiet at night. It is, however, walking distance to many restaurants, cafés, and convenience stores. If shopping is in your itinerary, the hotel offers a shuttle bus to the Myeongdong shopping district.

Miscellaneous:
Pass on the breakfast - small selection and mediocre in taste. Also, don't let the stairs up to the hotel intimidate you if you have heavy suitcases. They have a conveyor belt that takes your luggage up, hassle free.

Overall, if you are spending most of the day outside the hotel anyways, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Joobert

Thank you for writing down a posivie review on this website.

We're extremly happy to see your review on the web page.

We continually try our best for the customers' satisfation.

So please visit our facility in the future again and make nice memory with us.

Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is rather average. You need to either take a taxi/public transport to shoppimg areas or places of interest. Otherwise if you opt to walk, be prepared to spare 20-30mins.

The design of the hotel is very pleasing. Best thing is the triple share room, which can be quite rare for majority of the hotels.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ as your accommodation in Seoul.

We're pleasure to see your review on this website.

We hope to see you soon in the furure again.

Once again, thank you for your review and have a wonderful day!

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The location of the hotel is bang in the middle some printing factories/companies. Walking to the hotel from the underground though is not far but if you're doing this late in the evening you might feel unsafe since the streets are quite dark and you might get lost in the maze. Therefore, it's best to stick to their shuttle sevices in the evening. Plus if you have big lugguages, it might be very painful since the underground in Seoul do not have much lifts or escalators!

Stayed on the lady's floor. Room was big but the air con did not quite covered the room causing the room to be abit damp, likewise with the bedding. The bedside lamp was broken too but they did have some nice touches like the foot massage machine next to the sofa for you to pamper in after a long day shop around town. Bell service was excellent and friendly, check in lady was a bit moody but check out was very smooth.

I actually only used the shuttle service once as I noticed taking the underground to different tourist sites are more convenient and quicker. Traffic jams can be quite hectic in this busy city. Airport bus stop is quite near by, again you have to drag your lugguage for 10 mins to the bus stop on this very rocky, narrow, dark road with lots of local small restaurants' food or cooking equipment on the same path. Unfortunately, I had to do this in the drizzle, dread to think if I had to do this in heavier rain. You could cut this mess by taking the shuttle but if you have big lugguage and there are a few of you, it might be quite inconvenient to get on the small bus.

It actually took me 1.5hr to get to the airport on the bus vs. if I take the Airport train from Seoul station + underground, I can do it within an hour with big lugguage.

If you are looking for a night to stay to cater your shopping chores, this might be the place for you. But if you are looking for comfort too, you might need to go for somewhere else. Definitely not a 5 stars hotel, I would only give it a 3.5 or 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AT0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear AT0915

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel PJ.

We're delighted that you seemed to be having a great time with us here in Seoul.

But we're really sorry if you felt a little bit uncomfortable with our amenties and envoiroment around our hotel.

We're do our best for upgrade more. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Service- no problems at all with check in or with any enquiries that we have. The staff was able to provide the answers to all queries that we have. Some of them could even speak a variety of languages such as Japanese and English which could explain why there were so many Japanese tourists when we were there.
Room - the room was fairly big and there was sufficient space to put all our oversize lugguages and shopping bags. However, amenities were not uniform, friends had a espresso machine in their room whereas it wasn't available in ours even though we booked the same type. Not sure if it's because ours is on e ladies floor but they were assigned to another floor.
Location - wasn't very close to the subway stations ( 2 in fact that you can walk to) with a 5-10 mins walk. We couldn't really find places to eat in the immediate vicinity and you will be better off checking out the places near the subway.
Others - the shuttle bus was a good touch providing access to the shopping districts which makes it very convenient for guests.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bungo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear bungo88

Thank you for choosing Hotel PJ.

We're really happy to see you at the moment.
And thank you for your positive review on this website.

We continually do our best for our guests so please visit again in the future and have a wonderful memory.

Thank you.

Best regards,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Although the location is a liitle bit distanced from the shopping area, the shuttle service covered this bad. Quiet and the staffs are nice. Stayed for 5 nights. 10mins to walk to nearest train stations. Airport bus station is near.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolmanng .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear kolmanng

Thank you fo your review after your recent stay in Hotel PJ.

We're delighted that you seemed to be having a great time with us.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you in the near future again.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Location : Cons - the hotel is surrounded by some very old residential buildings looked quite slummy, it's quite embarrassed if your Korean friend send you to the hotel. Pros - They have shuttle bus running between shopping area, very convenient if you're coming for shopping.
Room : Pros - Very spacious, I traveled with my family (3 adults) despite the room has three twin beds; it's still very roomy, the balcony has a dining table and chairs which comfortably accommodate 3-4 people. The shower is excellent in terms of the water temperature and pressure. Room amenities are very comprehensive. Cons - The quality of bath towel, bed sheets and pillow are need to be improved.
F & B : The breakfast serves on 3/F floor are terrible, the worst food that I had on my whole Seoul trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbysywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpj7000, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel PJ Myeongdong, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Debbysywong

Good day!
Thank you for choosing 'Hotel PJ' for your recent accommodation in Seoul.
We were delighted to help you out when you stayed in our facility.
However, we're really sorry to heat that you were really disappointed about our breakfast.
We try to upgrade more.
Thank you for writing down your review and hope to see you in the future.

Thanks,
HOTEL PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#20 of 493 in Seoul
620 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#13 of 493 in Seoul
1,258 reviews
Prince Hotel Seoul
#43 of 493 in Seoul
1,010 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PJ Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PJ Myeongdong

Property: Hotel PJ Myeongdong
Address: 71, Mareunnae-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04548, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Seoul
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#22 Business Hotel in Seoul
#29 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PJ Myeongdong 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We, HotelPJ, have always tried our best to provide our guests with high-quality service and convenience. Located favorably in the center of seoul, our hotel is equipped with comfortable guest rooms and various entertainment facilities. Under these optimum conditions, we will requite to our guests by best service and support. Our guest rooms are more comfortable and spacious than any other hotel in the same class and provide an executive floor designed for business visitors. It will be ready in order to meet the diverse need ofour guests and provide all the facilities and services. Services: Key card for guestroom and elevator, LCD TV, safety box, electric kettle, balcony(in some guestrooms), fabric refresher, water purifier/ice machine on each floor, free Wi-Fi access, tea cups, tumbler,ice pail, electric bidet, bathtub, complimentary mineral water/tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel PJ Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pj Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing